Blockchain Journal: Powering Up to 65k. #191 on Steemwhales.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #journal7 years ago (edited)

Every once in a while I do a post for me, not for you. This is one of those posts. I like to #journal on the blockchain so I can refer back to it later and remember. I also like to track my progress towards various things, such as my Steem holdings and ranking on Steemwhales.

It's been 8 months since my last journal entry. Wow how time flies!

Today, July 29th 2017, I powered up 5,000 Steem.

I've been on Steemit for over a year now, and I've almost always powered up rewards. Lately I've been keeping things liquid in order to diversify into some other cryptocurrencies, one being EOS. When they announced the year-long ICO structure, I decided there may not be a rush to jump in right away. Also, with a 13 week power down and my current holdings, I could get most of this 5k back in just one week.

That put me at #191 on Steemwhales!

Almost exactly a year ago, I was ranked #345 with only 10,789 Steem Power.

The Steem per million VESTS is now at 484.101.

As this number rises, VESTs will only become harder to own. Your VETSs increase when you power up liquid Steem to Steem Power based on this conversion rate. When you earn Steem Power, you're actually earning VESTs.

I'm up over 3k followers and 7k posts!

Since my last journal entry, I've become a witness! @lukestokes.mhth is currently holding position 30.

And I've produced 4 videos for the Understanding Blockchain Freedom project.

I've had an amazing time on Steemit for over a year now. I can't wait to see what the future has in store for this community.

Thanks for humoring me through this self-promotion journal entry. Sometimes we just need to sit back and smile at what we've accomplished.

Are you journaling on the blockchain?


Previous #journal entries:

  1. That one time I tried to mine STEEM
  2. My Curation Hall of Fame!
  3. Blockchain Journal #3 - Luke Stokes - 2016-08-02
  4. How Do You Handle Pain?
  5. Will We Be Significant?
  6. Have You Ever Had Your Car Break Down on a Road Trip?

Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

Great, this is the biggest trust in Steem. In Steem, we trust.

Thanks for all of your efforts here.. I'll upvote anyway even it was for you ;D

Hah! Thanks man. :)

I as well can't wait to see what's in store for this community ! Although I've been here for a bit longer than a month, I think I've already learnt a lot about the crypto world. It's going to be an awesome ride to the future !

Nice! I love hearing how much Steemit is educating people about cryptocurrency. That's fantastic.

It's all golden information here !

@lukestokes - This is a great idea - A journal that is embedded into blockchain that is immutable! I have resolved to start this. I am already past one month on Steemit so I think I will do a first quarter journal entry at the end of my first 3 months of Steemit. Your achievements and progress on Steemit is an inspiration. I will work hard and aspire to meet at least some percentage of what you have achieved. I have probably started with a much minor base (of skill sets and crypto balance) compared to you but I will try to work as hard as possible on bringing good quality blogs on Steemit. Thank you for sharing your journal entry. Upvoted.

I request you to visit my latest blogs when you have some free time. You valuable comments and feedback will be very much appreciated. Thanks

Thanks for the encouragement and good luck!

Man, my voting % is going down quite a bit lately... so many great posts out there! I may start cutting back on my voting for a bit to build it back up.

@lukestokes - I am not surprised that your voting power has diminished since I have seen you encouraging so many blogs ( including mine). I would request you to still visit my blogs if possible when you have time and leave comments ( even without upvote till you see fit) because your thoughtful comments help me complete my thought process and I also learn a lot about Steemit. It is also very heartening for me to note that Senior Steemians liked my blogs. Thank you so much for the support and encouragement so far.

This is a great story that gives me lots of hope for my potential on Steem! Thanks for sharing your journey @lukestokes

I'm really glad you enjoyed it along with me. :)

Wow, this is an amazing amount of steem power. Good luck. Hopefully, it pays off for you. Nice ranking, indeed.

Thank you. Yeah, I've been blogging quite a bit, building it up day after day. It's really a lot of fun, but if it makes me a bunch of money some day in the future also, then I'm all about it. :)

You made me laugh with "only 10,789 Steem Power" haha, my steem power is 0.641 :D:D

Well, you've got 5 more now. :)

well thank you:D

Even if it's a post for you, thanks for the idea of occasionally placing "markers" out there. Somehow, I always manage to forget that the blockchain offers a permanent record, of sorts. Coming up on 6 months since joining... might be a good time for "taking inventory."

Thanks, as always, for everything you do to make this a better community!

Thanks, @denmarkguy. I always appreciate your words of encouragement. Taking inventory, I think, is always a good plan.

Clever idea. I wouldn't "apologise" for doing a post focused on oneself. I think following good stories is what makes blogs interesting. It's just cool to see how people you engage with here are doing. Especially since we're all on the same journey. Both individually and collectively. So glad you put it together and I'm happy for your success :)

I am not yet journaling with such specific figures in mind, although I felt like doing a little milestone post just recently called From 0 to 400 Followers in 3 weeks – My First impressions of Steemit, and where I think we should go. Mostly to share my excitement for the quick growth I've experienced on steemit myself and also to give a few thoughts on how I think steem as a platform and people here can succeed.

Will definitely try to find an ideal format for something like a monthly update, just to be transparent and, as you say yourself, keep it for the records.

Looking forward to seeing your next update and hope to continue growing myself so that it will be worth journaling!

Great post, thanks for sharing it. And thank you for the encouragement. I've seen quite a bit of milestone posts on Steemit. For a while people seemed to be doing them every few days. I got kind of tired of it, so it seems I didn't do one for quite some time. Glad to see new users are still encouraged to see them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46