A View From a Partially Unrolled Yoga Mat (Or how I ended up on Steemit)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemit! I swear there’s a rational, consistent and totally believable explanation for how I ended up sprawled on my living room floor and how that eventually led to me being here with you all. Give me a few minutes to gather my thoughts and I’ll tell you about it.
https://hubaisms.files.wordpress.com/2014/10/the_zombie_thinking.png

Image courtesy of hubasisms.files.wordpress.com

Before I start, and for context, the particular living room in question is in Tokyo where I live and the yoga mat (which I only managed to unroll part-way) belongs to my ever-suffering wife who - I must confess - would be horrified to know I was lying on it at all, as sweaty as I was. It’s damn hot in Tokyo in Summer and don’t let anyone tell you different.

So this is the story of how I ended up on Steemit. It’s a short tale, and I promise to get through it quickly for you. Firstly, there was quite a bit of I-can’t-be-arsed-moving-around-today involved. The lethargy was intense (I know, I know. How can you have intense lethargy? Again I say please trust me on this.) I was in the grip of the most soul-destroying sense of hopelessness and helplessness, that I could barely move my head, and it was only made the worse by the Tokyo heat, when Messenger beeped at me.

https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/guardianwitness-blog/gallery/2013/sep/16/cats-doing-yoga-your-best-pictures#/?picture=417397469&index=0

Image courtesy of The Guardian

Are ye alive? It was @aussiesteem.

“Ungghh,” I croaked in the general vicinity of my phone, which was at that moment laying on my barely moving chest. The realization that communication was not taking place made its way through my brain like hot treacle through an ear canal (Do not try this at home people!). Forcing lethargy aside I grabbed the phone.
Yah…but just, I replied. A moment later we were on a call.
@aussiesteem was in fine form. “Instead of just lying there whining about it, why don’t you do something?” (I’m paraphrasing of course, she was much more eloquent than that, but you get the picture.) “You should get onto Steemit and make something of yourself,” she said. The sound of double marshmallow mocachinos being chino-ized in the background did not distract me in the least.

“What’s with you, and @krystle getting all Steemity all of a sudden?” I meant it to sound edgy and kind of exasperated but it came out more in a three day bender drawl.

“What?” @aussiesteem asked.

“You seriously think I should join up?”

“I do,” she said and then proceeded to tell me why, at length.

Some hours later, my ear bleeding, I hung up the phone and lay back on the yoga mat, wondering whether the morning would have turned out any different had I but unrolled it the rest of the way.

So I know I promised a a full explanation of how I ended up sprawled on the floor and I swear that explanation is coming…just not today. Sorry!

Instead, I thought I’d take the opportunity to introduce myself. I’m an Aussie lawyer by trade, a writer by disposition and more at home sprawled on a half-rolled out yoga mat than on a treadmill. I’m really looking forward to hanging with you all and looking forward to following your adventures. And if you felt inclined, it would be great if you wanted to follow along with mine. See you later!

-thinknzombie

Sort:  

Welcome on board :)

So I did quite enjoy your writing and would have followed you regardless but this

double marshmallow mocachinos being chino-ized

sealed it XP

Love the structure of your writing! Just so you know, there seems to be many at it(the posting) but only a few can actually write "WRITE", and I must say that I feel you're one of them. Glad to see you on the network fellow writer. Haven't released any of my writings yet but you surely got me FOLLOWING you. Steem up the good work ;) Cheers!

I'm actually super nervous about sharing my writing, so thanks for the confidence boost. When you do decide to post some of your writing, hit me up. I'll be glad to take a look!

would love that!

So happy you made it 😄 I know your going to bring some amazing content to the platform - there's a pretty decent sized music community on here too 😉

Your gonna be awesome here, upvoted, followed and resteemed- welcome onboard and have some fun!

Hi thinknzombie... the is certainly plenty of scope to make something of yourself at steemit - may 'good fortune' smile upon you. SirKnight.

Thanks sirknight!

Welcome to another Aussie! You've got good friends here already, and plenty more new ones to make! 🤘Gave you a follow looking forward to more!

Welcome to Steemit @thinknzombie :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Welcome to Steemit!

Cheers! Great to be here.

Great Intro. I thoroughly enjoyed that. I enjoy your writing style. Have followed and await future posts with interest.

Thanks very much. I'm going to post some different stories. Hopefully you will like those too. Let's see. ;-)

Welcome to the community. Thanks to @ausbitbank for pointing me in your direction. I enjoyed the read.

Thanks for reading and for the welcome. Much appreciated!

Thanks! Glad to see you here too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06