Steem App - Dev Week 6

in #letseat6 years ago (edited)

Join me on my journey to bring Steem/it to the masses.

This series will take readers through the process of developing an app for Steem/it from beginning to end. The process takes longer than you may think. I will highlight along the way the ups, the downs and any lessons I learn from the process. Comments and suggestions are welcome.

Two great pieces of news this week

  • I used the app to post a review. It needs a lot of formatting work but I can see the app coming together. The vision is becoming a reality.
  • I was at my friends house and we were looking for a place to get some food after spending the day assembling IKEA furniture. I used the app to search for a place to eat. It Works!!!!!!

Google Maps...

This week we have gotten the functionality for the maps sorted and it is now working nicely. You can find nearby places and select your current location. The app will pre-populate some fields to help make posting reviews a piece of cake.

We are going with the Google API over Yelp as it seems to have more places.

SteemConnect ...

The app will be using SteemConnect V2 to provide authentication. The app dev team have been working on this this week but it's not implemented yet.
Steemconnect seems to be a bit of moveable feast still so it is not straightforward to implement. It is also a little light on documentation and contact details at the moment which makes implementation harder. It would be great if there was an email or dedicated discord server/channel for this.

There are 4 weeks of dev time left but the app is still on track. This coming week I hope to get the formatting for posts nailed then the main functionality for posting will all be sorted out and I should be able to give some examples of posts in the next update.

Have a great week!

Previous Updates



Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency and Travel.

Stock image: pixabay.com

Sort:  

There is a dedicated Discord server for Steemconnect. I don't remember details but you'll find it if you ask around.

Thats good to know, I have asked around but no responses and searched for it but I couldn't find any.

I think I have gotten sorted what I needed but I hope someone posts a link here for reference.

Thanks

Not sure if this is what you're looking for.

SteemConnect is inside busy's discord channel. Here's an invite: https://discordapp.com/invite/fuuGNJS

I think this is the link you're looking for?
https://steemit.com/steemconnect/@noisy/how-to-configure-steemconnect-v2-and-use-it-with-your-application-how-it-works-and-how-it-is-different-from-v1

I never thought to look inside the busy server thanks @eastmael.

Fantastic, thanks Eoin

I want to give a little reference to my friend.
https://discord.gg/G95rNZs

Looking at the current scenario, when the Death Squad is after the Crypto like hell. Google and Facebook had already banned the crypto related Ads. This App would be a breather for the Crypto lovers. What a brilliant idea of bringing the masses into action. Best wishes to you @eroche and look forward to your venture to be finished ASAP.

Thank you so much for the encouragement. Part of the motivation for this was my last big trip where i was forced to use existing non blockchain solutions while on holiday.

I wonder will Google restrict use of their APIs too? This app is currently being built using Google maps for browsing.

Thank you. That would be so sad if Google do so. God knows what is on their mind and why they creating hurdles for crypto lovers. They should rather facilitate us. I've heard about Yahoo taking Crypto positively, if so, that would be handy. 2018 being hell so far for the crypto. Let us hope it ends pretty soon.

You are a good source of info regarding new aspiring projects and apps on STEEM. I'm following, can't wait for the next posts! A shame it takes so long to implement and promote any given project.

Glad to hear your project is going well, @eroche :)

Nice sharing bro

You have shared some important facts about Astyme with us all. Your archaeologists say I have benefited greatly. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. We shared some important information with you. In fact all of us knew that we did not know that we learned to post some important post in your next post.

nices absoutly amazing.

Hopefully the developers are able to unite these two application for a new advancement and innovation.this becomes a new finding between google maps and steem connect

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61577.64
ETH 3448.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53