Hi there steemit! Glad to be a part of things.

HI everybody! My name is Mark and I've been ... wait... let me verify myself first.

steemit-reality-check.jpg

I'm a real boy! I even took a selfie for this. I never take selfies.

Anyway, I think I first found out about Steemit from a friend of mine who produced the Bitcoin gameshow "Take My Bitcoins." I've been hovering around for a while and decided it was finally time to join the family.

As a little bit about me, I'm a filmmaker who has ended up living in the world of YouTube and Twitch. I started off making a web series on a now defunct site called Koldcast.TV. That show was nominated for a bunch of awards back in the early-ish days of YouTube. (I say early and I think I started too late. But that's a discussion for another time.)

That led me into the wild world of YouTube and I've been running around the digital space ever since. I've worked for the IAWTV and Vidcon and now I executive produce a small YouTube channel called The Weirdlings. We also multicast live streams on YouTube, Twitch, Facebook, Periscope, and Mixer. We're tiny but trying to make our way up the ranks.

Our biggest success so far has been the Dungeons and Dragons series The Heroes of Awesome. We have two adventures in the Heroes lineup. The original is an edited adventure called "A War in Scarlet." The other is a live-streamed adventure called "The Dominion of Essalund."

I'm a huge fan of traveling and great food. My Instagram account is pretty much whatever I'm eating that tastes great. That also led me to a love of good cocktails, and I'm not talking just the rum and coke you get at any bar. I love the whole science of mixology. That led me to start a new series called This Doesn't Suck where I teach myself how to make great drinks at home.

Before I forget... when I was starting my account, I saw that there was a cover image available. I may have been looking in the wrong places but I could never find any solid information on how those should be sized. I found a few things but none of them quite worked. So I spent a while making several drafts and I think I have a template that works fairly well. I can't say I've tested it on every option available but I have tested it on a ton of resolutions and it seems to hold up.

It's pretty wide at 2560x150, but that's to fit any 4K displays. Even with that, it looks like it's responsive enough so if you keep thing within those boundaries then you should see it work. If not, please let me know.

Also, the section marked "mobile" is also where your name and information go, so I'd suggest keeping the clutter in that area to a minimum. Hopefully this helps the community when you're making your own covers.


Click on the image and that should take you to the template file in imgur. Please make sure the dimensions are 2560x150 or those guides won't work. If anyone would like a .psd then I can make that available as well.

If you want to follow me on social media, my Twitter is MarkGardnerATX and my Instagram is MarkGardner.

Thanks for reading and I'll see you around!

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit! enjoy it here
I wish you the best! and hope to see you soon.

Thanks so much! Glad to be here and can't wait to meet all the people

Hello @markgatx welcome!!

I'm @andyluy and I've been here for almost 2 months, and I can tell you that steemit is the most amazing thing I've ever seen at the internet so far. I'm happy seeing it grows every day!

I had some hard time on the firsts week, so I spent some time searching information to improve my experience with it, latter I've decided to make posts about those and others helpful information in order to help the new ones to have a shortcut to get deeper knowledge of steemit and its potencial.

here is some of my posts, I hope It mitght be helpful to you:

SteemBnB(this post is not mine, it is fruit of an amazing Idea from @chicosonico, but I've made a traslate to portuguese, you can find it at the comments section)
steemit awesome tools #2
Steemit-Police First official Investigator
The Randowhale
Minnowssupport!

Here is a post from @hannahlicious That i think Is useful to have a look too (she is also a great source of information and high quality posts):
Randowhale is CHEAPER Now!!

I intend to keep posting useful info that I manage to gather, and in a near future some give away. Feel invited to follow me and if you have any question about steemit you can ask me in any of my last posts, I'll try my best to help.

Ahh thanks for the links. I'll definitely check them out.

Hi @markgatx. Welcome to steemit! Hope to see you gow and prosper in our community. I have upvoted and followed you, hope you can do the same for me. Good luck!

Thanks so much! Can't wait to see you around the steem-scape. (Is that a thing? That should be a thing.)

It's catchy! Maybe you're right, it should be a thing.

Hello, @markgatx ! I followed you and UpVoted you!
Very cool that you are here! Steem on!
I wish you happiness! You will be happy on SteemIt!

Thanks so much! I appreciate it and look forward to learning more about the SteemIt community here.

Welcome aboard. You've got an interesting tale, I'll have to check out some of your other stuff. Great first post!

Thanks! First posts are hard. :-) And please do check out all the things. I think I'll start posting the cocktail videos here.

Welcome to steemit! Nice to have another foody on here! Sending you lots of love! ❤️

Thanks so much. We can never have enough foodies :-)

Oh my goodness I so agree with you!

Welcome to Steem @markgatx I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thanks so much bottymcbotface. Could you be related to Boatymcboatface?

@markgatx Dude! Ok first welcome again, secondly you're awesome lol! This was a great post and it's very cool to have you here. Obviously your experience will be very welcomed here and it's clear to see you're already offering so much value. I'm wasn't too bothered with the whole custom header thing because I knew I'd want to make it fit right for all devices etc and then boom, there you are, figured it out! Thanks

Anyway I'm also going to check out your channel as I've been planning to start my own gaming let's plays as soon as I get back to Thailand where my PS4 is being neglected this summer since we've been traveling. So I'm looking forward to your posts about twitch life and hoping for some streaming tips!

Great to meet you here and thanks for adding to the discussion on my other posts man. Steem on! :)

Oh btw almost forgot, my missus @iamjamie is a crazy foodie too I'll point her your way and there's the lovely @michellectv who does cocktails and stuff that's right up you alley. She's also a pretty massive tuber too, so perhaps check her out. K seeya! :)

Thanks so much for the recommendations. Followed and followed! I'll definitely check out @michellectv as well. Always looking for more good cocktail creators.

Glad you think the header template is useful. I wasn't sure how many people here would care so nice to know it helps a bit. And please do check out the channel. We'd love to grow our little Weirdling community. It's a great bunch of folks. I hadn't thought too much about posting streaming stuff here but maybe that's a missed opportunity. Hmmm.... more video topics....

Subbed man, yo you guys are crazy cool lol! Where can I find your twitch?

I'm on twitch at

where we have a variety of people who stream. We also multicast at http://mixer.com/theweirdlings

Welcome Mark! Glad you joined the Steemit Community! Looking forward to seeing your future posts. It's exciting to have people who have so much experience on other social media platforms bringing their skills to Steemit. The more Steemit grows, we all grow! With your talent I'm sure you will climb up the ranks quickly, but if not just be patient! Good content is key! Enjoy the space my friend!

-Jonathan

Thanks for the welcome! I'm really excited to learn a new platform and see how much (if any) of this past experience pays off. fingers crossed
Hopefully I can get some good videos in the mix for everyone here.

Checkout Dtube.video for posting videos directly on to Steemit

Well that's interesting. I wonder what posting on multiple platforms will do to the SEO rankings of video content? Time to do some research.

Hello there @markgatx welcome to steemit community, we hope you find success here along with fellow steemians... just dont forget to upvote, comment and resteem..

Please also visit my blog https://steemit.com/food/@noahinigo10101/fishing-trip-with-my-fellow-filipino-steemians to introduce to you a little about myself..

Will do and gratz on that fish!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61841.74
ETH 3420.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47