Why my wilderness name is Buzzard‘s Eye

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

My name is Dania and I work as a nature-mentor in Lower Austria.
In the Wilderness scene most of us have nature based names.
Mine is „Buzzard‘s Eye“ and today I will tell you the story about my wild name.

F10EFD0A-25BE-4FDE-927E-FB43A869C33C.jpeg

With my family, two dogs and one cat I live nearby a forest. Minimum once a day I enjoy a walk into the woods and I also have a secret sitspot there.
Last summer I often saw a common buzzard, who sat on the path but every time I passed with the dogs he flew away.
One day he did not. He stayed there right in front of me and the dogs.
First me and the dogs stood still and looked at him, waiting for him to fly away. But he did not.
So I started to move again. Carefully and slowly. Only a few steps. Nothing. The buzzard kept on sitting at his place on the pathway.
With the dogs I could not go on without frightening the buzzard and I brought them back a few meters and fixed their leash around a tree.
Slowly I moved close to the buzzard who looked at me without moving.
Around his right eye were a lot of flies and his left wing seemed to hang.
I kneeled down just in front of the injured raptor whispering to him that I will leave but will come back as soon as possible without dogs but with someone to help him. The raptor seemed to listen.

437BDE08-CF55-45DE-AA00-276D8C81DA8B.jpeg

I picked up the dogs and ran home with them as fast as possible to call a friend who is veterinarian.
More than half an hour later she arrived and we ran back together into the forest.
And there he still sat, the buzzard, looking at me and awaiting the help I promised to him.
Without resistance the vet was able to pick him up and to put him into a transportbox.
Slowly we carried the buzzard to the vet‘s car, where she wanted to stabilize his circulation.
But the buzzard looked like a little child pressing his beak together. Again I kneeled down in front of him and whispered to him: „That is the help I promised to you. Please open your beak and take these drops.“
His good eye fixed on me he opened his beak and let the vet do her job.
I still whispered to him - keep up, they will help you - as the vet closed the door and drove away with him to a veterinarian specialized in wild animals half an hour away.

In the evening they told me that the buzzard was very old and lost sight on his right eye. So he was not able to hunt anymore, became devitalized and he would have starved if I would not have found him.

For the next critical days I asked the birds for help. They should give me a feather every day for the old buzzard to regain his strength again.
And they helped their companion. Every day for a week I found a big feather in the forest and put it in my hair like a wing.
In the end of the week I had eleven wonderful feathers in my braid when I went to my forest sitspot. And there was lying another one, the biggest of all, directly on my sitspot.

The old buzzard had begun to eat by himself so he was able to move to a falconry where he gets his feed without hunting but can fly whenever he wants.

Since then my name is „Bussardauge“ - Buzzard‘s Eye.

Sort:  

I love to read your post, and I love to be in the jungle too. I would like to bring your post into Pay it Forward Curation contes and I encourage you to check it and join our community if you like what we are doing to support others. Have a good day @wald.sinnen

Hi @el-nailul,
I am glad you enjoyed reading my story!
I am an absolutely newbie to steemit. But supporting others sounds good. How does pifc work?

Hi @wald.sinnen, PIFC is Pay It Forward Curation that help minnow to be more visible by featuring them on the contest, everyone is welcome to joint no matter of reputation, in that community we encourage user to participate and engage with other user through comment and support. I have featured your blog on my post, please check this: https://busy.org/@el-nailul/week-21-pay-it-forward-curation-contest

if you dont mind. You have a chance to win Steem Share if your post is picked up by the judges. please welcome to @pifc post here for week 21
https://steemit.com/payitforward/@pifc/week-21-pay-it-forward-curation-contest-24004f43615b1est

With my best reagard

Sorry, @el-nailul,
I cannot comment to your post directly, why ever.
Thank you so much for your feature!

You may like to join our discord room. Lots of support for newbies in there.

https://discord.gg/QvcXDCz

Hi Dania! I am curious, what is a nature mentor? Is it something like a forester?

Indeed, you became the eyes of that cute creature! That is a lovely story of being one with nature.

About a couple of months ago, we at home were also given a chance to save a bird. We do not know what kind of bird it was. Its body features are like that buzzard except that all the feathers were dark gray.

One afternoon, I got into my room and my mother was there with feathers scattered on the floor. I asked what those are and she said a bird fell from the roof and they picked it up on the terrace. The terrace is right outside my room through the opposite door from where I came from. I thought that's strange but I haven't said anything yet and my nephew is already coming in from the terrace. He was carrying the bird. He said they heard a light thud from the gutter and there is the bird when they got out. How will a bird hit a roof gutter at fourth floor? Is it blind? I checked the eyes and both seem fine. Though, none of us is a veterinarian.

The bird has no feather on the center of its back. No question, those are the ones on the floor. The featherless back has a wound but somehow dry so I asked what they put. My mother said its Vicks vaporub because it was what was handy earlier. I thought that was funny but it stopped the bleeding so I did not put anything else anymore.

My mother said we have to make sure that it is strong enough before we let it go. We don't know what to feed the bird and don't know where to find worms if it is worm that it eats. It did not eat until the following day. While we were having breakfast, it flew towards the window but did not even reach as high as the window sill. It hit the wall below the window. Oh no... Either it is blind or so weak. But it is aiming for the window so it is not blind.

My elder brother and nephew joined hands in feeding it. My nephew held the bird while my brother opened its beaks and feed it with rice. We thought whatever; the bird has to have something in its stomach.

On its third night with us, we thought we can already let it go. I left it free on top of a shoe rack outside of our main door at the third floor. I made sure that my nephew has secured all our dogs so they won’t catch the bird. In the morning, my nephew got up before I did so I asked him about the bird. He said it was still there when he got out at still a bit dark. Then the bird flew away when the sun has started to shine. I asked if its flying does not look sickly and my nephew said no.

It looks like I enjoyed your post so much that made me remember and share my own story. 😃 Thank you for sharing.

I came across your post through @el-nailul who featured it on his post as his entry for Pay it Forward Curation contest

Keep Steeming! 😊

Oh, what a fantastic story! Thank you for sharing it here!
Perhaps it was a juvenile bird, their colors often are different to adult’s ones.
That he flew away with the beginning of daylight shows that he was not a night active bird like owls etc.
Perhaps he crashed into a window? Often they do when the sky reflects in metal or windows. Or he was attacked by another raptor? Very exciting!
I studied forestpedagogics and nature Mentoring at a wildernessschool in Austria in tradition to Grandfather Stalking Wolf, Tom Brown and Jon Young (Wilderness Awareness School, 8 Shields...) - It’s all about becoming one with nature and about nature awareness. Since four years I accompany several school classes with pupils aged 6 to 10 on their way to deeper nature connection.
Have a great day!

The wall by the terrace is glass. It is mirror from the outside and lightly tinted see-through from the inside. I thought it is unlikely that the bird hit the mirror because it should have seen itself colliding with "another bird". Also, the wound is on the back and not on its face or chest which could have hit the wall first.

Your field of study is amusing. This is my first time to know of such course. I just knew of plain forestry. I was born and grew up in a mountainous region so I can imagine your role and how fun it is to be leading the children to know more about nature. 😊

Have a great week ahead!

Awww this is such a wonderful story too @macoolette!!! Thank you so much for sharing it!

You're welcome. Thank you too. 😊

This is the most beautiful story I've read!! I love animals and birds (ravens especially:), but your post reveals your love and dedication so wonderfully!! My husband @briancourteau, feels the same and I just read your post too him ... both of our hearts were smiling!!

I found your post because @el-nailul featured you in his Pay it Forward Curation contest entry. I'm one of the judges and would love to have you join us next week with an entry of your own :)

I'm tagging @aprilpeerless over here; she and I have recently met, but she is also a huge animal lover!

I would like to invite you both to a community called @asapers; we focus on quality unnoticed posts ... @wald.sinnen and @aprilpeerless, you both deserve more attention to your posts! We regularly publish something called READ me ASAP, where we highlight members' posts, and I'd like to feature you guys, but you need to be a member first.

Here is the invite link. Hope to see you there soon :)

Hi @lynncoyle1,

I am so glad @el-nailul featured me! I get to know so many wonderful steemians through it!
And I am glad you and so many others liked my story - even it is the first time for me writing posts in english - I never dared befor.
Thank you for your overwhelming words and support! Also for the invitation to ASAP - all these apps and functions are totally new for me - so I will need time to explore.
I really want to give back support and will look for new steemians to feature them by myself - not this week cause I am in a 4 days modul at the wilderness school from tomorrow on and after then school starts again for my son. But after that busy time I will join the contest with my first entry.
My best wishes to you and your husband!

I was an English teacher for years in Canada, and I must say that your English is very good! Keep it up :)

Our contest runs every week, so no pressure to do anything this week at all!

Thank you for the lovely comment too :)

Hi there I absolutely love your story! I have twice in my life been blessed with a wild bird to save. The first was a baby blue jay I took from the mouth of a dog. I dug up worms and fed him with hemostats. Baby birds eat very very often. He grew and started to fly but would return and sit on my shoulder. I called him Lucky. One day when he was grown he flew away and I hope he went to make a family of his own.
A few years later a very similar experience with a starling.
I am very in touch with the spirit of nature and very happy I found your blog. I will look forward to reading more of your posts.
I found your blog because @el-nailul has featured you in this weeks @pifc curation challenge.

Thank you for sharing your bird story with me, @headchange! I love to read stories like this.
Happy blue jay that you found him and where able to save his life!
For sure he will remember you.
Glad to here more of your nature spirit stories! Keep on wandering!

Thanks I may write some posts on the animal topic one day. I really am much more of a reader here than a writer.
I will be coming back to catch up on reading your posts for sure.
If you have not met her yet you may enjoy @eaglespirit. I only recently discovered her blog myself.

Thank you for the blog-tipp! Sounds interesting!

Isn't this such a wonderful story @headchange??!!! I too am "in touch with the spirit of nature" and really don't understand people who aren't! Gives me just one more reason why I like you so much !! :)

Well aren't you sweet. Now I feel just like Sally Fields "they really like me"
Why am I not surprised that you have a nature spirit. I have my whole life been a bird person in particular. Although right now there is a possum who seem particularly drawn to anything that is mine. He don't care much about the rest of the family but anything I put outside he must investigate. I am starting to like him some.

I Admire your photos Dania! Warm welcome from me and all steemit community. Nice intro and I'm Happy to meet you! Keep on working hard. Our support is always with you. Best of luck for the future! Bussard Augen sind extrem scharf gibt's auch hier in Niederbayern :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your welcoming and support @orl4ndo!
Glad you like my photos! Also nice to meet some German speaking people here ;)

Welcome to steemit @wald.sinnen.

  • Join @minnowsupport project for more help
  • Checkout @helpie for daily trivias and useful information
  • Join @qurator a good quality support project
  • Checkout @steembasicincome
    Follow me @tuanis for random votes daily please checkout the report
    Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Hello diana, or more Buzzard's Eye a pleasure to have you in the community and wellbeing, your story is amazing, you have my support for what you do and I hope and achieve what you propose! ♥ @wald.sinnen

Hello and thank you for your kind words! Glad you like the story! @jheeldliam

Welcome to Steem, @wald.sinnen!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3271 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.20: Utopian + SteemPlus Partnership = Bigger upvotes.

what a story @wald.sinnen ! is it for real, if it is... what an experience? so, you have a new companion from the forest now, did he get any name from you too?

Hi @cicisaja,
I call him “Grandpa”. A whole family of buzzards accompanies us since then.
Experiences like this are magical, for real. I am sure, all animals in our forest know us - better than I know them. They know whom they can trust.
Have a good day!

Aahh Grandpa 😉 just like me calling my old pigeon when I was a kid. Fyi, I thought that you're telling us a fiction story when I read it Dania😊 but then.. I read it all over again and I just feel a bit jealousy of your experience. Well.. that "Grandpa" must be awaited for you at the sitspot after watching you before.

Isn't this such a wonderful story @cicisaja??!! And you had a "grandpa" pigeon!! So cute :)

Yes @lynncoyle1, I thought this was a fiction before.. but then I realize that Dania wrotes a real story and we have "grandpa" birds😊

ahhh the whole family loves you now too!!! This story keeps getting better and better for me :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60