How To Appear More Qualified For A Job Without Having Much Experience

in #life5 years ago

191832963.jpg

When first starting out as a fresher, it can be quite easy to fall into the misconception that your experience is all what matters when applying for a job position, but that is far away from the truth.

Experience sure does matter, but there are a whole bunch of other things that matter just as much to make you appear and sound more right for the job.

In my case, one of the ways I try to convince the interviewer (which is usually the CEO itself) that I'm worth it is by simply telling them that I believe in long-term and that I want to "grow with the company."

This is a very subtle but effective technique that you can use, especially in the case of small firms, because it makes the interviewer feel like you are going to stay loyal to the company, which is what they usually look for.

But it's important to know that how you say that phrase matters way more than just simply saying it. You have to show that you are excited and willing. Whether or not you actually stay loyal, however, is a whole different story depending upon several different factors.

Some subtle body movements too can really help get the intent across in a convincing manner without being too up-front about it, some of which we are going to discuss right now.


Eye Contact


This is something that I... well I didn't suck at it but I wasn't that great either when I first started giving interviews and I'm still leaning how to perfect it.

Not making eye contact (and making too much eye contact) is one of the sure-fire ways to not make a good first impression and broadening the chances of letting your resume rest in the drawer forever.

In the last interview that I gave about less than a week ago, I didn't realize that I wasn't making eye contact at all until after the first minute or so. I immediately gave my interviewer the death stare became conscious of it and tried to be more involved in the conversation.

But the good news is, it's not that hard to learn this skill. You can just practice it by performing it in the front of a mirror or with your friends if they are up to help you.


Command Over Speech


The amount of control you have over your voice can make a huge difference. For freshers, giving an interview is scary, I know, and that's why they usually hesitate to say some things or end up saying or replying too fast to the point where it becomes obvious that they are nervous.

This isn't a bad thing per se, but it might make the interviewer think that you are not ready for the job yet. I know people usually advice you to practice deep-breathing and what not, but what I personally recommend doing, is just simply asking for time to think if you need it.

Literally all that you have to say is, "Can you give me a minute to think about it?" or something like, "Do you mind if I take a minute to think about it?" It really is that easy. You don't need to overthink that it will make a bad impression. You are a human being too, after all.


Soft Skills


I saved the best one for last. In my current job, I once screwed up by not being able to talk properly with a client and apparently coming off as rude even if I didn't intent to, for which, my boss wanted to "have a word with me."

I'm not gonna sugarcoat anything. Yeah, he was pretty mad at me, but what he taught me later on is something that's now gonna stick with me in my working life.

He taught me how in the corporate world, soft skills are what gets you the clients and how you make new connections. You have to make the other person feel respected to fulfill their esteem needs.

Even a normal conversation to clear doubts can soon turn into a heated argument if you are not careful, especially with clients that have no patience. You have to teach yourself how to talk with people in a way that they feel paid attention to.

Soon after he taught me that, I was able to hold long conversations with clients without getting worried or frustrated. This whole incident taught me how important it is to speak softly when you want to get the right message across.

av4tt0mlsg.png

Related articles:

Continue reading:



Capture.PNG

Follow Me: @ayushjalan

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ayushjalan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Upvoted!

It is important how you communicate and not what communicate.

Remember it’s 93% non-verbal communication in a conversation.

True, although I'm not sure about the exact percentage of how much non verbal communication matters. I think it depends on the situation and mostly on the person too.

You got a 9.08% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @ayushjalan! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 30 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61841.74
ETH 3420.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47