You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Living on Crypto. No More Formalized Job! - Introduction

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hi there @whatsnap . What an honest story you wrote! I immediately followed you as I'm sure you're interesting to know. Please feel free to follow me too! I've also joined Steemit just today, and wrote two articles for starters. Maybe this article of mine could help you and others on your "Crypto Journey".

Cheers, and hope to hear from you soon!

Sort:  

Hello @scipio ! Thanks for your reply. I have read your article and also followed you. I wish I could find the way to direct message users here like on twitter!! Perhaps I'm missing something simple. In your article you mentioned Mt. Gox and I read how that all happened. How do you feel about the safety of Coin Base? Is that just a possible Mt. Gox situation waiting to happen. I would love to direct message you and learn more and hope I can find the chat feature here shortly!! Thanks again for responding so kindly to my post. Look forward to reading more of your posts too.

Hi @whatsnap ,

  1. sending direct messages:
    I've read there isn't a way to send direct messages on steemit.com, that functionality wasn't implemented to this website (intentionally or not). There is however another way, via another website located at https://steemit.chat. But be aware:
  • you need to register over there as well (just an email validation, done right away)
  • so don't try to log in / use the same master password as you would using steemit.com
  • most people do however use the same username as on steemit.com
  • you can search me over there, send me a direct message if you like, yet I only read it when I log in at steemit.chat
  1. CoinBase: I'm quite new to the world of crypto assets (but I do know a lot about both Tech and Finance, so for me it's just a matter of catching up on specific ins and outs of the crypto world). Currently I don't know the specifics of Coinbase. But in general remember this rule of thumb: crypto assets in your wallet are yours, but when you transact with exchanges you put those cryptos in the exchange's wallet so they are out of your control. If something happens to the exchange's wallet, you effectively lost access to your crypto assets. To stay in full control, either use a paper wallet (print out all your keys and keep that paper safe) and track each transaction by hand, or use a hardware wallet (such as Trezor). In order to trade crypto with other people, you need some form of exchange market so don't trade everything at once and if you have the possibility to trade back into your own wallet, then do so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60171.52
ETH 2421.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46