My Simple Counter-Political Voting Algorithm

in #life6 years ago (edited)

"To compel a man to furnish funds for the propagation of ideas he disbelieves and abhors is sinful and tyrannical."
- Thomas Jefferson -


al·go·rithm

/ˈalɡəˌriT͟Həm/

a process or set of rules to be followed in calculations or other problem-solving operations...


Do You Vote?

Once more in the U.S. we are on the threshold of elections.

I had voted for most of my life. Then, becoming completely disillusioned with human government, there was a short period during which I abandoned voting.

I am back to limited voting now...

but only in specific, purposeful cases.

However, I suspect not many on either side of the "vote/don't vote" debate will agree with my algorithms. I'm explaining my rationale here, in writing, for the very first time. I want to hear your opinion of how I vote and don't vote.

Do You Vote? ~ Image courtesy of Clker-Free-Vector-Images

To vote or not to vote?

That is perhaps too simplistic a question.

Pure anarchists may disagree with my current "partial vote" position. Statists will surely disagree about the things I don't vote for, and likely those I do vote for.

I'm open and susceptible to logical argument from any angle, and so please leave your opinions in the comments below.

Vote = Elect = Choose ~ Image courtesy of Gerd Altmann

Here is my simple approach to voting.

I'll begin with a bulleted list, and offer further explanation if needed below.

  • I do not vote for "rulers."
  • I vote against all taxes.
  • I vote against all increases in state power.

There may be a few corollaries of those three rules:

  • I vote for all tax repeal initiatives.
  • I vote against all bond issues.
  • I vote for all reductions in state power.

I vote against all taxes. ~ Image courtesy of Thomas Breher

Why vote against bond issues?

Pretty simple.

A bond issue borrows money from "investors" who then must be repaid, with interest, out of future taxes.

What do I mean by "rulers?"

I believe there is only one legitimate source of power in the universe, namely Jesus—who I believe to be the Creator/God of all things and all people.

"And Jesus came and said to them, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me."-ref

As a consequence, I do not believe that any human being can claim a right to rule—by force and coercion—another human being. I see one very limited exception, the use of appropriate force within a nuclear family for the temporary purpose of training and upbringing children to a state of of individual competence.

Don't pretend you have the right to rule me.

You don't. I deny it. I will resist any attempt on your part to do so. The only legitimate application of force and violence in the world is in defense of life, liberty, and property.

Do you have a voting algorithm?

I would like to hear how and why you vote in the comments below. Or, if you don't vote, why not.


~FIN~


Note: If you're reading this after the payout window has closed, it's easy to still reward it...
Just leave me a comment, and when I reply, vote for my comment... 😉


Note: If you're reading this after the payout window has closed,
you can still reward it: CLICK HERE.


P.S. If you have an "in" with anybody at Steemit, Inc. - Would you please ask them to get rid of these damn, extremely annoying "off-website" arrow/boxes? The have, overnight, made Steemit ugly. There are much better solutions.


For an extensive collection of stories,
please check out our Library Stories Shelf - CLICK below:


Table of Contents


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

This is a hard topic.

The entire election thing is rigged.
"If voting did anything, it would be illegal."

However, if you take one of Heinlein's maxims
"We found that people have the government they deserve"

Then it boils down to, voting is like praying.
Yes, you do not see any direct physical signs, but those prayers add up and change things.

You might even say that Chump is here because of all the people voting for "hopium and changium" in the previous elections.
No one today can say that Chump hasn't brought change.
The entire old paradigm is being turned on its head.

"The entire election thing is rigged."

Yes! I understand that.

However, not everything is rigged, or it would become too obvious and even the sheeple would recognize it.

Therefore, I essentially vote against things that I find abhorrent.

Thank you so much for your very cogent comments!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Obviously the politicians who turn away from God to serve others are not within the divine plan. The election is a formality of the men and the elected ones if they do well will be blessed. Your reflections are very interesting @creatr.

Thank you for your comments, Felix.

When a politician is elected, he believes that he wields a power to initiate force. In my best understanding, there is no legitimacy to initiating force. Examples are robbery called "taxation," and murder under various euphemisms like "abortion" and "war."

The last, "war," as I best understand things, is only legitimate in defense.

This is my friend @creatr, I fully agree with what you have defined that a true politician must be at the service of the people.

when you mentioned your special 'alorithms', my friend, I presumed dessert, but my dream deserted me and I was abandoned to 'the land of the little while' whilst you reviewed and corrected your typo that had me expecting a special revelation akin to the Delphic oracles. Alas, when I vote, I just vote - no algorithms or alorithms - just plain common sense, lol.

THANK YOU, my good friend John, for alerting me to this typo.

I hate typographical errors, perhaps as much or more than you do, and I greatly appreciate the reciprocity of you pointing out the errors in my publications.

THANK YOU, friend!

Corrected...

Sadly a fish rots first at the head. So too government. Power leads to greed and corruption. I do vote. Sometimes I wonder though. I am glad I did in 16. I agree with your post my friend @creatr,

I encourage you to stop voting for rulers.

Vote, at all times and in all circumstances, against government by humans.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

You are of course free to do just as you like in non-violence. This is beyond debate.

It is my position, however, that all voting is immoral at some level, regardless of the intended result.

Votes for tax cuts are usually bundled up with other stipulations that apply new state force or extortion to innocent victims somewhere else.

Legalization of cannabis results in regulations killing free markets, new licensing fees, and new offenses for which to lock whole new demographics of people in cages.

I do NOT JUDGE individuals just because they may vote locally on this or that.

If my son were in jail, and I could vote locally on some new legislation to free him, I would probably do it. However, things are rarely this simple, and the new legislation setting him free would likely have strings attached to violate others.

The whole machine is corrupt and literally evil.

Voting locally for this or that may chop some leaves off of the trees, but it can never ultimately eradicate the root of statism. It can only water it.

Thank you, my friend.

I knew you'd give me the straight shot.

I can promise that I'll think about what you've said, and probably revisit it more than once to be sure I've gotten it all!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57908.48
ETH 2913.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61