⏺My biggest insecurity: My blind eye.. Part 1 (Never opened-up about this before)

in #life7 years ago (edited)


I ALWAYS ENCOURAGE YOU TO READ EVERY WORD.png
MY BIGGEST INSECURITY.png
This is going to get a little deep. I haven't opened-up about this yet, but I am in-fact blind in my left eye.

Let me tell you my story. (Read till the end.)

I was 7 years-old when it happened. It was at pre-primary school, during our break-time. All the boys were throwing their caps up into the tall, nearby tree, thinking it was really fun.. Until their caps got stuck. How did they get them back down? Well, they thought it was a fun idea to throw stones into the tree to get them back down.

So my friend came to me, trying to show me how far he could throw his rock.. And then it happened.

The rock slipped from his hand when he tried to throw it, and it hit me in the left eye.

I blacked-out for a few seconds.. Couldn't really remember anything, then I gained consciousness again. My face was covered in blood, and I didn't know what emotion to feel. They took me to the reception, where I waited there for about 30 minutes for my mother to arrive. I was feeling incredibly weak. I went to the doctor where he started to examine my situation.

He couldn't come to any conclusions at that point. He just cleaned my eye out with a few ear-buds and that was that.
6 MONTHS LATER.png
Six months had gone-by since that moment. I was living fine, until we had an eye-testing day at school. I didn't know a thing about what was going to happen. When it came to my turn to read the letters through the glass, I told the lady she needed to open the latch, because I couldn't see anything. She was yelling at me to stop fooling around. I think she was in a big shock when she found-out the truth.

My parents were contacted, and I went back to the doctor. We did some formal eye-tests and examinations, and then the doctor told me the news.. I am blind in that eye. I wasn't too shocked, as I was already used to it. I didn't really feel much different.

Until he start doing more examinations, and advised that I have an operation done to remove the lens.

So that happened. I was in bed for 3 months after that.. My entire life had done a 360-turn. After that, my eye couldn't handle the trauma, so I had to do another 4 more operations. From that point, we just left it. Not thinking about the long-term trauma my eye would suffer, we just moved on.
coollogo_com-32275851.png
Now, why is this my biggest insecurity?

I actually nearly cried multiple times while writing this very article. All the lessons I have learnt, and all the struggle I, and my family have been through, it's been hectic.

It's amazing how something so simple in one person's perspective, can impact another person's life so much more differently. His name was Luke. That's the kid who through the stone. I remember his face, and other features so clearly. I remember his voice in the back of my head. I think one of the main reasons where my initial depression started was when he didn't even feel the need to ever apologize for what he had done. I don't even think he took me seriously when I tried to explain to him what happened a year later.. It had driven me insane for years.

From about age 12 I had to start wearing glasses. They didn't really suite my face, so I of course used to get mocked by my peers. What could I do but just suck it all up! I didn't have any other choice. This started to build up to my chronic depression. It lasted for about 5 years.

I have realized that this story can be very, very long, still so many details.. I hope you have even gotten this far. I will make Part 2 in the next post. Stay tuned!

THE END.png

My previous motivational post:
Does life play tricks on us? Productivity killer!

My previous image-gallery post:
📽Anime gallery: Berserk (Part 2)

My previous milestone:
🖊 My first 30 days on Steemit! Over 3000+ posts!

My main Instagram account is currently at 36.4K+ Followers.

REMEMBER I REWARD GREAT COMMENTS.png

Sort:  

Keep Steem'N Bro - Speaking from the Heart is the way forwards

Always bro! Thanks for that.

It takes a lot of courage to talk to strangers about your biggest pain, in order to encourage them that their own problems might feel small compared to this story. And yet you are here having already a great audience and people who look up to you. If I had instagram I would follow you there, too.

Of course I can't wait to read the rest of the story. And of course i will upvote and resteem part 2 as well. I see great things for your future. The best motivational speakers are always the people who suffered the most in their lives and were able to overcome that.

My dude. Thanks so much for that! Really awesome to here these kind words. Yeah, I made a decision to be as transparent as I could. That way, there's no holding back for me, and less questions for my audience :)

I really appreciate your support, man. Super awesome. Totally agreed.. If I look at any of the top motivational speakers out there, they all went through the most hectic conditions I could think of.

Talk soon brother. Part two coming later today.

Wow. It is astonishing how quickly life can change in an instant. How horrible you had to go through the surgeries and all the uncomfortableness (sp?) of it all. Hopefully you'll share why it's an insecurity in part 2, because you don't strike me an insecure person.

So true hey! Life can change for us so rapidly, we will be left behind if we are not sharp enough.

SP? What do you mean :P

Yeah it was tough, still is sometimes, but hey.. It happens to the best of us :)

Well, I mean, I realized many people out there seem like their lives are so 'perfect', but in reality, we are all human. We all have the same emotions from time to time. Everyone has insecurities, I'm sure of it. I suppose it's how we choose to deal with our circumstances that determines the person we become!

Thanks for your comment my friend :) Sorry for the delayed response.. Been really ill. I will go and reply to your part-2-comment now :) Talk soon.

That's one emotional yet insipiring post you got here bro.. Respect that you have the strength to share it with strangers like us.. Many of us do feel insecure about certain thing and most of the time we don't feel like sharing them.. Now I feel like i should share mine too.. Lol..

Thank you for that brother!

Well you know, that's my vision here. I need to lead by example, be the first to jump-in to the deep end, but eventually I want us all to be swimming together. In other words, I want my comments sections' to be a place where people can speak freely what is on their mind, and not be judged.

For us to inspire and motivate one another. To uplifts each other's lives! That's the ultimate vision I have here.

Thanks for stopping by bro. This is just part 1. Part 2 is up :) Talk soon.

Bro... I am too in my left eye lol... seriously. I was born like that, but It never affected me. I still ended up playing football at the college level. And I can shoot pretty well 😂.

Ey! Snap haha :D

Well, having only one eye means our perception of depth is in many cases pretty terrible :D But at the same time, shooting is quite accurate. I am also quite decent at shooting haha :D

Thanks for stopping by. Part 2 coming up. Talk soon.

yeah its good you don't let it affect you anymore. I don't know any different so I cant complain.

<3 Sooo inspiring that you are very transparent and you have the courage to tell us things that most people wouldn't. I tip my hat off to you! Gonna check the chat soon too, haven't been on it!

Ah I appreciate that my friend :) Hope you're well!

Yeah, you're going to have quite a read when you get back into that chat :D I kinda let loose lol!

Talk soon.

Wow, it's crazy to think someone who can be so happy and motivated for the future, could go through so much in the past. I'm glad you overcame your depression and past issues. It's really motivating and inspiring to others that you opened up about all this and it shows how real you really are. Even though you struggled through all this, you managed to become the amazing, fun and energetic person you are today that a lot of people admire. x

Also on a more positive note, I'm happy to announce that I'm your 100's upvote. 😊

Thank you, Kayleigh :)

It was a rough-patch.. But I see it as a test from life. Many of us don't often know how to get out of our bad situations, and I just want to send the message that no matter what it is, with enough will power it can, and will be over-come!

I am also trying to encourage others to not worry so much about their insecurities. Everyone has them, yet we are all ashamed to be open about them. That is more depressing than the actual insecurities themselves!

Thanks for stopping by :) Glad to see you here! Talk soon.

It's a sad story. I hope that does not handicap you a lot in your daily life. And keep this in mind. Difficult road often lead to beautiful destinations. Always stay positive and forgive others. " You are free to make any decision you wish. But you are not free from the consequences of that decision.".

Thanks for this! Don't worry, I am used to most of it by now. It's like being broke, when you are used to the rich-life, then becoming broke is much more dramatic than being used to the lifestyle :)

Same with my eye. I'm used to the pain, and the ridicule, but I am grateful it has made me immune to a lot more pain :)

Part 2 coming up soon! Talk then.

My friend, life gets crazy sometimes. I really appreciated reading the whole pos. You seem to be a great guy. Don't ever let anyone put you down. It is incredible how you managed to forgive that kid, who's never had the courage to come to you and say sorry. And I bet he was and still is sorry.
Keep it up buddy! You are awesome.

I appreciate that brother. I actually split that original post in half, so this was part 1. Part 2 is coming up shortly! You kind of already read both I think haha! But anyways talk soon.

I really enjoy it that you guys are paying such close attention. Really awesome!

I feel you brother.. I was born with a dead optical nerve on my left eye.. I'm able to see only 20% with it.
Blind as a bat.

So I've relied on one eye for my whole life.

Damn brother. Hectic stuff. At least you don't have the physical pain then hey! Sorry to hear that.. But hey, we can only become stronger!

Talk soon. Part 2 coming up soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57529.75
ETH 2571.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44