My first post - Greetings from Paris!

Hello everyone!
Benjamin, 22, Engineering student living in Paris reporting!
I just registered to Steemit and thought it could be agreat idea to make a quick rundown on who I am.
As you can expect, I'm quite a scientist hence I will try to make this post as structured and harmonious as possible.

So as I said, Benjamin, 22, raised in the south east of France. SaintMax.png

I think it's called French Riviera in English, but I'd rather call it "Côte d'Azur", which roughly translates to Azure coast. This is the view I grew up with :)
Sainte Max.jpg
After graduating from high school, I decided to sail away from home (well not too much, I was only 16) so I went to Lyon to study general engineering science.
I was a bit disappointed as you can see on the picture below.

Lyon.png
What I expected / What I got

So after three years of studying, I chose to go study abroad in Finland, Tampere. This was really not the same country nor anything but clearly was one of my best experience during my student life. I might make a post about Tampere / Studying in Finland if I find the time later.
To give you a little preview : 800px-Hervanta103_Tampere_Finland.JPG

Right now I'm in my last year of Engineering studies and should get my diploma in two months! Oh and I'm now living in Paris, Belleville neighbourhood, which is what we call Bohème in France (Street arts, Jazz cafés, friendly people,...) And I love it there! The picture below is not from me but as we can see my flat I still show it to you! :)
Paris Belleville.jpg
Working in Materials Science, I did a lot of fun things but did not think at the time to take pictures to share it. Anyway the most (scientifically speaking) interesting thing I've done during my studies is shown on this pic, can you guess what this is?

Sputtering.jpg

If any one of you found it, congratulations! This purple "cloud" is a gold plasma. Like pure gold heated and electrified, so violently that it's not even a gas, it became a plasma ( well not for a long time since this machine goal is to apply a thin gold plating on ceramics/plastics).
So this is what I work with every day and I have the chance to be able to say that my work is one of my passion, which is the study of Materials!

I also like history and visiting old monuments, theoretical politics (but meh this is boring on blogs/websites, I only like it around a beer / wine), travelling (maybe a next post coming, if I have the time :) ) and a lot of other things I will tell you in other posts ;)

Thank you for reading until the end and see you around!

Sort:  

Hello @swaggybenjy and welcome to the Steemit community. Your studies sound very interesting. That thing with the gold plasma sounds brilliant. I'm interested to see what you post next so I've upvoted and followed you. Enjoy yourself on here, it's a great place to be.

Hey, Benjamin! Welcome to the Steemit Community! I wish you a great time on the platform, hope you'll make many friends and I can't wait to see your content. I have followed your blog, you can check mine as well and if you like my content don't forget to drop a follow. Have a nice day & Steem on!

Hey there!! Welcome to the community! You are gonna love it here! I love france!! Especially the Côte d'Azur. People are so friendly there! Upvoted & Following. Looking forward to your posts! Steem on.

welcome to steemit @swaggybenjy
Follow,upvote and resteem @retroo

Welcome to Steem @swaggybenjy I have sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit @swaggybenjy :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Hey @swaggybenjy, I'm glad to see there are young engineers everywhere. I'm in the US currently studying for Aerospace Engineering. Anyways, good luck with your studies!

Very cool, welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61015.50
ETH 2395.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64