The Reset Button of my Life – My Recovery Diary 2017 - Part 6

in #life7 years ago (edited)

"If you want to build a ship, don't drum up people to collect wood and don't assign them tasks and work, but rather teach them to long for the endless immensity of the sea." Antoine de Saint-Exupery


Longing for the wide sea.

This article is also available in German.
Dieser Artikel ist auch in Deutsch verfügbar.

Club Nautique

It is June 28th 2011. I am holding the brand new acquired SBF-See in my hands and I'm so excited. The first step of my vision to charter a yacht became real. Next, I am going to need the Sportkuestenschifferschein SKS. The training for the SKS is based on the SBF-See.

Now, I have to do some research about dates and locations for the following steps:

  • theoretical Training SKS
  • theoretical test SKS
  • practical training SKS
  • practical test SKS

I cannot find an online course for the theoretical training for the SKS. You can only do that in the actual sailing school. Due to time issues I would prefer a school near me. The practical training and test has to be done in the water, of course. Baltic Sea, North Sea, Mediterranean Sea…?

I had no clue and began to google. Along the providers I found Club Nautique appeared most suitable. Club Nautique offers courses in different towns through Sachsen, so really close to me. In 2011 not just yet in Chemnitz, but in Zwickau. I take note of the following information:

  • Date for SKS Training: Fall of 2011
  • Duration of Training: 3 months
  • Location: Westsächsische Hochschule Zwickau
  • Contact: Olaf Schädlich, +49 (0)3744 217421, [email protected]


Olaf Schädlich, Instructor, skipper and managing director.

I'm having a nice phone conversation with Olaf Schaedlich, CEO of Club Nautique. We discussed the following: The next theoretical training for the SKS is going to be in Fall/Winter 2011/2012. The most suitable location for me in fact, is Zwickau, Westsächsische Hochschule, Building FH by Kornmarkt, Room 165a. Date: 11/14/2011, 14 days, Monday evenings at 7 pm.

This was everything I needed to know for now. Testing dates and practical training should be discussed at a later occasion. Immediately after the phone call I signed up for the training via email.

Today is Wednesday January 11th 2017. (14 days to stem cell transplantation).

Starting tomorrow I get to play doctor. My wireless mouse fell off the table. Since then, it is seemingly dead. Clicking still works, but the arrow on the screen won't move. When I shake it, I hear rattling inside. I loosen two screws and open up the stomach of the animal. Well, here it is: the optic sensor came off of the fixation and is hanging from its cable. The optic doesn't point down anymore, just somewhere else. A drop of super glue fixes the issue. After 10 minutes of drying I reattach the case. 100% success!


The wireless mouse on the operating table.

After breakfast I go and get my infusion. Today I also notice progress. I can open up my mouth a little more, about 1.5 cm.In the afternoon I continue to write my blog. I am not able to finish though. I am way to tired and need a good afternoon nap first. Tonight, I will finish this part 6 and publish it. Afterwards, I plan on making new ghee (clarified butter). I'm all out and need it for cooking. I probably won't be able to really eat until tomorrow.


Homemade ghee from a previous batch.

I have cancer. A special kind. The blood forming stem cells in my bone marrow are infested. To be precise: On July 29th 2016 I was diagnosed with high risk - MDS RAEB II.
Without the help of modern medicine an absolute deadly illness. As long as I am able to, I will continuously write in my Recovery Diary. In case my condition gets worse, you may have to wait for a sequel for a couple of days.
With this Recovery Diary I want to not only write about my progress (or regress). Most importantly, I want to reassure those who are in a similar situation. No matter if it is yourself, a member of your family or a friend who is affected.

Continued, Part 6: What is Steemit!? - 33 years ago, Sabine and I said "yes".

You can find the previous articles here:

Sort:  

First picture is awesome. Good post UP!

Kristallklarer Resteem :-) Hoffe es geht dir gut mein Lieber :-)

Vielen Dank für's Resteemen. Und ja, mir geht es täglich ein bisschen besser. Alles wird gut.

Das freut mich zu hören. Sehr gerne mein Lieber :-)

Beautiful photos! Very Interesting. I followed you. Will you follow me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44