Photo Series #41: Landscape Photography | Torres del Paine

in #landscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

Hello dear readers! How is your day? Entry to #landscapephotography and #mountainsmonday. Torres del Paine.


This is Torres del Paine National Park in Chile, one of the most amazing places I've visited in my life.

Torres del Paine is a national park encompassing mountains, glaciers, lakes, and rivers in southern Chilean Patagonia. The granite peaks seen in this picture are the Torres del Paine (Towers) and can go up to a height of 2.900 m.

The Torres del Paine National Park—an area of 2,400 km²—was declared a Biosphere Reserve by the UNESCO in 1978 and is a popular hiking destination. There are clearly marked and well maintained paths and many refugios which provide shelter and basic services. Hikers can opt for a day trip to see the towers, walk the popular "W" route in about five days, or trek the full circle in 8–9 days.

I went there in January, 2016 with the intent to hike to the Towers' base. Unfortunately, things didn't work as planned. After a day hiking the montains to get to the camp the weather had changed and it started raining with heavy winds. I was upset but, with permission from the rangers, I decided to do the last leg up, in the rain. It was when I was cooking my lunch that the rangers came to me to cancel all ascends on that trail. Sadly a girl had fallen badly and security was compromised.

The full story I plan to tell in a dedicated post, all I can say is that it was one hell of a journey xD.

Obs.: Some information presented were provided using Wikipedia.


Torres del Paine




#landscapephotography

Hope you all enjoyed and thanks to @photocontests and @naturecontest for hosting your amazing contest ideas, you are really encouraging me to look for my travel folders and bring the photos to public.

I'm Arthur. I blog about Brazil, Adventure Stories, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tunned for more info and tips.

10 LATEST RELATED POSTS:

Photo Series #31: Landscape Photography | Beagle Channel

Photo Series #32: Vehicle Photography | Indian

Photo Series #33: Macro Photography | Noise Maker

Photo Series #34: Golden Hour Photography | Peace and Fishing

Photo Series #35: Food Photography | Simple Homemade Bread + Recipe

Photo Series #36: Landscape Photography | Monument to a Careless Hiker | Reminder Message

Photo Series #37: Architectural Photography | Colonia del Sacramento Lighthouse (1857)

Photo Series #38: Macro Photography | Dandelion Effect

Photo Series #39: Golden Hour Photography | Closer to the Sun

Photo Series #40: Animal Photography | Stalking the Prey

Sort:  

For someone who loves mountains (and walls of rock) it is one of the most beautiful places on this planet .

It is indeed! All the Andes, those granite walls are just unimaginable.
Thanks for the comment @intrepidphotos

Beautiful. I love mountains - they often look as if they are made up, as if they are in a film! At least they sit still for photos too haha. Would love to hear about your adventure. I'm never a fan of climbing them because I can't see the point, much to my husband's annoyance, who wants to get to the top, and I'm like 'why, the view is fine from here, thanks very much'. I am glad I found you - I'm getting more and more inspired to go to South America.

Thank you for the comment @riverflow!
Everytime I climb a mountain I think "Oh my freaking god, what an stupid idea, all day walking" but once you are up there the view point completely changes. It definitely pays off the hard work.

Definately. I just need an eagle to transport me there!

hahahahaha, you know... in this region theres a bird called "Condor", they are huge and very difficult to see since they fly so high and hide on top of the mountains.
That made me think of the song "El Condor Pasa" by Simon and Garfunkel

Okay so now we have a soundtrack for my flight to the top of the mountain. What should I wear?.

Price is what you pay. Value is what you get.

Thanks for the comment @jehovahwitness!

Thank you @kieranstone! Your comment means a lot!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography

You have earned 5.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.07
Server time: 02:30:14
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 407.57/800.00
Total Photos: 45
Total comments: 48
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 1.11 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Nice picture! 👍
upvote-bild-fertig.gif
You got an upvote, so it would be kind to follow this account for more upvotes in the future 👊🏼

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60