A Very Stoked Thanksgiving

in #journal7 years ago (edited)

I had a really wonderful day with the family. It started out with Devon playing games on the computer and the girls and I snuggling on the couch and watching a documentary about animals in Africa.

IMG_8527.JPG

IMG_8530.JPG

IMG_8531.JPG

IMG_8528.JPG

We then had an amazing feast because @corinnestokes is a fantastic cook.

IMG_8534.JPG

IMG_8533.JPG

IMG_8535.JPG

We did a lunch thanksgiving meal this year so we could enjoy the food again at dinner. :)

Along with the two glasses of wine I enjoyed with my meal, I also made myself a lime drop (Corinne said she needed our last lemon for something she wanted to cook) which is a variation on John McAfee's lemon drop.

IMG_8544.JPG

‪Mix honey and lime juice.‬
Add whiskey and ice.‬
Mix.‬
Enjoy.‬
Relax.

So good.

After that, Devon and Aria played networked video games together (Roblox, I think it was).

IMG_8548.JPG

And Corinne and ‬Monet rested/snuggled on the couch.

IMG_8545.JPG

We watched a bunch more of the Africa documentary on Netflix (it's really quite good) and then went for a walk / bike ride at the local greenway in our neighborhood.

IMG_8552.JPG

IMG_8550.JPG

IMG_8551.JPG

IMG_8554.JPG

IMG_8559.JPG

IMG_8562.JPG

Here's a little video I took while walking along the greenway.

We finished up the night with Devon schooling Corinne and me in Catan. I usually win, but he got us this time.

IMG_8565.JPG

It was a really good, really fun day. I wanted to put this memory on the blockchain so I could come back to it in the future and enjoy it again. I hope you also had a great day as well.

Happy Thanksgiving!


Previous #journal entries:

  1. That one time I tried to mine STEEM
  2. My Curation Hall of Fame!
  3. Blockchain Journal #3 - Luke Stokes - 2016-08-02
  4. How Do You Handle Pain?
  5. Will We Be Significant?
  6. Have You Ever Had Your Car Break Down on a Road Trip?
  7. Blockchain Journal: Powering Up to 65k. #191 on Steemwhales.

Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, STEEM witness, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

Lovely photos, I see lots of joy in those eyes. Happy Thanksgiving.

Glad you and the family had a good holiday! =)

Happy Thanksgiving. Time spent with the family is the most beautiful time. Judging by the smile on the children's faces they had a great day. You have a wonderful family. Food looks delicious.

These simple joys are the most heartwarming and worth remembering every time. Congrats for having a wonderful family!

lovely family time ! so precious... it goes so fast ! We play Catan here so much ! when i say 4 of the 7 nights of the week i am still careful :-) love it ... Did you let your son win? or did he really? :-) Too late now but knowing you had a good thanksgiving , my wish to you allready came true :-) enjoy your day and thanks for showing a day out of your life to us.

He definitely schooled us. We don't let him win at anything, and we play a lot of board games as a family. I've done a few board game reviews on Steemit as well (I think this is my last one) if you're interested.

oh yes i will read it now, and give feedback. Thank you ! Hope your son will win still many games of you :-)

Devon really won, but we did help him with his initial settlement placement, which of course is really important for how the game plays out.

I find it very inspiring to see a pieces of someone's real life and I wish there were more posts like this on Steemit. They have real value as they make people better understand each other. It's great that you're not hiding your identity as it happens to many people here.

Could Steemit be the place for a lot of anonymous accounts? (For example, Twitter has a lots of them....though there are still a lot who hold accounts as themselves!)

I've started cleaning up my feed by muting anonymous accounts. I also stopped flagging problem posts...since I've found out that flagging a post is not anonymous (which makes me a target for harassment)

So glad to see that you are here on Steemit as yourself! :D

I guess 90% of Steemit accounts don't disclose their real owners, so you will probably have nothing to read if you unfollow them :)

What I like on Steemit is diversity. I'd just wish it to be a bit more balanced.

Good post a time with is family all are in good spirit thank for sharing.

it seems like that you have a very great time with your family and you really enjoying all this moment your photos are great and some way connect us.

A very good happy thanksgiving to you and my regards to your wonderful family.

Please don't spam people with links to your blog. They will just flag you and ruin your reputation. Instead, add value. Hopefully the reputation post I mention here will help you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59