Startup Blabber #018: Open-Minded Attitude

in #life6 years ago

Dear Steemians,

The next book I have been tackling for the past few days is Ray Dalio's Principles: Life and Work. For those who are not aware of Ray Dalio, I have provided a Wikipedia link to his biography. He is the founder of Bridgewater Associates, which is one of the largest hedge funds in the world. He must have done something right to go from 0 dollars under management to over 150 billion dollars under management.

As many might have already guessed, I like to read a lot about successful entrepreneurs. I honestly believe that success is attributed to 90% luck and 10% work, with the caveat that without the 10% work, there would be no luck. When I read about successful entrepreneurs, it really gets me thinking about methods that I myself can apply to myself, to my family, or to my company.

One of the big takeaways that I have always struggled with is being very open-minded. It is human nature to be very defensive in your thoughts. If someone critiques you or your opinion, you are prone to take a defensive stance. As such, in order to minimize defensiveness and to maximize open-mindedness, Ray advises structuring the dialogue with questions rather than statements. Also, he advises to take the next steps, which I quote directly from his book, for structuring meetings.

  1. Put our honest thoughts out on the table,
  2. Have thoughtful disagreements in which people are willing to shift their opinions as they learn, and
  3. Have agreed-upon ways of deciding (e.g., voting, having clear authorities) if disagreements remain so that we can move beyond them without resentments.

The good thing is that this issue relates to both your personal life as well as business. To be frank, much of the book (so far) is pretty idealistic. I'm sure that there was a lot of information that was scrapped for the sake of the story, but it really does put into perspective the principles that Ray tries to live by. I also have this flaw, where I don't like being critiqued very often, but as I gain more and more experience, I think this issue has gotten a lot better, and as a result, people are just much more open with me. I mean who really likes having people say that you are wrong?

What I have learned over the years is that if you really trust/respect the counter-party, that critique is not a judgment on your character, but on your one-off decision. Heck, that critique might be off, but it will get you to think about the issue a bit further. If you are able to differentiate between the two (critique on character and critique in a one-off decision), then you are on a road towards self-improvement. You ultimately learn the quickest via your mistakes, right?

What are your thoughts?

Have a great day!
Chris


Latest Index File

Sort:  

Hello Chris, I do a lot of reading much like yourself. I'm currently working on a few books, one is "The Neuropsychology of Self-Discipline", I know, exciting stuff!

I write because I was just thinking about being open-minded. In fact I wrote a small article on it. https://steemit.com/life/@mikeonfire/how-do-we-maintain-a-open-mind

I wrote it as a question... and now here is, an answer! Thanks! I appreciate your writing.

I've taken note of people's apprehension in being able to remain open minded. The defensive tactics people seem to have been conditioned to jump to. I believe people want open mindedness but don't take the time to practice what they preach and get that valuable experience necessary to overcome defensiveness.

Hey Mike,

Thanks for your response. I read your article. Thanks for sharing!

I think you are spot on. Being open-minded is a skillset that most people desire, yet like you said, for most people, it takes a lot of practice making yourself more vulnerable (at least that's how you would feel personally), which is really hard to do. I've been trying to be more open-minded over the past few years, and it's still a struggle for me, but I do believe I am moving in the right direction.

Thanks for taking the time!

I feel the same as well. It takes effort and time. I'll keep up the struggle as well.

This is a good one!

Thanks for the compliments @barberocaico!

Oh I will have to check that one out. I did see this article today if you were interested.

https://www.cnbc.com/2018/10/23/ray-dalio-ask-yourself-this-question-before-taking-on-debt.html

Good and to the point, thanks!

Congratulations @csy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!


Congratulations @csy!
You raised your level and are now a Dolphin!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard notifications improved

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65811.20
ETH 3178.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54