Steem App - Dev Week 5

in #letseat6 years ago

Join me on my journey to bring Steem/it to the masses.

This week I would love some feedback from Devs that have had experience getting apps registered on the play store.

*This series will take readers through the process of developing an app for Steem/it from beginning to end. The process takes longer than you may think. I will highlight along the way the ups, the downs and any lessons I learn from the process. Comments and suggestions are welcome. *

I am still getting regular development builds of the app but until now they have been mainly focused on the look and feel of the app.

Linking to the Blockchain...

I have just gotten off the phone with the Dev team, they have integrated the Steem API and the app is now actually posting to the Steem Blockchain so I will have a working app later today (hopefully)

Positive Feedback...

This week @jeffjagoe and his friend were visiting Ireland from the States and I showed him the app. It felt like I had read his mind, he runs a Restaurant Review Challenge and this app will be perfect for posting submissions. I look forward to collaborating in the future to get more people posting on the Steem Blockchain.

Just a few gray hairs...

Google Play Store

The first version of this app will be android only. While talking to the Devs this morning they mentioned that before Christmas they had an issue with submitting an app to the play store because of a name similar to another one that already existed. Apparently the requirements and standards are a little vague and change from time to time and from reviewer to reviewer.

I had visited the play store and searched for companies and trade marks before designing the logo for Let's Eat but I am a little concerned now that it may be very similar to others that already exist.

Long term registering trademarks, patients and companies will help me establish a brand and identity for this App but we are not there yet.

Tips

I would appreciate any feedback from devs that have had experience going through the process of putting apps on the Play Store. I am registering some domain names to establish an identity but I would appreciate any other tips that may get me over the line on this.

Previous Updates



Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency and Travel.

Stock image: pixabay.com

Sort:  

Very excited for the launch! Everything looked exactly the way I envisioned. This should be huge!

One thing about Restaurant Reviews I have to point out, @eroche. I fell ill three years ago, and as a result, my lungs became very weak. I can't stand even one breath of air filled with cigarette smoke. For me, it is of utmost importance information if the restaurant has non-smokers section, and if that non-smokers section is really clean of cigarette smoke, since there are restaurants who label their section as a non-smokers, but it is really not… Thank you for your effort.

That is some great feedback. You would like Ireland, you can't smoke indoors in any public places now. All the smokers have to brave the elements if they want their fix.

That sounds like a dreamland to me, @eroche :)

I have heard of this problem with names of apps on the google play store. I would have a back up plan in case it is not approved. However you might also wish to consider the additional time if the app has to be re submitted

Awesome work, I know you love any food and culinary, That was Amazing idea to make an application about food, Oea have this steem connect to @eroche?

Oke if ready I would like to be a person promote this application in Indonesia :D

I can wait to try it.. As you know, Many Amazing food in Aceh and absolutely very tasty

Awesome, thnx for the hard work mate

WARNING! The comment below by @blockchainfiend leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

Hey. I return SBD% for voting my posts. Your voice has value - you know it. For example, for a post your voice costs $ 0.50. Minus 25% curatorial. The remaining amount is divided in half. One part goes to SBD. From these SBDs, you can determine which part to return to you, based on the cost of your voice. I return SBD users, you can see my translations.

Weldone mate

your good broder @eroche

When you copy/paste or repeatedly type the same comments you could be mistaken for a bot.

Tips to avoid being flagged

Thank You! ⚜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95