Hello Steemit! Six years and 52 dogs later and here I am, a dog whisperer!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

This is my #introduceyourself post.

I'm "the-dog-lady"

My name is Tammy and I live in the High Rockies of Colorado. Some of the residents in the area have begun calling me the-dog-lady, because of the work I do with dogs. I decided to start blogging about my experiences, so I will use it here on Steemit. I rescue, rehabilitate and re-home dogs, with the help and patience of my family and our big rottie, Roman. It isn't just a hobby with me, it's a passion. While I may post on subjects completely unrelated to dogs, most of my time is spent talking about dogs.

This picture is a case I am rehabilitating right now.

Her name is Curry. She will be ready for adoption soon.

I Rescue Rehabilitate and Re-home Dogs

A year ago, I hooked up with a local rescue after hearing of a dog they could not find a home for because of some serious behavioral problems. I am still rescuing dogs on my own, but now I take in the serious cases for the local rescue in exchange for dog food. I get the ones that are returned after being adopted, or kicked out of foster homes for serious behavior problems.

52 Dogs in Six Years

I have rehabilitated 50 dogs in 6 years on my own, and two in the last year with a local rescue. I love seeing a dog after it has been rehabilitated. The transformations are miraculous. It warms my heart to see it, and breaks my heart to let them go. I know I cannot keep them, but I still get attached. Who wouldn't? Each dog has a unique personality that I get to discover as their inner dog becomes more stable. I cannot describe the elation I feel when a dog I have rehabilitated is adopted.

Coming to Steemit!

I am excited to share my experience and help people correct problems with their own dogs. Having happy well adjusted dogs in our lives makes the world a better place. I am always available for questions, advice and conversations about dogs.

Later Gaters! ;)
#the-dog-lady

Sort:  

Curry Has Been the Toughest Case

We're looking forward to Curry finding a good home. Throughout all the years of re-homing, this one has taken the longest to rehab.

People in the Mountains LOVE Their Dogs!

Yes they do. The dogs I help the rescue with are taken out of high kill shelters in Texas and New Mexico to be re-homed in Colorado. Yes, Curry has been a tough case for sure. She was kicked out of two foster homes before they asked me to take her on. She has been with us for almost 6 months. She is progressing nicely and will be in a new home soon.

Welcome - both of my dogs are rescue dogs and they are spoilt rotten now. I applaud anyone who helps animals so you get my vote anytime ...

Thank you for sharing. I love you for rescuing your dogs and spoiling them. They need you and you are there for them. That is a wonderful thing and they love you for it. I love you for it. Thanks for voting for my post. It means a lot to me and the dogs I rescue.

my pleasure Tammy - I wish i could do more - i live in Cairo and the abandonded dogs here would make your heart bleed- event the pet shops ( yes they still have pet shops!!!`) are disgraceful. I try to feed some of the dogs around, but they mainly scavenge the rubbish, of which there is plenty. The dogs are mix breed and are not for pets, only purebreed for pets?? go figure that. There is a dog rescue here for the mix dogs and through education this is slowly, very slowly changing. Its hard, but thats the culture here and thats not going to change overnight no matter . I love this country for so many other things, but animal care is the one thing here I hate and would love to change it.

I adore you for feeding them when you can. We do what we can, with what we have, when the time comes. I do what I can here, in my area and it is all I can do, even though I want to do more. You keep feeding those strays and if you can, volunteer at those shelters and give those dogs some positive human interaction. Now, I want to come visit Cairo. I wish I could travel around the world volunteering my time to make things better. I am grateful to be able to help the ones I can though. Purebreds are not all that. They have medical problems and mental problems that the mixes do not have because of all the inbreeding to keep the line pure. I cannot really afford to do what I do for dogs, but my heart does not see money as an obstacle. It is my time and knowledge that is valuable to the dogs. I am patient, understanding, calm and assertive. I want to do more too. I live in a small condo apartment with my husband and daughter, a dog and a cat. At any given time I also have a rescue to rehab. I just cannot say no to a dog in need, unless I already have one in my home that I am working with. Then I am forced to say no because I do not have the space for more than one. My heart bleeds already for the ones I have to turn down. I weep when I see the cages full of dogs ready to be slaughtered for food. Dogs are so much more intelligent than food. At least the strays are free to roam and find food, not be the food. It is sad and I hope it changes soon. We do what we can. Much love to you!

Later Gater!

#the-dog-lady

Welcome to Steemit @the-dog-lady!

Here is some interesting info that will help you create amazing content. (Will change as Steemit grows)

How to Create Successful Steemit Content:

Reading & understanding the above posts will give the reader a SIGNIFICANT advantage on steemit.

Everyone is rooting for you!

Good Luck!,
steemit.tips

Thank you for this advice. I will use it wisely.

Welcome!

Thank you. I am looking forward to being part of this community.

Welcome to the community!

Thank you. I am looking forward to getting to know more dog lovers on steemit!

Thank you lillianjones. I am excited to be here!

Hi Tammy, welcome to steemit!

It's nice to see what you are doing for dogs. Thanks for sharing that nice pic of Curry. I hope you continue to share your stories here. Best wishes!

Thank you kenny-crane. I just started out here and plan to blog more and more as I get the time. Working with troubled dogs is rewarding in so many ways. Thanks and I will be sharing more soon.

Welcome to Steemit!

@the-dog-lady, I know for a fact you're awesome with dogs! You're also a fabulous wife and mother. Thanks for being awesome, we really appreciate it. :) Love you lots and thank you for bringing your dog information to steemit.

I know there will be a lot of people benefiting from your experience and advice.

Keeep Steeeeemin!

Keep it Clean!


TheCleanGame Blog, Neatly Categorized

Thanks! I appreciate you talking me into posting on Steemit and listening to me when I told you tune into Micheal's talks. It pays to listen to your wife. lol

hey, thank you for your post, I was wondering what is your favourite dog breed?

I have to say that I love all dog breeds, each has such special qualities, but my all time favorite is the Rottweiller. I use a Rottie for my control dog because he has the right temperament for rehabilitating aggressive dogs. I love my Rottie, but I also love all dog breeds too. Even the hard to train ones are special to me.

How's it going, @the-dog-lady ?
What part of CO are you in? I have a brother who lives just south of the Breckenridge area.

Hello winstonwolfe! I live about 30 minutes from breck in Fairplay. Nice to see you on Steemit!! Tell your brother I said hello! If he needs any advice or help with his dogs let me know. I am close enough to help. Thanks for the shout out! Love this area!

Ha! He used to live there! He now lives in Alma. There are so few people who live in that area I'd be surprised if you didn't know him.

you are right. I may know him. You would be surprised how many people actually live here. Last I checked the town of Fairplay had almost 800 people but the county has over 15k I believe. I work at the gas station that used to be the grub stuff. Have your brother stop in and say hello sometime!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49