Me myself and I - a new Steemian

Me, Myself and I
I've spent the past few days lurking around Steemit waiting for approval, and dying in the current heatwave :P

From what I've seen this is an awesome community in its infancy which I am glad to become a part of. I am still learning how it all works (particularly markdown) and would appreciate any advice / constructive criticism.

On with the expected details...
My name is Kane, I am originally from Scotland but recently moved to England after graduating university for work. Civil Engineer by day, dreamer by night. I wish I could tell you I've got some extravagant Hollywood lifestyle or some obscure hobbies but the truth is I save up all my spare banter bucks (or fun coupons if you're a Wolf of Wall Street fan) for two things right now. Travel and cryptocurrencies.

Enough about me lets talk about Jack the Signalman who was not human, but first some recent shameless travel pics.

Me, Singapore


Fushimi Inari, japan


Hiking near Seoul


Borsch, Moscow

Now the bit you care about, Jack the Signalman.
Once upon a time, a man named James Wide was employed by the Railway Service in Cape Town (Port Elizabeth), unfortunately he had an accident which resulted in the loss of both legs. Hitting rock bottom James purchased a pet, a baboon named Jack.

James (now in a wheelchair) required assistance with his duties. Jack, I shit you not would push him around in his wheelchair, and operate the railway signals under supervision (of James). A member of the public witnessed a baboon moving the railway signals and raised the issue with management. Management were, of course unaware that the assistant James had was an ape. A formal investigation was launched, and upon realising the story was true... James was fired.

After pleading for his job back, despite initial skepticism the railway service decided to test Jack's competency. After performing all tasks correctly, the rail service passed him! The company officially employed Jack, he was paid a wage of 20 cents per day and beer each week. Jack's career spanned 9 years of service throughout which a mistake was never reported. Tuberculosis stole Jack from us in 1890, he remains the only baboon known to be employed by the railroad. Part of him is now on display in Albany Museum.


RIP Jack

Within the week I'll be posting content, one series focusing on travel and the other on history/knowledge.

Remember folks

If you are still around, thank you & see on the Steem chat

Kane

Sort:  

cHEERS & Welcome to Steemit Kane,

I am @digital-gypsy - nice to meet you :)

I would just start following and talk to the people here first, with the time
i am sure the trend is going up with you !

If you like to see see how to make money here, you are welcome to check my new post:
..How I made 1200 USD+ in my FIRST WEEK...

bienvenida, willkommen and velkommen

Good Luck & take care

Welcome to Steemit @wanderingone :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Welcome to Steem @wanderingone I have sent you a tip

Welcome aboard, Kane! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Congratulations @wanderingone! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Interesting story, but perhaps , Jack was more Human than some?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61029.99
ETH 3375.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48