The Problem behind Feeling Overwhelmed

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever found yourself in a complete state of overwhelm? I certainly have, but after learning to decipher the problem behind that terrible feeling, I now know how to get out of that state. This is a short post because the last thing you need is to read a novel on overwhelm right now.

Why are you overwhelmed?

You have a to-do list, right?! Everyone does. These days you can read so much about the pros and cons of having a to-do list. My own humble opinion is that everyone has one. The question is whether it is floating around in your head or you have it on a thousand different slips of paper or in one cohesive list, be it physical or digital.
When we feel overwhelmed it's most often because that to-do list has grown unruly long - we give up and give in to overwhelm because there is no end in sight.

The problem isn't the end

Here's the thing though, when facing overwhelm the problem isn't that you can't see the end of the tasks at hand. It's not even the amount of tasks on your to-do list. The real problem and thus the solution to is where you should begin.
We feel overwhelmed, not because we have too much to do, but because we have no idea where to start, what task to attack first. It is a lack of orientation that makes us feel completely overwhelmed.

glenn-carstens-peters-190592 (1).jpg
Source

The cure

In my experience, there is only one way to get out of a state of overwhelm and that is to work your way out. Begin by actually writing (or reviewing) a cohesive to-do list. Then focus on one task at a time. You can start anywhere, with the one with the biggest lasting consequences or with the smallest task you know you can do in less than 5 minutes. You can begin with the task that seems the most fun or the least fun.
I'm a big fan of 'eating the frog', but what you may need to do is build momentum by crossing off the little ankle biters and feeling like you've got the ball rolling.

Remember this

If all else fails, remember this: Feeling overwhelmed is not a permanent state (and if has started to seem like it is you might benefit from some skilled help either with your tasks or with your mind). As much as it pains us to be in that state there is more to be learned from it. We can come out of a state of overwhelm feeling calmer and smarter than ever before.

What is the next task on your list you need to tackle?

Sort:  

Ditto, ditto, ditto.. you just described me to a tee!
I am a huge list-maker and I follow it. I feel more composed and ready for the day or week with my list in hand.
But yes, I do still feel overwhelmed some days.

I need to learn to relax more and take it a little slower.

And as @pennsif said "I never know which end to start"... so true most days!

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @frugallady to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

I'm so glad it resonated with you! My life was changed in a good and powerful way when I came across bullet journaling back in 2014 I think.

I never know which end to start.

Sometimes, particularly if I have slept well the night before, I will tackle the biggest task first. Then everything else should be easy.

If I am not feeling so bright, and maybe running on auto-pilot, I will pick off all the little jobs first. And then leave just two or three big tasks for when I am back on top of my game.

I hear that! What you can manage is certainly different depending on the day and your state of health and mind.

I tend to shuffle between the two in the very same way. I like eating the frog, but sometimes a snail or two can help the frog go down easier.

I needed this little reminder! I often feel paralyzed by the amount of things on my list and so I prioritize them in the order of when they need to be done. Often the list just seems to disappear but only when I start on a task and stop staring at the list.

That's the key point right there:

Often the list just seems to disappear but only when I start on a task and stop staring at the list.

I'm glad I could remind you. :)

I'm at this point at the moment. I'm determined to get some of the jobs ticked off though. I need to get a roster organised as well so I don't get to this point as easily again!

That's why I'm such a fan of rhythms, they tend to be the best way to keep on top of things for me. I find myself still getting to this point every now and then, but they are further apart and end faster than they used to.
You can absolutely do it!

It is overwhelming to look at the list in its entirety. It can paralyze me for sure. But like you said, one task at a time. Depending on my mood, I choose something simple or something very challenging. I tend to try and get the hardest or least pleasant tasks over with first. Sorta like a plate of food. I eat my least favorite item first so that I can really savor those last bites. I've never heard the "eating a frog" analogy. Gramps use to always say "How do you eat an elephant? One spoon at a time." Haha.

I've heard the elephant too. Eat the frog is from an excellent book.
I do the same with food. Give me anything with bacon and I will have a pile of it to savour at the end of my meal.

That actually looks like a really good book, thank. I saw they have a, Kiss That Frog book too, haha. Oh bacon, one of the loves of my life, nom, nom, nom.

I love my daily to do list! I would be lost without it! knocking one of the items out now! It is funny I was not sure how today would go regarding my list so this morning when things seemed behind ...i said well maybe it will be for the week! LOL After resteeming ..i noticed no thumbnail pic...take out the parenthesis ( ) from your http address and it should show up!
Happy NIght!
Melissa

Thank you so much - I had no idea there was an issue. I tried to fix it, please let me know if it works.
As with most things in life to-do lists give us a chance to practice so many virtues including determinedness and grace.

indeed..will look at thumbnail...looks good :)
Happy Day!
Melissa

Upvoted by the Minnows Accelerator Project (MAP).

This article was created by a MAP Member. Any quality blog creator can request to join the Minnows Accelerator Project too.

Read all the articles posted by MAP members.

Please support MAP so that we can continue to support Quality Content Creators.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56800.55
ETH 2331.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34