How Burning Out From Work Helps You Set Life Goals

in #life5 years ago (edited)

22500349.jpg

If you search 'burnout' on Google, you'll see how there is just an ocean of articles talking about how burnout is bad for you, how it's affecting your health, and how to deal with it.

That's all true and useful, but what people don't talk about nearly enough is how burnout can actually help you set important life and career goals for yourself.

Burnout isn't just "tired and stressed out." It's when you feel like wanting to quit, but can't because of certain strings attached, perhaps burden of responsibility for your family.

It's a moral dilemma a lot of people face; whether to stay in the job you hate for financial security of yourself and your family, or risk it and pursue your dream and somehow make it work.

Most people still seem to choose the first option and just live with it because they don't want to put their family is any kind of risk, even if it means they have to sacrifice what they wanted to become.


Burnout As A Sign


But what's important to understand is that burnout isn't something that is supposed to happen constantly. You can very well get tired of working on something even if you are passionate about it, but if it keeps happening over and over without any feeling of accomplishment, is it really worth it?

Burnout, if you look at it this way, is a sign that you aren't listening to yourself. Neither your mind, nor your body. I felt the same way in my first job, and that's why I quit.

Related: THEY HIRED ME! - Sharing My First Day Experience At My First Job

I was working till 9 pm and I used to get so incredibly exhausted that all I wanted to do after getting home was just lie on the bed and not get up. Still, I worked on my blog instead till 1 am in the morning without giving my body the rest it needed.

The consequence? Extreme anxiety and feelings of hopelessness. Even if I'm only 18, I felt as if I'll be stuck in this job forever. But after a month, I knew what I had to do, and so I did.

Related: What I Learned About Life And Marketing Yourself From My First Job

My decision to leave that job (and find a better one right after) was because of the burnout I felt, not because of the amount of money I made or the influence of the people that I worked with.


Is Burnout Necessary?


I understand that a decision like this is easier for me because I don't really have the responsibilities other older folks do. But what my experience with it taught me is that burnout is actually a necessity.

Why? Because it forces you to zoom out and take a look at the life you've created for yourself. It's the moment when you go "Oh god, what have I gotten myself into," and start to rethink your choices.

This is exactly the moment where you will either start to make your life better by making new decisions, or try and make peace with however things are going. I'm not really a fan of option two. I don't know how to pretend to be happy in a place that I'm not.

I understand that sometimes your options are just not clear and very limited, but in the end, it's in your hands what you want to do with your life. Your burnouts should be meaningful, not something you face every Monday.

Look, I know how it feels to want to give yourself a burnout. Surprisingly, it makes you feel like you have a purpose. But if we're gonna burnout over something, shouldn't it be for something that we love, rather than need?

av4tt0mlsg.png

Continue reading:



Capture.PNG

Follow Me: @ayushjalan

Sort:  

Working in any Pvt companies you will get same feeling.....still I feel 18 years is too young to do job....anyhow hope you get good experience to make a better tomorrow.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think it depends on what and how far you're willing to tolerate. As far as my current job goes, I'm really happy with it. It's significantly better than my first job.

And yeah, I know 18 might be too early to start. I'm literally the youngest in my workplace, while all my coworkers are around 30.

But I think it is still the right decision for me. I feel good about it. If I ever feel like I'm not getting the worth out of my effort, I know what to do. Thanks for your wishes tho :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @ayushjalan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 150 posts. Your next target is to reach 200 posts.
You received more than 1000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 2000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You got a 25.33% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @ayushjalan! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57889.17
ETH 3155.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42