Leaving a Job You Hate: Just Do it Already!

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Most people have had at least one job that they've despised.


Shitty jobs are everywhere, in every field and career. You may love what you do, but if your organization or work environment is toxic and dysfunctional, it will inevitably override your personal job satisfaction.

In the past year, I left two jobs in the mental health field due to overall dissatisfaction and unhappiness. This was not the result of stress from dealing with mentally ill clients. Instead, it was the result of dealing with an inept bureaucracy, organizational incompetence, and dysfunctional and hostile work environments.

At the first job, I stayed around far longer than I probably should have. I knew that the situation was untenable, but I wasn't willing to take the plunge into the unknown. I worked three 12 hour shifts Monday thru Wednesday, which was an absolute dream schedule. Four days off a week? Hell yes!

But this schedule led to a sense of complacency that kept me around longer than I should have. Eventually, the work environment became so toxic that I began applying for other jobs. I landed a job with another mental health facility, and although the schedule was less than ideal, I decided to take the position.

From a firepit to a deep freezer.


Choosing to switch facilities and agencies was a move I needed to make. But unfortunately, this new job also was highly unrewarding and probably the dullest position I've ever held in my life.

There were barely any clients, no schedule, almost no coworkers, and very little to do. I was essentially there in case a client was having an emergency, which would happen on occasion. For the most part, I was bored out of my mind.

At this point, reality set in. I really had no idea what I was going to do with the rest of my life, but I certainly knew that I didn't want to be there. The thought of quitting another job within the span of a few months produced a great degree of anxiety, as I worried about how it would appear to friends and family.

I didn't know where I was going, but I knew I couldn't stay there


The advent of Uber, Lyft, and the gig economy has given an added cushion for those who are thinking about quitting their job but don't have another position lined up. If you've got a car that qualifies and you're fine driving strangers around, it's a great stopgap while you figure out your next step.

Having a decent amount of savings and a willingness to drive for Lyft in the meantime, I resigned from my position at the mental health facility. I decided to face any criticism from friends and family and did so with the knowledge that I would find my path.

While still employed, I had begun searching for others who had quit their job to do rideshare and stumbled upon this article on steemit. The poster had made over $300 from the post, which immediately made me sign up and begin blogging.

Prior to working in mental health, I was in journalism and enjoyed the act of telling a story and creating something that would be consumed by others. With the direct incentive of potentially getting paid by my content, I was more motivated than ever to get back into writing.

Zero regrets


There are plenty of reasons why someone stays at a job they hate, even as their position slowly eats away at their soul, draining their lifeforce until their day-to-day existence becomes a cynical and depressing reality. Debt, bills, and family obligations are the traps that keep us from taking the plunge into the unknown.

'Security' in the form of a steady paycheck restrains our ability to engage our true passions. The worst scenario to be in is often one where you make a lot of money but are completely miserable. It's easy to assume that a larger paycheck will equate to increased freedom and happiness, but often the opposite is true.

Larger paychecks can make it even less likely that you'll take a chance in your life. Even the most freedom-loving individuals among us would have a hard time turning down a $1 million salary, no matter how miserable the position would make us in the short-term.

If you hate your job and your pay is mediocre, I believe you are actually in a better position to move towards what truly inspires you because you have much less to lose.

Take the plunge!


If you are feeling uninspired, drained, or miserable at your current job, find the quickest way to exit and walk out the door. If you don't have sufficient savings, perhaps it might be worth building up a cushion prior to leaving. If you have family obligations, openly discuss what you are experiencing and explain that this is something you need for your mental health.

Having the support of loved ones is ideal, but you may find that you don't always receive positive feedback. Remind yourself of why you need to leave and begin heading towards what you really want and understand that you are the only one living your life.

Develop a plan for yourself to make money in between jobs/careers. I found rideshare to be adequate, but you may be less thrilled with the idea of driving people around for money. There are loads of other services available in the gig economy, such as delivering for Postmates, completing chores on task rabbit, babysitting or even dog walking. Earning consistent income on Steemit can take time, but it is also an option of supplementing your other streams of income.

Every situation is different, and what works for one person may not be the best course of action for someone else. But if you know your job situation is a dead end and will only make you progressively less happy, you owe it to yourself to leave.

Even if you don't have a clue about your next step, leaving your current job will force you to figure it out. Uncertainty can be terrifying, but facing the unknown is sometimes the only way to find out who you are and what you want from life.


All uncredited pictures from pixabay.com or my personal account

If you received value from this post, please upvote and resteem. I reward all intelligent comments with my full upvote :)


My Latest Posts

Classic Hits

Sort:  

entrepreneurs.jpeg

You know it bud ;)

Totally agree👍 I believe we shud do what we luv doing and only then we can be doing it happily 😊

Indeed, it's not the easiest road, but it's worth the haul.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39