The Reset Button of my Life – My Recovery Diary 2017 - Part 3

in #life7 years ago (edited)


Sea marker, light buoy - hazard area south by Bonifacio, Corse, Mediterranean Sea.

This article is also available in German.
Dieser Artikel ist auch in Deutsch verfügbar.

A Chinese adage says: "The longest journey begins with the first step." Laotse.

Immediately after the return from vacation in June 2011 I began researching. I wanted to know which skills, documents and requirements were needed to charter a 15 meter long yacht and be able to operate it. Google became my friend.
The following displays my insight, what you need to know and what you need to master:

The following statements apply to Germany. I’m not sure how it's handled in other countries.

  • Knowledge of Sea Markers (buoyage and light beacon).
  • Knowledge of right of way at sea (collision preventing rules).
  • Awareness about security at sea and seamanship.
  • Knowledge in navigation, the reading of sea maps, meteorology, calculating of tides.
  • Mastering of sea knots.
  • Adequate practical experience of operating a yacht.
  • Possession of the "Coastal Yacht Master" or as we say in Germany Sportkuestenschifferschein (SKS). The yacht hire and insurance company will ask for it.
  • Possession of a valid boat license to operate a yacht (Germans call it Sportbootfuehrerschein or SBF-See). You’ll need it to purchase the SKS above.
  • Possession of the short-range certificate (SRC). At least one person on board must be able to operate the radio-equipment.

I had NEITHER! Instead, I made a decision.


Always on the lookout.

The 72 Hour Rule.

When you don’t take care of tasks within 72 hours, the likelihood of implementing them drops to about one percent. So, when you conduct something, you should put it in writing and begin the first step within the next 3 days, in order to actually put your project in practice.


Set Parasailor "before the wind."

I started immediately. Planning, step by step. In logical order. First, I had to take care of the license SBF-See.

I googled 'driving schools' who offered both the theoretic and practical part of the training to obtain the SBF-See. Preferably near by. I found places in Leipzig and Dresden. After calling them I was told "the next theoretic training wouldn't start until after the watersport season ends, in the fall". I could not wait that long. I had a strict timeline.

I then came across the website: https://www.sportbootfuehrerschein.de/. They offer an online course to obtain the SBF-See. It seemed perfect. First of all, this meant I was able to start right away, and second I could manage my time for the classes as I pleased. As I mentioned before, I am Self-Employed as an IT Service Provider and Programmer. The online course would help to get the high effort in studying done in a timely manner and not interfere with my occupational activities.

I slept over it for one night. Then I booked the online course and paid for my access to the platform for 3 months. Now, I had to study, and study, and study. As you can see in the CT scan below, I still have plenty of room in my head.

Thursday, January 5th 2017

They will take me to the computer tomography (CT) in the morning. This is the third one in the past few weeks. My wife will be able to take me home tonight, if they discover that the abscess in my left lower jaw has gotten smaller.


Right before I was pulled into the computer tomograph.

The contrast medium made me very sleepy and I slept all afternoon. Then I got a few more infusions. At 6:00 o'clock the time has finally arrived. Sabine is taking me home. However, I have to go back to the clinic daily to get more infusions. If everything goes according to plan, that is, if there aren't any complications, I will be home until January 16th with ambulant treatment. On January 17th I have to go to the Uni-Klinik Dresden for preparation of my stem cell transplantation. Everything is going to be fine.


CT scan in the morning of January 5th 2017.

I have cancer. A special kind. The blood forming stem cells in my bone marrow are infested. To be precise: On July 29th 2016 I was diagnosed with high risk - MDS RAEB II.
Without the help of modern medicine an absolute deadly illness. As long as I am able to, I will continuously write in my Recovery Diary. In case my condition gets worse, you may have to wait for a sequel for a couple of days.
With this Recovery Diary I want to not only write about my progress (or regress). Most importantly, I want to reassure those who are in a similar situation. No matter if it is yourself, a member of your family or a friend who is affected.

continued, Part 4: Tests, anticipation and the valley of dark shadows.

You can find the previous articles here:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59209.84
ETH 2659.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43