I Hosted a 5k and House Show Entitled 'Bands on the Run' and it was Glorious!

in #life6 years ago

Back in November, my housemates and I pulled off one of the best house parties I've ever hosted


I had started to run in August of 2017, steadily increasing the distance I was running. My roommate Adam is also a runner, so we would occasionally go on runs together around our neighborhood.

On one of these runs, we discussed how fun it would be to host our own 5k race with friends. We also discussed how awesome it would be to combine a 5k with a house show featuring live music. And thus, the idea for 'Bands on the Run' was born!

Combining fitness within a party setting made for a unique event, unlike anything I've been a part of. I'll be honest: I love to party and let loose with friends, as a shared celebration is one of the most exhilarating and joyful experiences you can have.

The idea of starting a party off with some intense exercise is foreign to many people, but I found it to be an incredible way to kick off the day's festivities. While I like to drink less as the years go on, I still enjoy a bit of alcohol here and there, especially when in the company of others. This makes the value of working up a sweat and releasing toxins prior to partaking in booze that much more palpable.

The event lasted for 14 hours


The race started around noon, and we had a total of 11 runners for the event. I had spent the previous few weeks scouting out our route, and found a nice loop through the Sanderson gulch trail and then around Garfield Lake before heading back to our house. We marked up the path with chalk, though one runner got lost and I had to chase her down.

The concert took place in our garage, which we made a make-shift backdrop for using dollar store table cloths. After we had hung up the purple backdrop, I came up with the name 'Lavender Lounge', which my fiance and friend painted a backdrop for. We also utilized painted arrows that an artist had left in our garage.

We had 5 artists play in total, ranging from folk songwriters to indie post-hardcore bands. The mix worked really well, as the lineup flowed naturally into each successive act.


My fiance Karley even threw some pottery during the festivities. For future events we would like to incorporate more live painting and art creation as a companion to the live music.

Dogs were welcome!

The event went off without a hitch. The weather was perfect for an early November day. Our neighbors even came by to watch some of the live music and nobody complained about the noise. A great deal of fun was had by all who came.

Bands on the Run was such a huge success that it inspired me to pursue event production more seriously. I booked a showcase show featuring one of the acts (Disinherited) from the first Lavender Lounge show at a professional music venue in town. For anyone in the Denver area, this event takes place March 29th at Syntax Physic Opera on south Broadway.

I intend to host more Lavender Lounge shows in the future once the weather allows for it, and will attempt to have more fitness and fun themed events. I am also encouraging all of the musicians I know (as well as attendees) to get on Steemit in an effort to further support each other's artistic pursuits.

Be on the lookout for the Estival Hub (our network of artists and producers) on Steemit, which I will use to promote future events and post pictures and videos from past events.


If you received value from this post, please upvote and resteem. I reward all intelligent comments with my full upvote :)


My Latest Posts

Classic Hits

Sort:  

Hahah man that sounds fun looks like you had a great time.

Wow the pictures are so self explanatory and the way you described events is👌. Looks it was a great fun for all who attended👏 Waiting for more exciting posts from you

That looks awesome!!!

As a runner and a musician I would be like a pig in.....


Add dsound & Musicoin tracks and get more plays!


Follow @JuxtaMusic for More Of My Music

wow that is really amazing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34