I am the Voice-Of-Reason

I am the Voice-Of-Reason,... at least I do my best to be.

Here is my intro post. So here's a little about myself and what I want to do on Steemit.

I am well educated (think Ph.D. level). I don't want to state my degrees because I want to promote the idea of 'judge the idea not the person'. I have seen the use of authority garnered by amassing a list of degrees and credentials to intellectually bully others. I only mention my education to indicate what the tone of my blog will be and what topics I will be covering. Please, judge me on the basis of my ideas, not my ideas on the basis of me.

I have worked at a small think tank as a policy analyst. I worked on complex topics using all of the latest analytical and statistical methods. I know how to detect poor arguments, incomplete arguments, and out right deception. How to do this is one of the things that I want to pass on to my followers. I see so many people supporting policies that are damaging not only to themselves but to the country as a whole. I see so many people buying products that are worthless or at least heavily over priced. I see so many people being manipulated in general, usually by fear. At the end of the day I want to give those people a fighting chance to avoid these pitfalls. I want to pass on the confidence to think for yourself and some reasoning techniques to come to conclusions that justify that confidence.

I want to do this in the form of a blog. I want to cover political topics and current events. I plan to start with a series of articles on the technology of privacy. I will examine how technology is being used to monitor people's online activities and what can be done to limit the abilities of the government and companies to monitor. I will examine topics including search engines, webmail, online storage, cloud services, expectations of privacy and oh yeah crypto-currencies and block-chain technology. I have been wanting to research these topics for a while for myself. Now I am going to put it in to a blog to spur myself on to get it done.

So, follow The Voice-Of-Reason for logical and rational analysis of meaningful topics.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @voice-of-reason :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Welcome to Steemit @voice-of-reason!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

I'm game @voice-of-reason. You are certainly correct that the appeal to authority is an often used falacy - well at least if it is an authority one agrees with. If not, that person is just an ivory tower nit who is out of touch with reality. In the end of course, it is always about where the facts and the logic take you. I think thatbis what you are trying to say? I have a habit of stating the obvious in the most verbose way possible.

I'm interested in hearing your thoughts on technology and privacy. I occassionally like to write on technology and society as well, though my opinions are largely an armchair exercise.

Anyway, welcome to steemit!

welcome to the family, i just upvoted and followed you, follow me back and feel free to check out my account!

Welcome aboard! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Congratulations @voice-of-reason! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit - seems like we joined about the time, sorry I missed your debut post at the time. I would love to see more reasonable rational posts here - there is quality posting going on but it is often lost in a sea of self-promotion and circular self-love.

Looking forward to reading your future posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59