Updated: Your Reputation Could be a Tasty Snack with the Wrong Comment!

in #steemit-abuse7 years ago (edited)

It’s been exactly a year since this I posted: Steemit PSA: Your Reputation Could be a Tasty Snack with the Wrong Comment! by patrice

Much of it is still true today. While flags now have sliders that can be adjusted, it doesn’t always happen. Commenters who post generic comments on lots of posts can accumulate a lot of flags.

Within the last 30 days I’ve seen users in #steemitabuse asking why they were flagged for a comment they made.

Tips to avoid getting flagged:


  • As a general rule, don’t leave generic comments. You might genuinely mean the simple comment you left such as "Thank You", "Great Post", or "Thanks for the info," but some may not see it that way.
  • Don’t make comments that are obviously designed to promote your own posts especially when it is off topic. Asking someone to check out your post on kittens may sound like a good idea. The dog owner who posted about his beloved schnauzer may not agree!
  • Don’t “Post Hijack” with off topic comments. A schnauzer owner may be offended by your kitten meme’s or your comments about your favorite kitten.
  • Don't be a jerk. Someone who speaks uhh.. err writes like I do in posts might not like to have comments or responses that include vulgar language. Fellow curators may find it offensive as well, so think about whether a curse or epitaph is appropriate before you post!
  • There are just things in life you should never say or joke about. If you don't know what they are, I'm not going to enlighten you.
  • Don't change your comment to mean something totally different after it has been up-voted! Don't change "I love Steem" to I hate Steem" for example.
  • Don’t copy and paste the same comments repeatedly. If your comment history shows a pattern of the same comments, readers may mistake you for a bot.

Original Post: Steemit PSA: Your Reputation Could be a Tasty Snack with the Wrong Comment! by patrice

Sort:  

Don't set your damn bot, to warn me about asking a serial commentor if he means to upvote, when it's in my post's comment threads, how boud da? I don't appreciate it. I don't spam comments. I make every one relevant and helpful. I rarely share my own links in comments on anyone else's page, unless it's someone I work closely with. I'm one of the good guys.

I edited the comment. Seems you were reported for comment spamming by someone. Most likely someone that didn't bother to look at the context. The person that commented is relatively new and was confused by the comment tree. It's my fault. I've been busy today and not paying close attention.

Well, I appreciate your response, but it's nobody's business to report spam in my comment threads, except me. Can you take my posts off your list? If I'm acting up in someone else's thread,by all means, say something, but frankly, the idea of these stupid automated bot threats rubs me the wrong way. If you're going to be the self-appointed spam police, at least walk the beat.

Amen to that! To many unnecessary bots telling us how to comment? It's non of their business!

I follow the continuous comment making.

Thats sucks...hope they can fix the issue in the future

I haven't been flagged but I did send a few promotional post to get my art out there. But I realize now that this is probably the wrong way to do it. Thank you for the informative post ;)

It's not the problem.

I do like it when people make engaging comments on my post, however I think it would be tacky as hell to flag them for leaving a simple "good job" or something similar. I mean obvious spam yes but just being mean by flagging a lazy comment, no thank you.

Absolutely. It's better than most of the whales on this damn platform, that never comment on anything, unless it's a flag war.

Where are we doing wrong.

Spamming spam with spam.

Alright I was spammed, Because I was welcoming new people who were joining steemit with the same repeated comment, I accept my wrongdoing and ask spaminator to help me fix my reputation that went catastrophically down after a flag downvote from the account.

thanks for the post I did not know why my comments that had many votes and would generate some money were marked with the flag or spam, sometimes I left the traditional comment thank you very much for the information, although if it seemed strange to me that is the same comment with less votes were not marked as spam

lol makes it easy for me ..not here for the upvotes just to make a statement and not to concerned if anyone likes them lol ...
https://steemit.com/real/@thelifeofbrian/homeless-in-canada
There broke some rules posted a link to off topic lol..
please don't bother to upvote just read it if you like ....
Many people here are here for money to mine coin '''I have blogged on youtube for years for free .. only to be censored and we are talking about censorship here are we not ... Don't like censorship in any form ... if someone is being an idiot we can down vote embarrass them shun ridicule and in general point out how stupid they are and help to educate them but the conversation must be had to further their understanding .... but true some people have to be censoring due to deep mental concerns and issues lol
But love steemit as we are here talking about this and everything else.... would just hate to see it turn into youtube...censorship is a tricky thing .... even if it is self imposed by the oldest game in the book social acceptance .... a highly over rated thing lol

I'll take any advice I possibly can about reputation, since I still have no idea how it works or what it actually does and represent.

Reputation is given and taken away by votes. Positive votes from those with good rep increase your rep. Flags from people with a good rep decrease your rep. Rep is based on a log curve so it gets harder and harder to get each rep (or loose one if your that low). The base is rep 25 (a rep score of 0) Each rep is about 30% more than the previous rep so the amount needed is increased by 10x about every 9 rep. Getting to rep 30 is child's play. Rep 40 you won't even break a sweat. 50 takes a bit of work. 60 is a long road unless your famous or have some really great content that attracts lots of whales. 70 is just a dream for most. No one has hit 80 yet. Think the current highest is 78.

I started to comment recently, this post helps a lot not make stupid mistakes. Thanks for the info. Oh by the way, how can one check if have been flaged?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63152.69
ETH 3233.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45