A Picker At Heart - Using This Discarded Old Wooden Ladder in This Log Cabin Bathroom!

in #life7 years ago

He found it in the trash!

Our friend, Todd, is a junkin' expert! He can dumpster dive and do the curb side digging like nobody I know. Sometimes we get bit of treasure just because he thinks we are pretty neat. Check out this old wooden ladder that was broken and discarded. Oh, it will live a happy life in this log cabin bathroom!

That is a quote from my own Instagram account post.

9.jpg

My wife loves having Todd and Candace as friends. They are so creative and resourceful. We love getting ideas from them since they have a style that we truly appreciate. You can see their front and back yard garden space in my videos in my "Other Farms and Gardens" playlist on YouTube.

Todd is always keeping a sharp eye on those piles by the curb for treasures like this ladder and we are glad that is does! Thanks Todd for our new towel rack for the bathroom!

Do you go Junkin'?

What is your favorite find? Can you post a picture and a story in the comments? I'd love to share in your junkin' journey :)


My 5 Most Recent Posts

*for your upvoting pleasure*

ImageTitle Link
daddykirbs blogSmall Town Police Militarized?
daddykirbs blogSomething You Did NOT Know About Me - Surprise Number 1
daddykirbs blogThe Best YouTube VLOGGING Camera? - Stepping up my game
daddykirbs blogPlease Welcome My Helper, My Friend - She Has So Much To OFFER!
daddykirbs blogCan Bees Sting Through Nitrile Gloves? - Beekeeping Adventures!


Steemit-Homesteaders-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Gardeners-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Beekeepers-Daddykirbs-300.pngsteemit-dads-daddykirbs-small.png

Get your Steemit Homesteading badge here !
Get your Steemit Gardening badge here !
Get your Steemit Beekeeping badge here


Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Sort:  

Those are pretty towels hanging on your towel rack, what a great item that towel rack is.
We've just started reclaim shopping, picked up some great things that just needed a good wipe, they were as good as new that were made from pine.
Finding things that need a lot of work might be past us, but we keep looking for a project to start

Start small, but always keep your eyes open for those hidden treasures. There are so many useful items being discarded every day.

Thank you for that great tip, will try to start small.

One mans junk IS anothers treasure! We as humans limit our self when it comes to the treasures and what we can do with them...

That is a beautiful piece of furniture now! Once something of simple utility - now a focal point AND still a functional piece of furniture. Well done!

I love OPJ (other people's junk)! When my wife and I lived in a townhouse community for 5 years - I salvaged 7 or 8 bicycles in that span. I took them to my parent's house and my Dad would repair them (many times for under $10). Then, we spread them around the neighborhood to the kids who might've outgrown their bike or didn't have one.

It is amazing what people will throw away, rather than spend a few minutes to repair. The logic is astounding. These same people that toss a perfectly good bike with a flat tire to save the 15 minutes - end up working hours to cover the cost of a new bicycle.

But as Oscar Wilde said:
()

Had to dig up a photo, but here are pallets from a solar panel install - I asked the installers driving by if I could have them as they were tossing them in the truck. They were just going to trash them. They were happy to give them to me because it was less work for them. I disassembled the pallets to build a wind shelter and shade area for my tomato plants earlier this spring. It worked great to harden off a few hundred tomato plants! Cost me a handful of screws and some time. Plants are in the ground, I back the screws out and reuse it all for another project. "Junk" is all in the eye of the beholder, as is beauty and value. Great post @daddykirbs
()

It takes a very special eye to see the utility in someone else's cast off's.
This is a great use of an old ladder.
My son came home last week with a barbecue pit he found at the local dump.
It works fine. It's amazing what people throw away.
Upvoted and resteemed.

That would cost $400 through HGTV's shop (assuming they had one).

I love repurposing things!!

I have a similar one in my living room, instead of towels it is holding blankets of different sizes. A friend had it sitting outside, so he brought it over and I washed it, cut a few rows off(they were too rotten to save) and then sanded down the rough edges

In my blog you see tons of pics of my home, about 95% is old treasures that are new to me. Curbsides, estate sales, flea markets and what not. I'll take your used stuff, paint it and call it my own lol

Lovely day to you!

Ooooooo I love it! Does it widen at the bottom? I would love one like it! YES I love Junkin' It helps a lot that I work in an antique auction barn. :p I come across all kinds of interesting pieces. I love getting creative and re-purposing old junk. I'll have to find some photos! :D Thanks for sharing.

Very nice idea as a towel holder! I love to find things as well lol-found a solid oak table which was a part of an old lady bedroom dresser set..it is real heavy and is my new livingroom table now :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69718.72
ETH 3746.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81