Wandering Back To My Pack

in #life6 years ago

A Not So Triumphant Return To A Place I Love


IMG_3673.JPG

Lake Pend Oreille, Sandpoint, Idaho

In my almost two years on this platform I have witnessed all manner of drama and shim-flam-conflabisms. And yes, that's totally a word. I am not a developer nor do I wish to wade into the pool of platform politics, rather I have showed my support for Steemit over the last couple of years by producing content, commenting, and not ditching the place in many of the waves of malcontent that has hit our beloved hangout over the past couple sun cycles.

That said, I have spent the last week of my life so incredibly sick that I couldn't even draft a post. Today is the first day I have been able to sit upright since sometime last week, and I have to say that I am sort of thankful that my illness coincided with ol' HF20. It has been 10 days since I posted, the longest I have gone without blogging since I started my journey here. During the RC/Mana credit recharge time I realized just how much I have come to depend on my daily interactions on here, how much I value the friendships that I have made. I may not be the most social on the social network due to my incredibly busy life on the non-digital side, but I have come to enjoy and care about people that contribute here a great deal. Isn't that what a social network is supposed to be about?

During the worst of my illness I spent some time perusing all of the discord, suggestions, and all out rage with the current fork of hardness, and you know what, I think we are going to make it through, just like we have made it through every other change here. Of course, it might be my delusional, weak from illness brain wishfully thinking that things are going to be good from here on out, but I think there are a lot of special people involved in Steemit, from the mightiest whales, to the content creators, be it the teeny plankton, and witnesses to the devs, all of us have a part to play, and I am going to continue to play my slightly offbeat tune here for as long as this place exists.

IMG_3691.JPG

Also, I am so very interested in what you all did while you couldn't or wouldn't post on Steemit? Was it weird? Did you feel like you were forgetting to do something? I know I felt that way at times? This Kat would love to hear how you coped during the forking!!


And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's probably equivalent to middle aged iPhone.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

Hey there Lady! Wow! Sorry you've been under the weather! I, too missed most of the HF drama as I was, and still am, recovering from my recent migraine spell. I agree that the timing was good so that I missed the frustration that many seem to have experienced. I'm still not fully recovered in my vision, so I can handle just about everything except screen time as it really tires my eyes, compensating for the blips in my peripheral vision. Anywhoo- hoping to see you at the meetup this weekend. Will you be up to it or catching up from the time you were laid up? (Fingers totally crossed here, hoping I get a smidgeon of real-world time with the Kat!) 😉

Hey! I'm so sorry you have to endure migraines. I watched my mom go through that misery for years, she'd have to retreat to a dark room and suffer through it. I'm so glad to hear you are on the other side of that awfulness.

We'll totally be there this weekend, I am bringing my whole crew with me, can't wait to hang out in the real world too:)

Ouch!

Sorry to hear of such a painful illness... :(

But glad you're on the mend!

Also checking out WEKU, and noodling my usual introspective and offbeat posts...

😄😇😄

@creatr

Ah, hi @creatr! I'm so glad to hear from you:) Doubly glad to hear that you have been conceptualizing your most excellent musings, your posts are most appreciated!!

WEKU, eh? Lots of Steemians have been hanging out there as of late. Usually I am up for a bit of new thing investigating, but I am thinking in this case I might stay in the routine side of the pool, at least until I get a little less busy, lol.

Hope you are having a fantastic night!

Thank you, my dear.

There is always that tension when it comes to keeping a balance between curiosity and numbing overload...

Lovely to hear your "voice." :D

Thanks for the kind wishes, and right back at'cha! :D

I am really sorry to hear you were so sick! I have heard that it is supposed to be a bad year for it this year....they may say that every year though lol. Well if you have to be sick, the HF is the time to get it over with! What a nightmare!
During the downtime I checked out weku.io for a spell. It is basically a copy of Steemit. I mean exactly except for all amounts are a bit higher. Dont know if their weku coin will ever be worth something, but I just post the exact that I post on here.

Hi OGP! Oh, most of the reason I got so sick was due to my own stupidity, ran myself way down, but I am back at it:)

I saw that lots of people were hanging out over at weku during the downtime, glad to hear you stayed busy!

Hello friend it's a pleasure to say hello, I regret that you've been so sick I'm glad you're better, without a doubt steemit is part of our life and for a while without the one feels that something is missing, it was hours and days when I felt strange, I love being here and exchanging words with good people who, even though they are far away, are already part of all this.

I am happy that steemit and you are back in my life, when one of my friends does not write for days I miss a lot, and I was thinking where you were, what good to know about you.

Take a little sleep those days without steemit, and also check weku and it's so similar to steemit but I missed my friends so it was not the same.

Greetings from Venezuela!

Oh hi! I have missed interacting with you too:) I am so glad to be back posting and chatting with you all again, it was definitely missed!

I hope you have the most lovely day down there in gorgeous Venezuela! Goodnight from Idaho:)

Hello, how do you feel? were strange days without steemit I put some slopes a day and rest a little, I regret that allas been so sick, I think that the one here in steemit and do not love all this and do not consider each person with whom your friend interacts, is very unfortunate does not know what is lost.

Your post I liked a lot, your writing is one of those that catches.

Hello to you! I am doing much better, I've even been driving that big truck around and training my horse again, so you could say that I am pretty much back to normal, lol!

I always look forward to your comments, and smile every time I see your kind words pop up underneath one of my posts. Have a great night!

I am so sorry to hear you have been ill, but also glad to know you are on the mend! I regret to report didn't notice your absence online, because I, too, was absent online. Not for the same reason however. In my case, I could not see any pictures on Steemit, nor could I post any pictures, nor could I access my feed. And I took lots of gorgeous fall photos in Post Falls over the past week! The good news: suddenly the pictures are back on Steemit! And so is my feed! Yay! Before much longer, I'll begin posting!

Hello @generikat, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62683.02
ETH 2962.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64