#69 A Photo Journey: Exploring Aryapala Meditation Temple 🇲🇳 | 蒙古禅修图片之旅

in #killerpix6 years ago (edited)

Ter.jpg

What's up fellow Steemians! In this post I invite you to follow my photo journey to a Buddhist temple and meditation center in Mongolia. I took a couple of trains that summer from Moscow all the way to Ulaanbaatar. By taking separate legs of train 分段坐火车, I could get out and see the local places in Russia, instead of having to stay in one trans-Siberia train for a week(and no shower for 7 days in that case...aaah...).

The Aryapala/Aryabal Buddhist Center is nestled on a hill among scenic valleys in Gorkhi-Terelj National Park 位于蒙古首都特勒吉国家公园的佛寺和禅修中心, about 2 hours' drive from Ulaanbaatar. I explored this huge gorgeous park and spent one night in a typical Mongolian ger camp 蒙古包宿营 in the valley.

terejlp.jpg

In the head image here, you see a line of Buddhist prayer wheels 转经筒. These hollow metal cylinders come in different sizes: it can be a hand-held wheel carried by pilgrims (often seen in Tibet and Nepal) 朝圣者, or bigger ones set up in a monastery like these ones in my photo. In Tibetan Buddhism, spinning a prayer wheel is as effective as reciting the sacred texts 诵经, as a wheel usually contains a scroll printed with a mantra 祈祷真言/梵咒. On the outside of the cylinder there are auspicious 吉祥的 Buddhist symbols and inscriptions in Sanskrit 梵文 or Tibetan script.

IMG_06641.jpg

IMG_06661.jpg

The Aryapala temple was built in the shape of an elephant’s head, and the 108(a sacred number in several Eastern religions) stairs leading up to the temple symbolizes the elephant’s trunk 象鼻.

To reach the stairs, I first walked along a long path for meditation and reflection 反思. There were 72 signs with 144 Buddhist teachings 教诲 lining the sides of the path. The wise words on the signs remind people to reflect on the spiritual life. After this journey of enlightenment 觉悟, I arrived at the 108 stairs and walked up to the hilltop.

IMG_06671.jpg

tpp.jpg

The white-walled temple has intricate carvings on its wooden posts and beams 柱子和横梁. The rocks above the temple and the main hall are decorated with paintings and stories of the Arhats 罗汉. Arhat is a high-rank Buddhist saint who enlightens 开导/启迪/教化 humankind. There is also a small meditation cave aside.

IMG_06801.jpg

t.jpg

Aryapala Temple belongs to the Gelugpa sect(Yellow Hats) of Buddhism 格鲁派藏传佛教. Gelugpa practices focus on the journey to enlightenment as taught by Buddha. They teach devotees 信徒 to meditate and spark the bodhisattva 菩萨 within. In 1810s, Buddhist monks and artists from Mongolia and Tibet built this temple in order to meditate. Later in 2007, the restoration 修复 was completed and the meditation center was open to the public. The monks from Lamiran temple in Ulaanbaatar also come here regularly for religious service.

terel.jpg

Buddhism has been playing a vital role in Mongolia's history and culture. Most Mongolian cities have developed on the sites of Buddhist monasteries. According to its national census 人口普查, over half of the population identifies as Buddhists. In the 13th and 14th century, the emperors of the Yuan dynasty started the process of conversion to Tibetan Buddhism in Mongolia. In the ecclesiastical hierarchy 寺院/教会等级, the living Buddha 活佛 of Mongolia was ranked third after the Dalai Lama and the Panchen Lama 达赖和班禅喇嘛.

Mongolian Buddhism was influenced by Tibetan Buddhist monasticism 隐修制度/禁欲主义/寺院生活, but it has its own distinct features, some of which are based on Mongolia's shamanistic heritage 萨满教义, such as the ovoo(ceremonial cairn) worship rituals 一种祭拜自然的锥形石堆(类似西藏的玛尼石堆)executed by lama's. Besides, in Mongolian Buddhism, there are many independent lama's who can provide consultancy and don’t belong to any monastery.

tp.jpg

If you ever come to this amazing Terelj park in Mongolia, besides visiting this interesting meditation temple, you can also hike to the glacial lake 冰川湖, Khagiin Khar Lake and the natural hot springs, ride horses on the steppe, watch the wildlife such as Eastern Buzzard(I saw plenty hovering over my head) 亚洲秃鹰, brown bears(I didn't get to see any)... If you like rock climbing, try out the many rock formations, like Turtle Rock and the Praying Lama Rock. I also learned cooking lamb from the host family, and watched locals wrestling 摔跤. I had so much fun packed with both natural and cultural experiences, and I'm sure you will too!

terejlger.jpg

So that's it for the photo journey to the meditation temple. Tell me what you think in the comments! Until next time. :D



All content by @itchyfeetdonica, and the first 2 photos are my entries to @killerwhale's contest Killerpix. Check it out and join the fun! =)



Thank you for reading. Check out my recent posts, and follow me for more! =)

NOLA Night Art Market 新奥尔良夜市

MUSICAL MONDAY - Photo Games Week 9 照片游戏1 ~来给我的照片配上音乐 赢取SBD

10 Creative Benches Around the World(1) 世界各地的创意长凳来10条(一)

Zombie Walk & Fantastic Lille & My Halloween Look 视觉的狂欢

Batik Stories (1) - My First Batik Work in Indonesia 蜡染系列(一)我的蜡染处女作

Street Art & Sultan Mosque in Singapore 新加坡苏丹回教堂和附近的涂鸦艺术

Let's Cook Braised Pork with Tofu and Shiitake 一起做香菇豆腐红烧肉

Train Cemetery in the Atacama Desert (1) 大漠中的火车墓场(一)

Some “Framed” Photos from My Travels 自带边框的旅途剪影

Satay Fried Rice Recipe 简单美味的沙爹炒饭

Some SMILE Portraits in My Travels 旅途中的微笑

Stories of Shadows (2@Europe + 2@South America) 光影交错的瞬间


Here are some screenshots from my Instagram. Follow @ItchyfeetDonica for more shots around the globe !


!steemitworldmap 47.936229 lat 107.425904 long Aryapala Temple, Mongolia d3scr

Sort:  

Hey @itchyfeetdonica, I am a curator of the Whaleshares Curation Team. I have selected your post to be presented in a live curation discussion on Monday 26th March. Your post will be awarded a 100 Whaleshares vote on the night. I do hope you can come along and spectate. The event will be held in The Curation Lounge on the Whaleshares server. Here is a link to a post explaining things: https://steemit.com/steemit/@nikflossus/the-19th-whaleshares-curation-show-new-time-22-59gmt-or-5-59est

Sorry I just saw your comment here(it shows “22 hours ago”), it’s already early morning of Wednesday here in Australia. What did I miss then?

wow.. view of landscape is really amazing. How beautiful places are on the earth.. I'm surprised every day on Steemit :)
Btw. how do you travel around the world - alone or with the group?

Mostly alone, occasionally with my families/friends. But I enjoyed being with a group too - I got to meet so many awesome fellow travelers from around the globe(you must know what I mean right?)! Actually it happened a lot when I was traveling solo, as I had to join a group like in the Uyuni trip in Bolivia, the jungle trip in Ecuador... And when I went to this park in Mongolia, I pooled a car with an American traveler from the same guest house, it was so much fun! :D

You are just awesome, Donica. I love your authentic photos :)

月旦评语:随走随拍,记录的不仅仅是风景,还有心情。色彩鲜艳,视觉自然随性,让人感觉轻松惬意。特别是鹰击长空的抓拍,惊艳。谢谢分享。

你好请接受cn区点赞机器人 @cnbuddy 对你作为cn区一员的感谢。倘若你想让我隐形,请回复“取消”。

谢谢你小瓦力 :)

I so want to go there!!! How long ago was it that you went?

Go go go! It was the summer of 2014. :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=itchyfeetdonica
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=69-a-photo-journey-exploring-aryapala-meditation-temple-or


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

*Hameya *nice konten,is the best,ilike this

Looks like a cool trip. 7 days and no shower though??? Not sure I could handle that.

Haha, no... I meant if I took that one trans-Siberia/Mongolia train, it would be 7 days in the train without shower, but I took a couple of different trains starting from Moscow to eventually reach China, so I showered every time when I stayed in a different place in Russia! ;)

Oh, that sounds much better then.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57292.40
ETH 3073.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32