The Reset Button of my Life – My Recovery Diary 2017 - Part 11

in #life7 years ago

Farewell and new beginning.


Let's bring the Yacht home. Course to home harbor Portoroz. 08/25/2016

This article is also available in German.
Dieser Artikel ist auch in Deutsch verfügbar.

The vacation in August was very nice. However, very exhausting for me. Since my blood has a limited oxygen transportation capacity, I get tired easily. At the same time a thick fog of wistfulness clouds this vacation. Would this be my last one? In the past weeks I noticed that MDS was beginning to take over my body more and more. How much longer would I have the strength for these ventures and how much longer do I actually have to live?


Sabine is a great woman. She is holding the rudder tight.

I know that immediately after the vacation the Vidaza Therapy begins. But will it work? How long can it postpone the progress of the illness? Are they going to find a matching stem cell donor on time? Those were the questions running through my head while I often sat there quietly. I was probably not much fun to be around for my fellow travelers.
Foto: The Light of Life – taken in Piran, Slowenia in late August 2016.


Sun down in Piran, Slowenia on 08.25.2016. 45°31'47.4"N 13°33'48.8"E

Pull it together Thomas!

Piran is a very nice town. Also, the sailing territory is very nice. I promised myself to come back for another yacht vacation there.


Town Harbor of Piran, Slowenia. 45°31'41.5"N 13°34'03.9"E


Tartini Square, market place in the town center of Piran. 45°31'42.4"N 13°34'06.4"E

The night before our last day of vacation we went out to eat at a small restaurant by the water. Unfortunately, I don't have any photos of the main course, just one of the appetizer.


Appetizer: grilled seafood at a small restaurant by the water in Piran, Slowenia.

University Clinic Carl Gustav Carus, Dresden in January 2017

Thursday the 19th through Monday the 23rd I received Chemo Therapy daily. Intravenous through the central venous line catheter. I am positively surprised. I had no immediate side effects such as pain, loss of appetite or nausea. I only felt really tired. I slept a lot during those days or listened to music. I did not have the nerve to be creative which explains the longer writing pause.

Tuesday the 25th is "available". I only receive an IV throughout the day: water with electrolytes. My blood has to be poison free and my kidneys need to be flushed. Tomorrow is the big day!

Wednesday, 01.25.2017 – Day ZERO

Today, my new life begins. I will remember this date. It feels like a second birthday!

In the morning my daughter Julia sends me this message via Whats App. She found this quote in a fortune cookie. Around 10:30am my lovely wife Sabine arrives. Of course she wants to be present for this big moment.

The excitement rises. At 11:50am the nurse comes in with the pouch of donated stem cells. Looks pretty unspectacular. Not quite like blood, more like a foggy blood orange. By the way: In the left photo you can see the delivery note.

12 o'clock, the doctor connects the pouch with the stem cells. It goes through the central venous line catheter, so no poking. In the picture you can see the tube disappearing under my shirt. There, it goes to my neck to the opening point in my right jugular vein. The black cuff is being used to measure my blood pressure during the procedure. My circulatory has to be watched. In some cases this procedure can cause some incompatibility or even an allergic reaction. I'm confident and strong. The stem cell infusion is going well.


The Stem Cell Transplant begins.

The next days and weeks will be very exciting. The donated stem cells have to find their way into my bone marrow, grow into it, multiply and eventually produce new blood cells. It takes 10-20 days until this success shows in my blood. Did you know? The word patient is latin: patiens means patient, withstanding, enduring.

By the way: My blood type is O+ and my stem cell donor's is B-. As soon as the new stem cells begin their work, my blood type will change. I find that very interesting.

With this Recovery Diary I want to not only write about my progress (or regress). Most importantly, I want to reassure those who are in a similar situation. No matter if it is yourself, a member of your family or a friend who is affected.

To be continued...

You can find the previous articles here:

Sort:  

I love the way you are living your life in these challenging times. May God bless you and grant you health and happiness. We should all live every day as if it were out last. Only then will we have no regrets when we leave our loved ones behind to join our loved ones in heaven. Live strong my friend! Following your journey now.

Thank you so much.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 07. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $32.45 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 07 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59218.43
ETH 2534.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44