Blockchain Journal #3 - Luke Stokes - 2016-08-02

in #journal8 years ago

Hey #journal.

I know it's been a while since my first and second entries, but I've been busy. I'm coming up on my first full month of blogging on Steemit. I wrote more this month than I have in years, and I'm loving it! I've started to realize just how much gamification is built into this system, and I'm also adding more layers on top of it.

I'm particularly proud of this graph:

steem_power_posting_rewards89399.png

That's my Posting Rewards increasing almost every day. Can I keep this up? Probably not. Has it been a ton of fun? Heck yeah! I even put together my first multi-camera video and screenshare using my laptop, iPhone, and iMove. Figuring out how to work with the multiple video and audio timelines was pretty tricky. As expected, the posts I work the hardest on aren't the biggest winners (such as my YouTube favorites). But I have zero complaints!

Another thing I've been gamifying is my Steem Power ranking. I've checked it every day and according to SteemWhales.com, I'm currently number 345:

sp_rankad7ab.png

When I started keeping track, I was around 370. With just about every author reward, I've been reinvesting SBD into Steem Power to claw my way up the ranks. Other than the 465 SBD I gave away with the #bitcoinpizza challenge, it's all been powered up.

On top of that, Dan released the much awaited reputation score system today, and I came in as a level 8! That's pretty cool considering there's only one 9, and only 86 8's in the whole system.

reputationf0483.png

I already felt my little vote (which fluctuates between $0.15 - $0.29) was important, but now that I know it can impact other reputation scores, I'm even more excited about it. This place just keeps getting better and better. The bot spam and troll accounts are hidden. The content quality is going up. And SteemStory.com says we have over 44,000 users (of which, I appear to be number 13,452). The price of Steem has come down from it's high to hover around $2, and I fully expect more volatility (and downward pressure) to come, especially since steemdown.com shows a lot of big power downs in progress.

That doesn't bother me. Bitcoin had a rough day today also (as low as $465 from its relatively stable $650). The price is important, but the conversations and relationships are what keep me coming back. I'm very optimistic about the long term. Also... China is getting pretty excited about Steem.

3kJAE095936f.gif

Yep. China.

Until next time, enjoy your place in blockchain history.

-- Luke Stokes --

P.S. Are you also journaling on the blockchain? If so, drop a link in the comments so I can give it a read.

Sort:  

Great job!, Just started working on writing.
https://steemit.com/@virtualgrowth

Thanks! I left a comment on your intro.

Yea i'm approaching my full month also:) The platform has made such major improvements, great time to be on steemit.com, thanks for update!

Do you know the inner-workings of the rep system? I was a lil shocked after finding out what the number meant - have I been spending too much time on Steemit? LOL

Okay, instead of eating lunch right now like I should be, I peeked at the code a bit which Dan linked to in a comment. I thought these code comments were quite interesting:

     // Rules are a plugin, do not effect consensus, and are subject to change.
     // Rule #1: Must have non-negative reputation to effect another user's reputation
     // Rule #2: If you are down voting another user, you must have more reputation than them to impact their reputation

Quite interesting... means those in control will stay in control and have the power to silence others... or, depending on how you look at it, it means those who have invested the most in promoting a healthy ecosystem have the greatest power to protect that system from trolls.

No, but I plan to review the code and see what I can glean from it eventually. I heard they are making some tweaks and improvements, so I figured I'd wait a bit for the dust to settle before I fully dive in and try to understand it. I've already seen some heavily downvoted plagiarist accounts with decent reputations (a 5 in once case), so I imagine they'll keep tweaking it as needed.

And yes, waaaaaay too much time on Steemit here as well. But I'm really, really enjoying it.

Likewise! Really enjoying it.. think it's also important to avoid "shaking the boat" too upfrontly atm as the system is being adjusted. Well just like IRL if you want to continue having a voice. While I believe in the opposing voice, the best one can do now is to try to present at least some other perspective to balance out one's argument.

I'm happy with my score! lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64956.33
ETH 3456.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55