Knives (handmade) 101 #12 The Hamon

in #life6 years ago

Hello dear Stemians,

today I want to talk about hamon (刃文).

You've probably seen it on some of my knives, and a lot of people have asked me what it is and how it's done so here it goes.

Basically, hamon is a visual effect of a differential heat treatment, where the blade is quenched in such a way that the edge is hardened and the spine is left relatively soft.
DSC_0768.JPG

The hamon outlines the transition between the region of harder martensitic steel at the blade's edge and the softer pearlitic steel at the center and back of the sword.
Source

It can be done in three ways (that I know of):

  1. with the application of some kind of a heat-sink, usually clay or refractory cement
  2. by partially quenching the blade, where one only dips the very edge into the quenchant
  3. by fully hardening the whole blade and then isolating the edge and extremely tempering the spine

I have done the first two, with the first one being my process of choice.

Aside of the different techniques of quenching, there are also different approaches of bringing the hamon out.

There's not really the official or the best one, most of the knifemakers have some kind of a secret and/or prefered recipe.
You can bring the hamon out by polishing with stones, sanding paper, buffing and by applying some kind of an acid.
The traditional one is done by (natural) sanding stones, and most of the purist consider the application of acid a blasphemy. I like my hamon to be really pronounced, so I use strong ferric chloride acid, and let me tell you what I think about tradition.

Tradition is stupidity on purpose

As with most of the cool stuff in steel processing the hamon was introduced in Japan, around 8 century.
The legend being that the inventor was Amakuni.

The idea behind the differential treatment is that by leaving the spine soft, the blade (sword) will become flexible while the edge is kept hard and therefore sharp for a long time.
Since I don't make swords or choppers I mostly do differential treatment for the visual effect - even though it does bring a bit of a dynamic to the blade.

DocSmith Secret Hamon Procedure

I. After I profile the blade I apply the refractory cement in the desired pattern
IMG_20180331_170046.jpg


II. I do, what is commonly referred to as, interrupted quench, where I do a quick dip into a brine, pull it out and then submerge the blade into oil


III. Then I grind the blade and hand sand it to 800 grit, where the hamon starts to pop out ![IMG_20180110_165240_707.jpg]()
IV. I etch the blade in a strong acid
V. After the etch I remove the oxides with metal polishing paste

And that's it!

And here's a pic of what it looks like when it's finished
IMG_20180324_170648 (1).jpg

Thanks for stopping by, and if you have any Qs, well you know what to do.

Check out my previous posts on handmade knives:

  1. Handmade Knives (custom) 101 #1 – Are You Bipolar?
  2. Knives (handmade) 101 #2 – What’s Wrong With My $10 Supermarket Knife?
  3. Knives (handmade) 101 #3 What to Think About When Buying a Knife
  4. Knives (handmade) 101 #4 Full Custom Build
  5. Knives (handmade) 101 #5 If I Spend a Few 100 $ On a Knife Will It Be Sharp Forever
  6. Knives (handmade) 101 #6 Design - How to Get the Knife Out of Your Head
  7. Knives (handmade) 101 #7 Knife Handle
  8. Knives (handmade) 101 #8 How to Spot a Real Deal?
  9. Knives (handmade) 101 #9 Making Knives is Not a Clean Hobby
  10. Knives (handmade) 101 #10 Little WorkShop of Horrors
  11. Knives (handmade) 101 # WIPs April 2018
  12. Knives (handmade) 101 #11 You Can Only Get Good By Admitting You've Fu*#$ed UP






Sort:  

That's very informative, I can see how you're having fun with your hobby. I guess it's the male equivalent for sewing:-)

Do you also sell them in a shop or do I have to go to WÜSTHOF if I want to make someone a nice present?

LOL, I guess it is a bit like sewing, just with fire and heavy machinery :)

I do sell my knives, and I'll be starting a new batch next month with a few spots still open. So if you're really interested, drop me a note on Discord - DocSmith #2734 or in Insta - link in my profile.

Very cool. If I buy one then it would be as Christmas present. Perhaps the batch after the next one, but I will keep it in mind and follow you.

WARNING! The comment below by @ilhamyus leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

Thanks for sharing this post.
Keep it up.

Great work another amazing piece of art

Free Daily Upvote and Get 0.1 Steem Just To Sign up!

affiliatemarketer.website

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69