You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why my wilderness name is Buzzard‘s Eye

Hi Dania! I am curious, what is a nature mentor? Is it something like a forester?

Indeed, you became the eyes of that cute creature! That is a lovely story of being one with nature.

About a couple of months ago, we at home were also given a chance to save a bird. We do not know what kind of bird it was. Its body features are like that buzzard except that all the feathers were dark gray.

One afternoon, I got into my room and my mother was there with feathers scattered on the floor. I asked what those are and she said a bird fell from the roof and they picked it up on the terrace. The terrace is right outside my room through the opposite door from where I came from. I thought that's strange but I haven't said anything yet and my nephew is already coming in from the terrace. He was carrying the bird. He said they heard a light thud from the gutter and there is the bird when they got out. How will a bird hit a roof gutter at fourth floor? Is it blind? I checked the eyes and both seem fine. Though, none of us is a veterinarian.

The bird has no feather on the center of its back. No question, those are the ones on the floor. The featherless back has a wound but somehow dry so I asked what they put. My mother said its Vicks vaporub because it was what was handy earlier. I thought that was funny but it stopped the bleeding so I did not put anything else anymore.

My mother said we have to make sure that it is strong enough before we let it go. We don't know what to feed the bird and don't know where to find worms if it is worm that it eats. It did not eat until the following day. While we were having breakfast, it flew towards the window but did not even reach as high as the window sill. It hit the wall below the window. Oh no... Either it is blind or so weak. But it is aiming for the window so it is not blind.

My elder brother and nephew joined hands in feeding it. My nephew held the bird while my brother opened its beaks and feed it with rice. We thought whatever; the bird has to have something in its stomach.

On its third night with us, we thought we can already let it go. I left it free on top of a shoe rack outside of our main door at the third floor. I made sure that my nephew has secured all our dogs so they won’t catch the bird. In the morning, my nephew got up before I did so I asked him about the bird. He said it was still there when he got out at still a bit dark. Then the bird flew away when the sun has started to shine. I asked if its flying does not look sickly and my nephew said no.

It looks like I enjoyed your post so much that made me remember and share my own story. 😃 Thank you for sharing.

I came across your post through @el-nailul who featured it on his post as his entry for Pay it Forward Curation contest

Keep Steeming! 😊

Sort:  

Oh, what a fantastic story! Thank you for sharing it here!
Perhaps it was a juvenile bird, their colors often are different to adult’s ones.
That he flew away with the beginning of daylight shows that he was not a night active bird like owls etc.
Perhaps he crashed into a window? Often they do when the sky reflects in metal or windows. Or he was attacked by another raptor? Very exciting!
I studied forestpedagogics and nature Mentoring at a wildernessschool in Austria in tradition to Grandfather Stalking Wolf, Tom Brown and Jon Young (Wilderness Awareness School, 8 Shields...) - It’s all about becoming one with nature and about nature awareness. Since four years I accompany several school classes with pupils aged 6 to 10 on their way to deeper nature connection.
Have a great day!

The wall by the terrace is glass. It is mirror from the outside and lightly tinted see-through from the inside. I thought it is unlikely that the bird hit the mirror because it should have seen itself colliding with "another bird". Also, the wound is on the back and not on its face or chest which could have hit the wall first.

Your field of study is amusing. This is my first time to know of such course. I just knew of plain forestry. I was born and grew up in a mountainous region so I can imagine your role and how fun it is to be leading the children to know more about nature. 😊

Have a great week ahead!

Awww this is such a wonderful story too @macoolette!!! Thank you so much for sharing it!

You're welcome. Thank you too. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59841.39
ETH 2413.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43