Knives (handmade) 101 #9 Making Knives is Not a Clean Hobby

in #life6 years ago

Do you like to stay clean and neat?
Having nasty stuff under your nails and in your eyes is not something you can live with?

Oh boy (or a girl), did you pick a wrong hobby!

Yes, saying clean, or even getting clean while making knives is not an easy thing to do.

22406345_10212729275119495_2700699405258377245_n.jpg

The thing is, I've spent last 15 or so years doing research. Seating in front of a PC, reading, writing, typing... Not a lot of chance to get dirty.

And honestly, it's kinda expected of you that when you show up at the office that you do so in a presentable state.

Blisters, dirty nails, knuckles grinded off, permanent red and bloody eyes... are not considered as presentable in my kind of work.

Up to a few years ago, I didn't have any problem with being well groomed.
Boy did things changed. ;)

When I started this crazy adventure I didn't really know that getting ready for work on Monday is going to become such a ever-losing battle. OK, so I'll be grinding and sanding steel and wood, but that's just dust.

You jump in the shower, clip and scrub your nails and you're good to go - right?

Dust is just one (big) part of the stuff that you gotta deal with when making knives...

IMG_20171011_144144_401.jpg

You wouldn't believe how many ways there are to get dirty in a knife-making shop. And I don't mean dirty in a you-need-a-shower-dirty but in a holy-fu*#%-what-happened dirty.

Besides the usual blood, sweat & tears there's oil, burning oil, 5-minute glue, crazy glue, 24 hours two-tone epoxy, scale, lava-like dripping flux, flying red-hot scale, sparks, cold water, hot water, WD40, mechanic oil, layout fluid, permanent markers...

Not to mention ceramic belts rotating at down-to-the-bones-grinding speed, red-hot steel, sharp edges, knives, broken drill bits, grinding discs, cutting disc, saws of every kind, stuck drill bits helicoptering steel...

IMG_20171105_194725.jpg

Oh, I've forgotten acids, dyes, paints, finish oils, polishing compounds ...

Every fu*$#ing thing looking to make you look like you had some horrible accident

And it's not only cosmetics, there are real health hazards - fumes, fricking gas forge going up to 1000C, exotic wood dust...

For the first couple of months, I was kinda emberrisedwhen people at work saw my busted up hands.

And then, it hit me you know what? I fu?*#ing earned every mark on me while doing what I love so...

14563468_10209297074796632_5047783296935028159_n.jpg

Knifemaking is the best hobby in the world! I wouldn't change it for well-groomed nails if they come with a million $!

Not only that, I've started to look at others hands to see how they look like. And I feel like I'm in the Fight Club when I see hands that look like mine used to do.

So, yeah, if you don't want you hands, and face, and legs, and... to look like you actually use them don't start making knives.

Me? I'm gonna keep it going for as long as my body lets me and then some.

And I don't care what anyone thinks, because I'm having a blast and I'm happy as a kid in a kandy store.

major tom.jpg

Sort:  

Knife making can be dangerous, I nicked my finger with a flap wheel the other day, gotta watch out for those grinder fines and formaldehyde vapor from your abrasives.
Definitely wear a respirator.

Knifemaking is dangerous, but you can't expect to have fun if no risk is involved ;)

Ha yes! The wounds are a part of the process. I've left blood on textile projects I've made for myself as a little reminder of the making process I went through. My Jeweller injuries are generally slashed fingers and stabbing myself under the nail bed with bits of wire!

I don't mind the cuts so much, albeit jamming something under your nail is no fun at all.
It's the burns that hurt the most and the longest.

The scars, on the other hand, do make great conversation starters :)

You got a 39.12% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @docsmith! Earn 90% daily earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale.

Resteemed to over 15000 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollars and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

@resteem.bot

We are happy to be part of the APPICS bounty program.
APPICS is a new social community based on Steem.
The presale was sold in 26 minutes. The ICO will start soon.
Read here more: https://steemit.com/steemit/@resteem.bot/what-is-appics

@resteem.bot

very bad for you follow now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97