Knives (handmade) 101 #5 If I Spend a Few 100 $ On a Knife Will It Be Sharp Forever

in #life7 years ago (edited)

NO!

As always, if you have any questions just leave a comment...

Just kidding :)

But it is a valid question - if a bit unrealistic.

So let's start from the beginning.

What makes a knife sharp, and what keeps it sharp.

sharp.png

I. Getting the Knife Sharp

I could get into the engineering and talk about blade geometry for as long as it takes, and no one would read it let alone remember it. So, let's keep things simple.

For a knife (remember if not stated differently I'm talking about kitchen knives) to get sharp, we need to bring the side planes - what we call bevels as close as possible in order to reduce the surface area of the edge.
At the same time, keeping the integrity of the blade so it doesn't chip or roll.

The physics behind is based on the principle that the smaller the area which is transferring the force of the cut, the easier it will be to penetrate the object.

This is what it looks like when the sharpening is done right

This is done by sharpening.

Sharpening is basically a process of removing metal from the blade until we get the desired apex of planes and thus making the cutting edge as tin as it can be - keeping in mind the blade integrity.
You can sharpen a knife in hundred types of ways on a lot of different abrasives.

There are two general types of sharpening.
i. sharpening a dull knife
ii. maintenance - keeping a sharp knife sharp

The main difference being - the length of the process.

**i. **When sharpening a dull knife one must start with the lower grit abrasive.
400 grit stone or diamond plate should be a starting point if your knife is really dull.
When you get the knife as sharp as you can on 400, you can move on a next - usually, the progression of grits goes X2 or close enough.

Generally, my sharpening goes 400/1000/3000/6000/10-12000/stroping - with smaller or bigger variations depending on the knife in question or what I want from it.

Do you have to do the same for your knife? Of course not!

My advice is to buy a 1000/4000 stone and for most of you that will be more than enough for everyday usage.

Something like this
sharpening00007.png

You will have to burn some muscle grees to get your dull knife sharp for the first time but after that, it will be a few mins every once in a while to keep it sharp.

ii. Keeping the knife sharp

If you use the knife it will get dull - or not sharp enough.
So what do you do?

Just make it your weekly routine to do the last step of your prefered sharpening routine, and once a month take it to the last two.

If you take your knife to crazy sharp levels as I do - than stropping once a week should be just fine and once a month I would do 10-12K.

If you skip a week - do last two next week. If you skip a month - you will have to resharpen it from the scratch.
And so on, the more often you do it the less the bother it is.

I won't go into techniques - you can do a YT search and find one you like. I will be publishing a video showing how I do it soon - so keep tuned.

II. What Keeps The Knife Sharp Longer

The time your knife will stay sharp depends on two things concerning how the knife was made and how you use it

i. The Knife

There are two main things that go into what is called edge retention. (There are a few other things but let's keep something for the future.)

The hardness of the steel and the wear resistance.

Both of these properties are directly related to the type of steel and the heat treatment that was done.

Generally speaking the harder the knife is, the longer it will stay sharp. The same thing goes for the wear resistance.

So why not just make the knife as hard as possible and it will stay sharp forever?
Yep, it will stay shart but it will also chip as soon as you use it.

A good knifemaker knows how to find that sweet spot where a knife is hard enough to have maximum performance properties and at the same time that it won't chip in normal tasks.

This is one of the benefits of acquiring a handmade knife. Most production knives are made way too soft for my taste - floating somewhere around 54-56 HRC. Most of my knives, especially chef ones, are tempered to 61-62.

ii. The Way You Move - Use It

bembo.jpg

Most of the people I know, that are not in knifemaking, tend to use their knives in a way that a knife is not supposed to be used.

Some of them are misusing them so bad that it hurts my heart really deeply.

The way you handle your knife directly relates on how well the knife will serve you in the long run. So, here are a few tips on what to do and what not to do.

  1. NOT cutting on a plate, stone countertop or any other hard surface like glass-like cutting boards. Most of these are way harder than your knife and will make the edge either chip or dull in no time. And I do mean no time - a few strokes across your plate and your knife is dull. Buy yourself a nice wooden cutting board and do all your cutting on it.
  2. NOT using your kitchen knife as a utility knife in your "around the house" activities. This includes cutting branches, making the tinder for your BBQ, cleaning the drains and so on. A kitchen knife is made with one task in mind - cutting food. Everything else is misuse and will damage your knife.
  3. NOT washing your knives in a dishwasher. Now, I don't care what kind of a shitty $5 knife you have - just don't do it. Why? Because! There is no plausible excuse to do it - it takes 20 seconds to clean your knife the old way, under the warm water in your sink. Wash it with some detergent, rinse, wipe dry while still warm from the water, and put it back in the place.
  4. DO keep it sharp. A dull knife is a dangerous knife! Not only will it not do the job, but there's a better chance you will cut yourself with a dull knife then with a sharp one. Just take 5 min every week and touch-up on the sharpening stone.
  5. DO/NOT The all mighty iron rod. If you have a knife set, there's a fair chance it came with an iron rod. Should you use it? Probably not. First of all, a rod is not meat to sharpen but to align the edge. So if your knife is dull, you won't do anything good. Secondly, if you didin't know that, you probably don't know how to use it - so don't. If you know how to use it, and your knife is softer than the rod (and is sharp), you can use it to touch-up.

Before I finish, I'll get back to the question in the title.
Will an expensive knife stay sharp forever? No, it won't. But if you take care of it and don't misuse it will serve you well for a long time. And yes, it will stay sharp way longer than most production stainless knives.

Thank you for reading, and if you have any questions or just want to leave a comment, please do - that's what comment section is all about.

Check out my previous posts on handmade knives:

  1. Handmade Knives (custom) 101 #1 – Are You Bipolar?
  2. Knives (handmade) 101 #2 – What’s Wrong With My $10 Supermarket Knife?
  3. Knives (handmade) 101 #3 What to Think About When Buying a Knife
  4. Knives (handmade) 101 #4 Full Custom Build
Sort:  

Thanks! That was an interesting and informative article. I look forward to reading more of your articles about knives.

Thank you for your support. More cool posts are just around the corner.

awesome guide! explained this to a bunch of ppl over and over and still they call me after months to tell my knives are getting dull, well yeah if you use eventually you need to give it some love :D

Tnx. Yep, for some reason, a lot of people think there's this magic steel out there which will stay sharp no matter how they use it. I had one client call me two days after I gave him a brand new scary sharp knife - he wanted a super-slicer for cutting meat - so of course, I made it super tin.
Anywho, he called after two days saying I did something wrong because he was using it for about an hour and now it's so dull it won't cut at all.
So, I said, OK bring it and I'll see what went wrong. He did, and the knife was not only dull, the edge was chipped in multiple places and it had a slight warp.
I was speechless with tears in my eyes. When I did ask him what did he actually do with it.
Can you guess? He was clearing the bushes behind his house :)
I asked who gave you the bright idea to use a meat cutter on bushes?
He was like - you told me it will stay sharp longer than my other knives and I wanted to clear the backyard quickly.
:)

Goodmorning sir.. Thanks for this wonderful and educative piece.. You have well stated that expensive knive can not stay sharp forever. But my question is, does a knive get rusted, and if it does, can rusting cause an expensive knive not to stay sharp easily?

Good morning to you too. Thank you for your kind words and support - much appreciated.
As for expensive knives and rusting - if it's a high carbon steel, yes it will rust if you don't take care of it. And yes, a rust will do no good for the sharpness. But, a bit of rust is not the end of the world and it can easily be mended.
I will soon make a post about maintenance and I'll cover the rust problem in it. Until then check out my first post 1. Handmade Knives (custom) 101 #1 – Are You Bipolar?
where I do talk about rust a bit.

Hello @docsmith

I'm really glad I came across your post. I'm browsing the new tab every now and then.

I have a bunch of dull kitchen knifes I've been putting off for some time. Funny I'd see a post like this. ;) As far as grinding stones go, where would you recommend I buy from? Thanks.

Hey, I know I was just thinking about you when writing this ;)
Stones - well, there is such a big market for sharpening stones that you could spend a good chunk of your life exploring it. And you could spend a few $1000 on a good stone.

But honestly, just go on eBay and buy yourself a cheap cca. $20 stone from China. I have two of them and they work just fine. Aim to get 1000/4000 combo - and that's more than enough for a home usage.

Oh, and keep tuned, I'll do a sharpening tutorial soon and I'll talk about stones in there.

This post has received gratitude of 1.55 % from @appreciator thanks to: @docsmith.

This post has received a 6.49 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @docsmith

Thank you @docsmith for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 3.18% on this post! Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem! The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me! For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily? To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Help me stop @grumpycat

Just read the post below and resteem if you agree...
https://steemit.com/life/@firedream/stop-the-grumpycat

FD.

You got a 1.03% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @docsmith! Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55825.83
ETH 2516.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28