The Reset Button of my life - Recovery Diary 2017 - Part 2

in #life7 years ago (edited)


By the Wind.

Ready to go about?

I'm looking back to 2011. In the first few months of that year our marriage came across some problems. There were several reasons. Same old game, every day. Too much work (we usually work in the same office), not enough time for relaxation. Not enough time and money to venture and get out. Work comes first.
We felt like we were in a hamster wheel. It keeps turning faster and faster, with no change and no turning back. There was dissatisfaction about the whole situation.
On top of that this emptiness occurred since both our kids left to go to college in Hildesheim and Hannover.

Ready!

My wife booked the trip. Last minute in both aspects. We went to Mallorca. From May 31st until June 10th 2011. For the first time in 25 years I was on vacation with just Sabine.

Those 10 days had it all. Wonderful, bright and warm sunshine, but also rain and storms. We ventured a lot. Rented a car, drove around the island and talked a lot. We knew we had to put some effort into both our futures.
Plan, or you misplan. We started to tackle our route for the next few years in our minds. We each found our own ways, but we agreed on the same goal. We decided to give each other more freedom and to not only accept, but also strongly support each others decisions. Together we are strong.

Going about


Sabine in Valldemossa, Mallorca.

My wife had another issue. She felt she was to heavy. As you can see she did not have the ideal figure. It never hurt my love towards her though, but it bothered her a lot. She had tried numerous diets. We have a pantry full of protein powders at our house. All of those diets actually started to show some effect: her body needed fewer calories to build fat cells faster. That is why Sabine came up with the following plan: "I will look into organic, healthy nutrition, become a certified health coach and mentally work on myself. I'm not doing this for a new job, but for myself!"


Yet, I am still behind.

My new plans were to finally awaken my early love: From now on; I will not only yearningly look at yachts, I will steer them myself! As quickly as possible I want to get the necessary trainings done and stand behind that rudder myself. I want to set sails, ride the waves, driven by only the strengths of nature. Pure freedom.

Come on! Let's live!

This vacation was a lifer saver for our marriage.

Jib over

A sailboat cannot go towards the wind stream. In order to still reach a destination in that direction it has to beat. In that process, it has to sail in one direction diagonal against the wind. At a certain point the sails are being brought to the other side of the boat and the course is changed to about 90 - 110 degrees. This maneuver is called to go about. Now, the nose is going in a new direction, again diagonal against the wind. You never loose sight of your destination and with every hit you get closer.


Anchored yacht in Cala Figuera.

Here and Now.

It's Wednesday, January 4th 2017. I am in the isolation ward of the hematology/oncology in the Küchwald-Klinikum in Chemnitz.
Yesterday was my birthday. The nurses sang "Happy Birthday" this morning and gave me a present. Throughout the day I received several phone calls from family members and friends. Every one sent me well wishes and luck. I gradually accept that; I can use it. Of course my lovely wife Sabine came to see me in person.


A small gift from the hospital staff.

All together, yesterday was pretty exhausting. I slept a lot and didn't really find the time to write. On a good note: I haven't had a fever in two days. On today's agenda I'm going to have to have a bone marrow puncture in my iliac crest done. Not pleasant, but medically necessary. The computer tomography
that was planned for today was postponed until tomorrow. That's what the doctor just told me. If there aren't any more complications I get to go home soon for a few days.

I have cancer. A special kind. The blood forming stem cells in my bone marrow are infested. To be precise: On July 29th 2016 I was diagnosed with high risk - MDS RAEB II. Without the help of modern medicine an absolute deadly illness.

Back in the days MDS often wasn't recognized and only since a few years, there are effective medical treatments. Thanks to the awareness of modern medicine I have bright prospects of being healed. In mid January they plan to do a stem cell transplantation. I plan on writing a live Recovery Diary on here. I don't only want to report about my progress (or regress). I want to encourage people in similar situations. No matter if it is yourself, a member of your family or a friend who is affected.

It can hit anyone. Unfortunately.

Some vacation photos taken in 2011 I simply have to share with you.


Punta de Capdepera, in the north-east of Mallorca.


A wave-breaker for protection of the yacht harbor of Colonia de Sant Pere.


Overlook south of Cala d'Or.


The small yacht harbor of Cala d'Or.


Along our bay there is a romantic hiking path.


"One day Oh Baby we will regret the things we HAVEN'T done." - My first scuba dive.


Takes some getting used to.


A little food and the fish will come in flocks.


Market in Santanyi.


We both love the mediterranean food.

Continued, Part 3: The 72 Hours Rule - Finally Home.

Part 1 of this series can be found here: In the isolation ward of the hematology/oncology. - What's actually happening in my body?

Please Upvote and Follow @germansailor

This article is also available in German.
Dieser Artikel ist auch in Deutsch verfügbar.

Sort:  

follow and upvote:)
nice photos!!!

Great pictures! Upvoted and follow. See you around!

Thank you very much. I'll write more soon ...

Great work! I enjoy photos and story about your trip!

I thank you. Soon there will be more to see and read.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44