My Curation Hall of Fame!

in #journal8 years ago

15 Steem Power in 3 Likes

When I first joined Steem, I thought the "get paid to like content" idea couldn't be real. I was skeptical all around. Putting a $ next to a number doesn't mean it'll pay down my mortgage. Then I read the white paper, lost a week of my life, and there's no turning back now. I'm hooked.

That said, I still wasn't convinced the curation rewards would ever amount to much. I was seeing 0.001, 0.003, etc. Later I learned the algorithm is tweaked a bit to discourage bots from voting up content before humans can actually read it. It's weighted in such a way as to reward the author instead of the curator in the first 30 minutes, on a sliding scale. The idea being, as a curator, you should be rewarded for finding good (often older) content which would otherwise be missed. Also, the more Steem Power you have, the more influence you have, so quite a bit changed once I invested some bitcoin into my account. Try not to compare the results of your likes with the results of others who different Steem Power than you.

In the last day or two, I'm now a curator believer. I'm putting this under the #journal category, because I want to remember this as being week one of my Steemit journey. I have so many hopes and expectations for this platform. I think history is being made here, so I want to keep a record of it on the blockchain.

So, without further ado, here's my curation reward hall of fame. 15 Steem Power in one day with just three likes:

8 hours ago curation reward of 3.013 STEEM POWER for roelandp/steemstream-com-a-realtime-visualisation-of-all-activity-on-steemit
18 hours ago curation reward of 2.948 STEEM POWER for liondani/it-s-official-females-dominates-males-on-steemit
24 hours ago curation reward of 9.047 STEEM POWER for karen13/a-lion-a-shark-and-a-girl-on-the-beach

That's some real Steem Power!

For the curious, here's what (I think) I did to earn those rewards:

  1. Hang out in the Slack channel. People are constantly posting links in #postpromotion to great content which is under appreciated or soon to be massively voted up.
  2. Head to the new posts feed, scroll down to around 20 to 30 minutes, and scan headlines for something that interests you.
  3. READ THE ARTICLE. Don't bother upvoting something you don't personally care about because groupthink helps no one.
  4. Think about what the community wants, needs, and will get excited about that aligns with what you like. This, to me, is a great example: https://steemit.com/steem/@roelandp/steemstream-com-a-realtime-visualisation-of-all-activity-on-steemit with a $4,356.06 payout!
  5. Since this is an article you personally care about, add a meaningful comment. The active feed is another way for this great content to get noticed and voted up. You might also create some new relationships.
  6. Every once in a while, change "steemit.com" in the URL of a post you're looking at to "steemd.com" and then click the "Vote Details" link to better understand how the voting distribution works:

So there you go, that's my curation hall of fame for my first week of Steemit.

For fun and historical journaling purposes (and because I have no idea how this thing will play out long term), here's a shot of my wallet as of 7.15.2016 with the volatile price around $3.70:

Are you adding your own #journal entries to the blockchain too? If so, let me know.

Sort:  

I had to include a follow up because... dang. I saw this come through today:

curation reward of 17.994 STEEM POWER for jl777/steemit-is-crypto-s-first-mass-market-solution

WUT.

I didn't even know that was possible. :)

Thanks for this post.

Could you explain a bit more detailed how to maximize curator rewards? What is the best time to vote on a post? I was under the assumption that it is best to vote as early as possible.

Hello @willidungl. If you do a search for "curation rewards" and you'll find quite a few really helpful (and detailed) articles on the topic. Some have changed over time as they've tweaked the algorithm, but my current understanding is it's best to vote on the back half of the first 30 minutes a post goes live. A percentage of the curation reward for super early votes actually goes to the author to discourage bots from automatically upvoting new content. I hope that helps.

Not sure how much you have invested, but if the only reason is to make more money, wouldn't it be better to just invest on some cloud mining operation? If you invest some bitcoins in one of those you can make good passive income, instead of babysitting steem 24/7.

Anyway I still think so far this thing is about accumulationg money. The early adopters or " investors" will get the reward. Newbies will be on the base of the pyramid. I can't see this system rewarding good content and the opposite is actually happening.

Now, it's about a lot more than money to me. See my recent entry here https://steemit.com/steemit/@lukestokes/explaining-steemit-to-my-friends-blockchains-and-cryptocurrencies and my intro post to better understand where I'm coming from.

I had someone explain it to me in terms of the 80/20 rule. We see that everywhere. When we try to fight it or force things to act otherwise, it fails. As for what qualifies as "good content" that will depend on how the community grows. It's relatively small right now.

awesome, the best i read today

Thank you for good explanation :)

You're welcome!

Good read thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59228.82
ETH 2524.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52