Project: Babbling Pebble Pool - white noise to detract from neighbour’s trampoline

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

IMG_9174.JPG

We live on a new development in the former grounds of an old Victorian mansion in Leicestershire in England – the Grade II listed mansion is still standing, but has sold-off some of the site (it costs a fortune to keep some of England’s old buildings fit enough to live in!)

The atmosphere is lovely. Full of ancient trees, yet with new, modern homes now tucked among them. Birdsong and horse hooves are often heard, but also the sound of an occasional church bell in the distance, a train if the wind is in the right (or wrong) direction, and the odd passing car or bus.

Last month a family moved in next door - adding to that harmonious soundtrack with a trampoline!

Not an entirely negative thing – as it also comes with laughter of happy children, which is a joy but when @Totallysacha and I are enjoying a G&T in the garden we don’t necessarily want to be share that bliss with the squeak of a trampoline. No sirry.

So as the last thing we want to do is ruin their fun, we figured some babbling water might help cover the sound – providing some ‘white noise’ effectively. I didn’t want an off-the-shelf feature pool that may not go with my garden (or my taste) and cost a fortune… I want(ed) something organic, discrete and innocuous in its taste – that no-one could hate!

IMG_9159.JPG

So I gathered together some bits. All-in-all costing under £40

  1. Cheap plastic plant pot around 90l capacity – no holes (obviously!)
  2. Two types of mesh – one strong with wide gaps, and one weaker with smaller holes. (And something to cut them with)
  3. Some garden wire to tie them together
  4. A spirit level
  5. A water pump – we opted for a plug-in one rather than solar
  6. Pebbles and cobbles. We used Scottish Pebbles to match our existing gravel for that area of the garden
  7. Not in the pic, but also a brick or stone! (Only remembered later - after the pic)

I wanted this just off our newly laid patio, tucked in an area where I’ve recently planted some bare-root buxus (Box) hedging which in a few years will form - I hope - a nice informal yet formal parterre.

First off, I scraped away the existing gravel and dug a hole for the reservoir (our plant pot). I needed it deep enough so the mesh – once on top – would sit below the gravel.

IMG_1134.JPG

Sacha measured the mesh and cut both to just a little wider than the top of the pot.

IMG_1136.JPG

Once the hole was about right, I made sure the pot was level in it by putting the spirit level on each corner. Being lop-sided/unlevel wouldn’t be a major disaster, it would just mean water would seep out at the lowest point, reducing the effective literage of the reservoir. So as I want it to be the maximum it could be, 90l in our case, keeping it level is best.

IMG_1138.JPG

I sat the pump on a brick. This is so that any sediment that will inevitably build up at the bottom of the reservoir won’t clog the pump. It’ll obviously need cleaning out from time to time, but not as often if the pump is above that sediment.

IMG_1142.JPG

I had to sit the pump off centre slightly, so it wouldn’t snag a strong cross-bar of the mesh, and then I cut a hole in one of the ‘almost’ central parts of the mesh for the pump to project through.

IMG_1139.JPG

We filled the reservoir with water, and tested the pump. All was good, so on with the mesh, and on with the smallest of our stones – the existing gravel I’d scraped away earlier.

IMG_1144.JPGIMG_1146.JPG

Then added the pebbles… followed by the cobbles around the pump itself. Yes it is sticking out, but you’ll want it that way at this stage, so once the stones are settled you can push the telescopic fountain head down a bit to ‘disappear’.

As we did next…. pausing for extreme-close-up inspection by Cobie!

IMG_9162.JPGIMG_9166.JPG

I imagine, knowing me, I’ll be rearranging the stones until they look ‘natural’, but for now this was good enough… I’ve got a Cercis Siliquastrum (Judas Tree) that’s going in behind it once it’s grown up a bit. I love already how the river battered pebbles echo the rounded leaves of the Cercis. YAY

IMG_9173.JPG

And the sound in action...

Just what we’re after. It’s already working a treat! Now, that G&T …..

If you like this kind of post then let me know by commenting, upvoting and resteeming!

Muirgheas x
Secret Gardener

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @secret-gardener :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.

first let me be helpful, youtube videos auto embed meaning you just put the link that you get when you click the share tab on youtube.

Second a suggesting, why not make a mini aquaponics system out of it. I'm serious you are halfway there, get 5 goldfish let them poop feed something like chives (those flower beautifully if you let them) done ;)

edit: only half serious there are a couple more things to think about, I might have to experiment with this, thanks for the idea

totally makes the same sound

Thanks. We considered an open pond - but don't want Cobie drinking from it and we have lots of visiting kids - nephews, nieces, god-kids and the toddlers nearby - so this is just risk-free! (Unless they choke on a pebble! EEEK!)

Such a fun project, love it!! xx

Ideally you'd have had more than a supervisory role though, hey hun? HAHAHA x

I welcome you to the steemit community. I hope you find here interesting.

Thanks - already following.

What a lovely and eco-friendly idea! I really admire people who can build stuff. You've inspired me do something similar. First I have to break some of the ugly concrete y my backyard. Thanks for sharing and welcome aboard. I'm following you to see what else you come up with :-)

Thanks @blogstar - I love eco-friendly ideas myself... and plan lots more such projects, which I'll photograph and write-up on here, happily. If your concrete is too daunting, what about making a raised bed, and tucking one of these in it? Surrounded by lots of plants and 'mulched' with gravel to stop water evaporating out of it too quickly it could look great (and raised beds are often easier to work - not such much kneeling and stretching! haha) Win Win!

Man! What a great idea! I'll give it a shot. I'll be traveling soon but when I come back, I'll get going. I might even make a video of it. Thanks! 😁

Do! Would love to see it - or even some pics. Have a great trip - hopefully somewhere full of inspiration for your new 'raised' garden! Bon Voyage x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55994.69
ETH 2375.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31