Introduction - mdwestlifecrisis

Good Afternoon Steemit,

I recently quit my job, and have no regrets about it whatsoever.

My biggest regret is that 20 years ago I chose to follow a "career" path, rather than chase happiness.

Two months ago I was sitting in my cubicle, staring at my computer screen, working away at my government job when I nearly had a panic attack thinking about menial tasks, meetings, commuting, and performance evaluations for the next 20 years. My interests are music, travel, working with wood, being outdoors....none of those things would be a major part of my day if I stayed where I was.

The retirement carrot dangling on the end of a very long stick was no longer incentive enough for me, so I walked away.

I'm not rich. I can't just retire and sit by the pool all day, but what I can do is spend my time chasing happiness. Sometimes that involves a lot of hard work, but right now that work is on my terms, which is enough.

If you are reading this thank you very much for taking the time to do so. I look forward to being a part of Steemit, and helping to develop it's growing community.

I recently started making my own lumber out of a couple hundred year old white pine that blew over at my parents, so if that sounds like something you'd be interesting in learning about I think I might make it my first actual post. I also got my builders license recently so I will probably cover that process as well.

Thanks again, and take care.

J.B.

Introduceyourself.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to family :)

Welcome to the community!

Wellcome to steemit

Welcome to Steemit @mdwestlifecrisis :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Hey man, I went down that same road. I used to be a state employee as well. (Social work) I can't say one day it just hit me, but similar to you, I was sitting in my cubicle and new I couldn't do it forever.

Anyway, things are so much better now - Getting out was the best decision I ever made.

Liked and followed

Cheers. It was seeing and talking to people similar to yourself that really gave me that extra push to make a change.

 Welcome to this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here it’s not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go a long way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same. 

 Check the contest for newbies-https://steemit.com/steemit/@tinashe/600-followers-feeling-the-love-milestone-contest-of-sbd-inside-post-follow-upvote-and-resteem
*Thank you*
 

Interesting and well written. I think you're off to a good start here on steemit!

Welcome to this incredible platform, Delighted to here your are following your dreams. I recently made a similar decision. Life too short dude !

Hope you enjoy this place as much as I do. It's not difficult to get started. A little effort will truly go a long way, engagement is key.
Good luck ! You can follow my blog @wannerbet - I'm doing a 100K trading challenge starting very soon !
A great way to start is by Following ,Upvoting & Resteeming people and they will do the same for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60865.75
ETH 2381.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57