Living on Crypto. No More Formalized Job! - Introduction

pexels-photo-239898.jpg

Hello,

This is my first post here in the community, and I would like to share my story. My first bitcoin experience was purchasing this new found gold for around $1 dollar per bitcoin. My last experience with bitcoin was selling it at around $10 per bitcoin. At the time I had 1000 bitcoin and this same 1000 bitcoin would be worth over 5 million dollars today!

pexels-photo-278312.jpg

Crushing quite frankly. The reason for the sale of my bitcoins at the time was a job loss and the loss of my fiance. I was working 60+ hours per week on the treadmill of work/life trying to keep up with everything around me. Society told me I needed a car, a house, a wife, children, and so many other trappings that essentially made me a slave to the system.

I LOST IT ALL. I lost my house, my car, my fiance, and eventually sold everything I had in an effort to start over, but this time I was going to do it differently. I decided I was going to release myself from everything that the world was telling me I needed: INCLUDING THEIR MONETARY SYSTEM.

pexels-photo-236229.jpg

So I had to get back on my horse and I would like to share with you how I did that so that others may benefit. When you drive a fancy Mercedes, have a large home, and a beautiful fiance and have had to work for all of these things often times they do not come easy without some sacrifice on the work side. Unless you are wealthy by inheritance you will have to work for what you achieve and often the work is very hard and a huge struggle that you end up losing other things in effort to keep up. You are in the rat race. Nothing is never enough.

So How did I learn to get off this treadmill of society? Here are the core steps.

  1. Get your housing situated as a first step. This is the most critical of all costs in everyone's life. My old mortgage was $2,450 per month USD, plus taxes, plus upkeep, ending up costing me closer to $3500 per month in total. THIS IS CRAZY. If you make over 100k per year in the US you will still feel poor paying this out. This is before food/travel/fun/ and any other expense.

Here is how I fixed my house situation. I rented the front of my home for 2 years and lived in the garage out back that was 600 Square Feet. I had no running water for 2 years (very rare in US) and saved up until I could covert my garage into a small real home. The cost was roughly 18k for a full conversion with kitchen and bathroom and I helped do much of the work myself.

gallery-1456421458-h-14107687.jpg

  1. Budget - Now I have renters in the front of my home who pay my mortgage and give me a small income each month of around $400 USD. This is a godsend. This means now I don't have to stress over work and making so much money I simply have to live lean and live on less. After housing food becomes the next big expense. Rice and veggies go along way and I feel much better without a heavy meat diet.

  2. FIND WORK YOU LOVE - In the US near New York City $400 is not enough to live at all. So you have to supplement with some odd and end work here and there. But now that I have found this community I'm really committed to working here more and more. I can contribute my knowledge to the community and get paid out in bitcoin for doing so. I'm a huge fan of decentralized social media and plan to close my FB account and Reddit account because they have never paid me 1 nickel.

  3. Find the finance who is willing to live with you on the floor of your garage! Find a woman who doesn't care so much about material things and loves you for YOU. Any man below will know that the power of a real woman who is behind you can help propel you to large heights.

couple-love-bedroom-kissing.jpg

I invite you to follow me and to join me as I embark on making contributions to this community. I want to share my experience, passions, stories, and life with others here so that I can leave my mark on the Crypto community. I want to prove we don't need this terrible system we have to survive and that we have been often sold a bad bill of goods that essentially has made us slaves to the system. I WANTED FREEDOM, and now I have that. My goal is to support the crypto community to no end, and ensure that people of the future can live freely and trade among each other WITHOUT THE BANKS HOLDING US AS SLAVES.

pexels-photo-461775.jpg

Please join me in my journey and befriend me. I'm just a guy living in a garage!!

-- WhatSnap

Sort:  

I wish I had the balls to do what you are doing. Welcome friend. Keep on keepin on.

Thanks @evoman1 for the support. I promise you that you do have it in you. The hardest part is really to get your housing situated. If you don't have to pay for rent or a mortgage and can live kind of for free, the you start to realize how little you need. If you think about it for most people HOUSING alone makes up a bulk of the reason why they have to slave to the grind at work. I read online that making your housing costs as little as possible would give you some freedom and I really had to make a change for 2 years. What I forgot to write about was how I showered and used the bathroom!! I actually showered at a gym with a $15.00 per month membership that actually provided me soap and water! I went 1x or 2x per day. When I had to use the bathroom I lived close to a gas station and 711 and used their facility or simply went outside. Solving the housing part of finances was the key to opening up a life for myself. When I was living for free I really needed little else. I own an older BMW in good shape and have some savings so I'm good. You can do it to if you try, and that is why I'm writing you back. Don't wish @evoman1 YOU CAN DO IT....and if you are a slave to your job like most everyone else....like a trapped rat.......take care of your housing first...and you will see how little you really need......thanks for welcoming me!! Cheers!

Welcome to Steem Community @whatsnap! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hi there @whatsnap . What an honest story you wrote! I immediately followed you as I'm sure you're interesting to know. Please feel free to follow me too! I've also joined Steemit just today, and wrote two articles for starters. Maybe this article of mine could help you and others on your "Crypto Journey".

Cheers, and hope to hear from you soon!

Hello @scipio ! Thanks for your reply. I have read your article and also followed you. I wish I could find the way to direct message users here like on twitter!! Perhaps I'm missing something simple. In your article you mentioned Mt. Gox and I read how that all happened. How do you feel about the safety of Coin Base? Is that just a possible Mt. Gox situation waiting to happen. I would love to direct message you and learn more and hope I can find the chat feature here shortly!! Thanks again for responding so kindly to my post. Look forward to reading more of your posts too.

Hi @whatsnap ,

  1. sending direct messages:
    I've read there isn't a way to send direct messages on steemit.com, that functionality wasn't implemented to this website (intentionally or not). There is however another way, via another website located at https://steemit.chat. But be aware:
  • you need to register over there as well (just an email validation, done right away)
  • so don't try to log in / use the same master password as you would using steemit.com
  • most people do however use the same username as on steemit.com
  • you can search me over there, send me a direct message if you like, yet I only read it when I log in at steemit.chat
  1. CoinBase: I'm quite new to the world of crypto assets (but I do know a lot about both Tech and Finance, so for me it's just a matter of catching up on specific ins and outs of the crypto world). Currently I don't know the specifics of Coinbase. But in general remember this rule of thumb: crypto assets in your wallet are yours, but when you transact with exchanges you put those cryptos in the exchange's wallet so they are out of your control. If something happens to the exchange's wallet, you effectively lost access to your crypto assets. To stay in full control, either use a paper wallet (print out all your keys and keep that paper safe) and track each transaction by hand, or use a hardware wallet (such as Trezor). In order to trade crypto with other people, you need some form of exchange market so don't trade everything at once and if you have the possibility to trade back into your own wallet, then do so.

Welcome to steemit @whatsnap. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Leave a comment with #helpmein tag so I will transfer registration fee.@OriginalWorks If you want a little boost in your posts and also help the evironment try @treeplanter .Use @tipu to give users a 0.1 SBD tip.

Welcome I have read whole Your story. It is very sad but full of hope and full of true life. You have specyfied this world life style like a rat race and I agree with You. Last year I left my job after 9 years because I couldn't stand the speed of this. Even I loved my job I was to tired to continue this. Nowadays I do on my own and I have lower standard of living but I am much happier. I wish You best of luck on steemit and I hope You will financial independent soon.

Hello @kryptoholik83 ! Thanks for the support and kind words. I have also read your story too about working in Futures which is something I have also done. I was a trader for a large firm and would like to share something with you if you are open. There is a firm out of Chicago called Top Step Trader and they offer combines where they will fund your account and you can trade with their money. I'm not associated with them but I have had many trader friends move to their system of being funded and not having to work with their own money. Since I have solved my housing problem I'm very close to being totally free. All in all I don't have to work more than 10 hours in a month and going from 60+ hours per week for 20 years this is like a retirement of sorts. I want to give back and be productive and also contribute to someplace. I'm just seeing that that place now is NOT FACEBOOK OR REDDIT! I'd like to try to make my virtual home here on Steemit! Thanks again for your response and taking the time to read what I have written.

I liked it! You have signed up recently so welcome to the great community of steemit. There is an upvote for you and see you in your next post!
Getting those big upvotes on a new account can be a daunting task, believe me, so you could give @MinnowPowerUp a go. This service lets you earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I have more info on my experience with the system in this post where I explain how I earn over $1 a day from upvotes.

Thank you for replying to my article. I have also read your post about this service you have described. Do you simply send the @minnowpowerup a fund transfer and they will automatically work on your account? Kindly explain more how to engage with them. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60228.69
ETH 2428.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45