Steemit experiment & Introducing Myself :)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

"People won't care how much you know until they know how much you care". - Rather than say a lot about me, I figure it would make more sense to first tell everyone about what I care about, and if that resonates with you, then we will likely have a lot in common, and maybe even be able to help one another.

I've been working to design, implement, fund, and improve humanitarian projects for years now. Most recently, been working on one called Food Abundance that teaches people how to sustainably grow food in nearly every environment (https://foodabundance.com/ if you feel inclined). After spending some time in the poorest parts of some third world countries, I realized that even if we can't find a solution for everybody, we can make solutions for a lot of them, and so much of it comes down to sharing information, education, and working together.

Many people feel that there is so much negativity these days it can be paralyzing, and it is only getting worse; and while that may be true, there is SO much good going on out there that no one ever hears about, that people often feel isolated, afraid, and alone only because they don't know. I felt that way for years and that was just dealing with my own life. Once I started working to lookout for more than just myself, I found the world is quite friendly, happy, and full of beauty, and not so lonely.

I also found that -all religious beliefs aside- I found people genuinely desire to just have happy simple lives, with a roof over their head, safe food to eat, a way to provide for themselves and those they care about, and time to enjoy their environment with others. 285.jpg
In working with hundreds of others (via a private non-profit mastermind group), I've posed the question to them "What would you do if you had infinite money?". After everyone says basically the same thing (of taking care of their personal needs and that of their closest loved ones first), nearly all then start imagining similar ways to help others basically enjoy the same. And I discovered it doesn't matter what side of the political or social-economic spectrum people come from, nor what country or background.

So in short, I think most people have a real desire to just be good and do good, and the only thing that differs is their ability to do so and their exposure to ways of going about it.

So that's where I think that Steemit can come in, and so I'm experimenting with it. Steemit gives us a platform to help one another, inspire each other, share ideas, and lift each other up (and not just endlessly waste time on random "stuff of the day", although we all need a good laugh as well).

So I'm looking for people who have ideas on how to help others, new innovations or inventions, good causes, great stories, etc.

Basically, real people who want to make this world a bit better a day at a time or even a person at a time.

So if any of that jives with you let me know :) I'm happy to share anything I've got (and I have a lot when it comes to food, international finances, investing, health, shelter, water, process improvement, and a ton of other random things that we can chat about). And if I don't have it, I can find someone for you who might.

Hope you have a wonderful day!

Cheers

-Rane

Sort:  

Hi @rane!!!

"it looks like you are a great person"

Welcome to the best community (steemit), I hope you succeed here. Be a good and wise writer.

Convey all your inspiration and motivation here, may be a guideline for the people.

a greeting from me @foways

Much appreciated! I figure there are a lot of good people here who are highly motivated to try new things as many still don't know about Steemit and what it's potential could be. Thanks for the warm welcome. Cheers

Ur welcome 😊

Welcome to Steem @rane I have sent you a tip

Welcome aboard @rane Brace yourself for the best social network you have ever experienced. Steemit is the place to be if you ever use the internet on any device. Check out my blog I hope you'd find something you like and feel free to follow me @simeonburke I will follow you in response. Here's one of the first things you need to know https://steemit.com/steemit/@simeonburke/user-alert-2-don-t-quit-your-job-yet-why-you-should-not-rely-on-steeming-as-your-main-part-time-source-of-income

Welcome to Steemit @rane :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Hey @rane, welcome! Your introduction post signals a great start already. Please feel free to follow me on @Finance2Nomad and hopefully we can connect soon. This community is very helpful and welcoming so if you have any questions, please reach out. Cheers!

Hey! Welcome to the Steemit Community! I wish you a great time on the platform, hope you'll make many friends and I can't wait to see your content. I have followed your blog, you can check mine as well and if you like my content don't forget to drop a follow. Have a nice day & Steem on!

It is my pleasure to welcome you to the steemit community where you'll meet great minds.

Welcome to the community, Jane! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94