How do we maintain a "Open Mind"?

in #life6 years ago

Namaste.

"Minds are like parachutes. They work better when they are open."

“The more one learns, the more one realizes how little they know.”

“Old habits die hard.”

“There exist limitless opportunities in every industry. Where there is an open mind, there will always be a frontier.” ~Charles Kettering

I hear so many people describe themselves as “open minded” that are so far from it, that it makes me wonder...

Is it really that hard to remain skeptical of what we know to be true?

Humans seem to have a real weakness when it comes to knowing things. They will essentially put their life on the line for something they believe to be true with so little real evidence. Whether it be religion, politics, science, or the million other things people are so sure they know, when, one actually looks into it, the case is far from shut.

My advice… remain skeptical.

In my eyes it simply means even more opportunity is out there..

Enjoy your day!

I strive to be a Peacemaker, an Entrepreneur and a Ambassador for Great Ideas (ie a Problem solver). I also wish to be a Artist, a Mentor and an Ethicist one day. At times I struggle to communicate the passions I have but I endeavor to do so meaningfully from my heart to others. All as I enjoy my life as a never-ending vacation in a place I adore. I care about what I do, I care about the people I do it with and I leave the rest to fall into place. ~ MikeonFire

Sort:  

If we are skeptical we are at least not blind to a possibility. People that are closed minded are not skeptical. They are simply not open to any opinions other than their own. Those that are skeptics are open to a new idea but they are going to do a lot of research before they publically endorse it.

I think just about everyone wants someone who will take the time to listen to their ideas and give them consideration. However, most of us have also been conditioned to want them to agree with us without question as a test of "friendship". It's the mental paralysis of modern day living otherwise known as cognitive dissonance. But instead of resolving the conflict within their own head, they hold onto it and project the cause of the pain onto others.

Of course, I'm still wiling to listen to other theories.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46