Table Top Game Reviews: Pandemic

in #games7 years ago

I love playing Pandemic. Unlike most games, it's a collaborative game where everyone works together instead of competing against each other. The goal is to cure the diseases before you have too many outbreaks, you run out of cubes in one color, or you run out of city cards.

It's a challenging game for 2 to 4 players. You certainly don't always win, even on the easiest level with only four epidemic cards (you can play with up to six).

You can buy it on Amazon (currently selling for $23.49). It's got a 7.7 rating on boardgamegeek.com out of 64k ratings. That's a ton of ratings and a really great score.

Here are the main reasons I like this game:

  1. It's challenging! Even the times we think we're totally going to win, it comes down to the wire. My son Devon, @corinnestokes, and I just played again tonight, and we won by a single move! Sometimes you lose.
  2. The combination of different roles change the strategy you need to use with each game.
  3. You're continually playing and providing feedback for your team members, even when it's not "your turn." Everyone's working together to win, and you often collaborate together for the best move for everyone.
  4. As you get better at the game, you can add in more epidemic cards to increase the difficulty.



Thanks for checking out my board game review!

Previous Table Top Game Reviews

Created with ChainBB to help support that project.


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

I agree with this recommendation, I played this game on a Game night twice and there are many ways you can lose. There are difficulty levels that make it harder to win. Teamwork is a must and strategy. There has to be flexibility to change at a drop of a dime since it can cause a pandemic. The first time we lost the game because we ran out of cards to pull. The next game it was close finish and we saved the world. The game exhausts you but if you achieve victory it is great. I bought this game twice and gave it to a friend.
A great review of the game.

I think the game is based on cooperation it's the right thing for me and my family... because all the other games end very badly.

When I'm winning everyone unites against me, it's such a joke, even when we play with friends. My wife rebukes everyone and they throw me out of the game, and laugh. I try to pretend that I'm having fun too, but I like to win too much :)

Thanks for your recommendation.

Hahah... That's hilarious. I hope you enjoy it. There's another fun collaborative game I'll do a review on eventually called Forbidden Island. You might like it also.

Once again another board game I have never had the chance to experience... looks rather interesting though!

The board layout looks similar to Risk, although from what you've explained it plays like no other tabletop I've played before. Very cool, @lukestrokes.

Thanks!

This looks pretty amazing. I love these types of games, hours of play. Thanks for the post.

Nice! Never heard of it. Where'd you run across this one?

The board reminds me a lot of Risk. But Risk is super competitive. I agree with you, collaboration > competition!

My team at FoxyCart is into boardgames, especially my business partner @brettflorio. He's always trying new games out and watching for reviews on the best new ones. He found this one and I think we played it once at a conference we were sponsoring. I was hooked and had to get it.

@crypticus would love this game. Will have to check it out.

Wow this seems like a really fun game i would love to try with friends!... Also whats the minimum age recommended for this?...

I don't pay much attention to minimum ages, but the box says 8+ :)

Thanks for the article

Great review, actually gonna check this out !!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29