$$$ 10 SBD GIVE-A-WAY !!!!! / THE PATIENT CAB-DRIVERsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I'm giving away $10 SBDs, if you can convince me why I should give it to you, and not somebody else (But, you must go to the original contest to make your entry comment.):
https://steemit.com/contest/@bi5h0p/here-have-10-steem-backed-dollars

A week ago, I left my job (pumping gas) for a new job (cab-driver). I didn't even apply for it or try to get hired - I was recommend to the owner of the cab company by her own drivers, who got to know me. When the owner of the cab company needed a new driver, she came and recruited me, based on her other drivers' recomendations. I am glad that I took the offer, because nobody wants to be outside, running around in the summer heat, pumping gas.

They have this saying in the cab business: "If you're not rolling, you're not making money." It can be a pressured atmoshphere, at times, but that's the case with any job.

On my second day, I got stuck in the worst traffic-jam of my life, to this point, on the way into Boise, ID. They were resurfacing the freeway, and had it closed down into one lane going both ways. It took me about an hour to go 8 miles. There was no off-ramp for a while, and getting off the freeway was no better: there was road-construction going on EVERYWHERE. There was no alternate route available where there wasn't some major road project going on. Traffic was insane. What can you do? Just take a deep breath.

taxi-driver.jpg
(curtesy of Columbia Pictures, a division of Sony Pictures: http://www.sonypictures.com)

You can only do what you can do, and sometimes a 1-hour trip gets turned into a 2-hour & 15 minute trip by circumstances beyond your control. My passenger was angry because they missed their flight on United Airlines - they sold her ticket, even though she was there 1/2-hour before her flight left. They said she had to check-in 45 minutes early. Not my fault, so I didn't sweat it too much - even though I did not like the situation. Overall, what should have been a 2 hour trip ended up being 4 hours. The fact that it was about 105 degrees F didn't help the situation, either. Again, take a deep breath.

In my new job I will have to be reminding myself, several times a day, that patience is a good virtue - and I'm sure I'll be doing a whole lot of deep-breathing exercises. If you have any tips or tricks for stress reduction - given my new line of work - I would be most appreciative.

Steem On!

Let the Cloud mine cryptos for you while you sleep. Start for free, log-on every day for a free reward: https://www.eobot.com/user/764331

Sort:  

Nice Idea

This Post have been Manually Curated / Upvoted.
Thanks for using #whalepower Tag ,
Please share Our #whalepower Tag with the community . Upvote , Follow, Reblogged Us , when ever you can.
This message comes-up when #whalepower Tag in use.
#whalepower is community project
Curated By @paul-gillbanks for #whalepower Tag
Founder @bullionstackers
Latest Blog – Please Click to Read

I'm a First Nations person stuck in a legal dispute with my band office, who's actually using my money to pay for their lawyers to go after me in court.
They also fired and are suing my mother.
All this because we found out they stole over a million dollars from social Assitance and other programs and we reported it to police.

I'm using Steemit to pay for lawyers and buy food.

Did that workinto the rules? If it crossed the line into sorrow I should point out I also have drawing skills.

And I posted that on the wrong post.

Sorry.

No worries. Good luck with your legal issues. DEEP BREATH!

Chill out, you dont have to hurry... customers do but you dont :D

Because I plan to never give up , no matter what the battle or struggle . I came to steemit as my last hope , my last chance . I haven't been able to get a job and struggle with financial issues until I heard about steemit . The beginning of Steemit was rough , but I still never gave up and continued to post everyday even if the posts made few cents , I interacted a lot in the community because everyone here is family to me . I was recently recognized by OCD and Steem Pearls for my post on Arrange Marriage . That was just the beginning of my journey. In 2 days I'll be here exactly for one month , and have made a good impression of my steem family, it would be an honor to win.

I am starting a project for the minnows and I would love to be awarded this prize.

I am a steemit promoter from the third world, I find it difficult to convince people to join, because I have nothing to withdraw and show them as a proof that it pays to chat on steemit, to me $10 is a huge money.

Thanks.

You need to follow the link to the original post and comment over there, okay? Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57914.43
ETH 2289.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47