Human Interactions

in #life6 years ago

Reflecting upon what is going in my life lately has shown me more gaps and emptiness, open pits that brought on the questions of what I have been needing.

First thing to say, it is in my human nature to help people. The need to help someone is so strong that sometimes I am blinded by the needs and intentions good or bad. I have put other people before myself so that they can move ahead and with that I feel pure satisfaction and I feel complete. Now there were times that I knew what I was doing and helping someone meant that I couldn't pay rent but that didn't matter to me. Those times, I didn't have my family. I was ok if I got kicked out of my apartment, and I did.

I never felt any regret for helping someone even if they took advantage. I was on clouds if there was something I could do for someone. (Scratch that... Friendly warning, I will unfriend you if you have me do your dishes.)

When I met my Danny, my husband, our relationship started with me having the biggest urge to help him. All my instincts were so strong that I was unable to not help this stranger. I was questioning myself, what was I doing, this guy must think I am a nutcase. I didn't even know his name. I left him no choice but to let me help him. Ya I am weird like that.

These past few days have been reflecting on just that. I have made some bad choices that weren't particularly bad in the past. Being married also means making decisions together and the way things have happened, well it didn't go that way.

Being a stay at home mom for 7 years now, with the odd occasions of working for my parents restaurant in the kitchen a few hours here and there (not even enough to call it a job), time seems like it is crucially painful. I know I may get some comebacks with this but I am being brave in saying how it was and is for me.

Everyday my life consists of wiping noses, butts, counters, walls, couches, tvs, windows and mirrors. Breaking up fights, doing laundry, cleaning dishes. Kissing cuts and bruises and trying to get gum out of hair. Conversations containing words like poop, boogers, goo goo gaga, poor baby, tickle tickle, peek-a-boo... The list goes on. I am not saying there were and are no highlights but I mean the lack of adult interactions was taking its toll.

I was getting needy. Needy for a break from the kids, from the everyday routines, from life but I couldn't get it and nor could I run away from it. It was a time where I found myself a lot on facebook. What were other people's lives like? What are they doing, what are they cooking? Is it the same for other mothers out there? And then I saw a post. Oh it hit me right where I needed it to be. The people that ran programs for homeless animals were looking for people to foster a few dogs and cats. BINGO! I called and said I was willing to foster a dog.

He was a big boy, tall and oh so fluffy! He loved to cuddle, he had great spirits and and, and well I just wanted to keep him! Without knowing this dog, he was so loyal and just so awesome, I was able to walk him without a leash. He just stayed with me. Well.... Imagine my husbands face when he came home to see this monster sized fluff ball of a dog in the house. He wasn't too happy. You can just imagine how that went... He thankfully got adopted about 4 days later. Wish it could have been me, but that's how it went.

Last year I took on babysitting. In the town I live in, it is very hard for people to go to work unless they are able to afford daycares, or if they are extremely lucky to have a found a babysitter, and that is rare to have here. So this is another case where I didn't talk to my husband about. I knew he would have said no, but I needed something. I needed to help. This was my chance. So I took the opportunity.

That created a lot of argument and stress. I know that babysitting isn't something that seems like a big thing but there are reasons and circumstances behind it all that made things very hard.

So the big thing here is why do I keep insisting on taking action spontaneously like this?

My life has been put on pause as I raise my kids which has made it so freaking hard to help someone else. My needs, my fulfillment has been bypassed. Yet why is it like that if everyday my kids need help every single day? That is helping right?

Well not exactly because they are kids. It is my duty to raise my kids and I know it sounds like I am cruel or making things seem so gloomy and gray but I tell you it is not like that at all.
The more I look at things the more I see that I am lacking human interactions. The most sight of people that I get is when watching a movie, being on the computer chatting with people. Technology is replacing the connections that people have.

Yet things like Steemit, being such a great platform where many people from across the world can connect kind of makes things better. I have connected with some great people, people that I would never want to lose connections with. But in my life, being on this computer chatting with people where all I see of them is a picture, it still takes away real life interactions with people. I yearn to meet these people I have met on this platform.

I am thankful for having Steemit to be able to fill a bit of that gap but I do have to see past that as I could be on here for hours! But that also means that those hours are lost. Chances are lost to meet with friends and family. Which means for me, less gratification of my human nature. I get lost within myself, I lose sight of myself. I get impatient, angry, needy for things than are for nothing.

And then we have these big robotics companies that are making robots to replace people for us to interact with. Where would I be then if that is all I was given? If that is all was left? I would break, I would dive into a deep depression. I imagine myself as a deep sea diver wearing those old diving helmets with a hose attached for air, the lifeline between my and my soul only to have a robot electronic thingy stepping on it, cutting all airways and I drown in the deep dark abyss of the ocean. Sinking deep as my eyes lay upon the last sights before I die. Seeing the many other souls dying from the same fate as I.

I believe it is important to have a healthy relationship with people even if you are an introvert. I have my own tiny circle of people that I need to see more often. 2 really great friends, a tight circle that we have, where we can help each other when needed.

This week it has been brought to my attention that I have not been in action with life. Twice I have been told that it was as though I have been wiped off the face of the planet. I have not interacted with anyone. This is alarming. Because even though I feel as though I have responsibilities on Steemit, I have real responsibilities here. With my family and friends, I need to be present for them or I will lose them. What is more important?

So I feel like I need to apologise to a lot of you as you have been seeing a lot less from me. But you know what? I really don't have a thing to say sorry for on this platform. If anything I must apologise to the people around me.

I have a lot to invest in now with many other things going on in my life like gardening, family, fun events, new adventures etc. So it will happen where I wont have time to stay strongly connected to this platform. But please see that I am not quitting, that I still follow but that my heart is now where it needs to be.

I love you all and I will see you on here from time to time. Much love and respect! XXX

Sort:  

You have to do what is right for you, your family and home.
Yes... steemit can consume a lot of time and I am an introvert so being on here allows me the chance to interact with like-minded people and have friends that I don't have nearby.

When you come back, we will be here... blessings to you!

Definitely agree with you. I have learned that I also am a bit of an introvert, so it does help. But I do see that I cannot limit myself to just this because even though I feel emotions alongside others on steemit, I can still not express it with my computer. A funny way of putting it. I will still blog and connect with people, it just wont be as much. Glad that you are around ^_^ The people that I have on here, I will always try to support! xx

I think every single point you make is something a lot of us relate to. I know I sure do. I noticed something, maybe because I have been there.
Spending so much time home with the children you seem to be missing the part of you that is all yours and yours alone.
Like when you make those decisions that get you in trouble. The dog, the babysitting, that was you getting that little boost for something you did.
The person who works outside the home gets those little boosts all the time. They sometimes never even notice that the one at home has in many ways become frozen in time. Never getting to make a decision, at least not like before when you were out there or on your own, missing chances to grow.
I think it is a thing all stay at home moms go through. It can be super hard to squeeze in that me time.
You mention often when you speak of your friends how you help each other. Could it be that is whereyour little boost was coming from?
Pay me no mind. I may be speaking mostly of myself. I did have a period where I had to work hard to find myself again.
I think your Steemit connections will stay strong, you are quite memorable 😍

I will definitely pay you mind.

Everything you said is bang on. And when you said about the outside person, you know exactly how to describe it.

Man, I wish I could say more to do your comment justice. That understand link between people who has been there... no words but a lot of feelings. Thank you for this.

I am not sure what to say about being memorable. I don't think I would have ever said that about myself. You made me feel really good about myself and what I do here. I try to bring in different views on different things and have fun with it as well, hoping that people can understand and see, and appreciate how things are so different for many people, yet all the same. Thank you for this. Much respect to you! XXX

Hey we all understand that life has to come before the internet. U keep doing what u need to do 🧡 im always here if u want to chat for hours on the phone lol. Your a beautiful and wonderful friend💯!

Definitely. I think if were to talk on the phone, I would have to plan it right as we do talk for hours lol.
Thank Crystal, you are an awesome, beautiful and great friend as well.

I am in the same boat with you. Gardening, working on reconciling relationships,family matters,creating the life I want to live.
After harvest time I will have time to blog.
Much love and respect to you also.

Spring and summer is the busiest time of year! So much to do in so little time. I hope the harvest brings you plenty :D

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 10.79% upvote!
I was summoned by @underground. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Thank you so much! I greatly appreciate being 'defended' :p What an awesome surprise! I am left speechless. Thank you again ^_^ xx

Will wait right here for you :)

Thanks ^_^ I am still sticking around, just being more...runny like the honey lol not sure if that made sense.

Will leave a jar here to catch every drop

Definitely understandable we all need time for ourselves and human adult interaction it's necessary😊

It is necessary. Took me a while to know it. I thought I was fine when I wasn't. It is nice to take a step back to find the things we are lacking :D

Hi @foxyspirit , this is my first time visiting your blog. Everything you have shared up there is what I was and am feeling so I feel emotionally related, especially that part when you said you seems to be addicted in helping people:). Have a good day in reality!

Hey, thank Adam! I appreciate that you see it. I hope you have a great day too ^_^

Thank you so much!!!!

As goldendawne has said, you have to do what is right for you. When children are young, they do take up a lot of energy and many, many mothers feel like you. You are not alone in feeling this way. I will look forward to your posts if and when they come up.

You are one awesome person you know that! I hope that other people can see that interacting with actual beings face to face is more than what we can actually think. Especially for mothers! :P

Hive Hive Bomb Comment.png Vote

Thank you!! xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.30
ETH 3269.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64