Steemit Debut : Discovering a Beautiful CommunitysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduction7 years ago

On my quest to learn more about blockchain technology and cryptocurrency, I stumbled upon Steemit. The appeal to join stemmed from the fact that there is a practical application to the coin and that it encourages community building. Ya, I'm a sucker for community :) So I joined and tried to learn more about the ecosystem. At first, I was a slightly disappointed to discover that I am only a little fish in this big pond but then was pleasantly surprised to see how the community was welcoming to little minnows like me. To all of you who followed even before my first post, I say : Thank you.

Then, while observing interactions, I ldiscovered Steemit etiquette gems. Such as that it is frowned upon to toot your own horn (very much like any social media). However, I was surprised by the amount of posts condemning or defending the behaviour. I mean, if compared to other social medias, it's not as if there are many Instagram or Facebook posts denouncing self likers…or advocates for the self liking community defending their rights to patting their own back. However, I understood the implications: It does not encourage community building and of course it affects financial incentives. Whatever you, do not threaten the value of financial incentives for short term individual gains, lesson learned. So will not upvote my introduction post but feel free to pat my back :). Which brings me to the next discovery, one must not be pushy about soliciting upvotes and resteems… will end it here with the etiquette discoveries for I am no Emily Post.

Now back to introductions, lest I offend the relevant content police… I started the Gymcrawlers community to invite others to join me as I try new fitness activities . I realized that for many, it might be intimidating to try a new sport of fitness activity (it was for me). So far did two obstacle races , grew fond of bouldering and even tried football , which unfortunately, resulted in an injury. Will share about my experiences and journey and I hope to hear about your experiences as well.

Sort:  

Very cool @gymcrawlers! I'm definitely an alternative-fitness kind of gal myself, as I'm bored to tears in a gym and have gotten exercise from my career for many years. I'm following you and excited to see what you do! I'm new as well, follow me if you like @jennais.

Thank you @jennais . What is your career if I may ask?

Good post! I'm going to follow you to see more post like this and for support us!

Nice! I see that you have been on steemit for some time now so I am sending you some love. One upvote from me and don't forget to upvote others!
I know how hard it is to receive upvotes on a new account so my advice would be to give Steemfollower a go as you can earn up to 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use. I have also made this post where I explain the site in more depth and it has become my most upvoted post yet.

Congratulations @gymcrawlers! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @gymcrawlers! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61043.90
ETH 3378.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46