Rescue, Photograph, Breathe.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Snapchat-2035485638[423].jpg

Hello. My name is KiKi. I feel like I have no idea what I am doing most of the time.

I have devoted the past 6 years of my life to the wonderful world of cat rescue. The organization that I am with has gone through a few name changes and growth spurts but I am proud to say I have stuck with it from the beginning. From volunteering one night every other week to becoming a rescue manager I have managed to make a career out of something that gives me purpose. Rescue work is a far cry from cuddling kittens. You are sure to hear stories.

When I was little I always wanted to be a veterinarian. When you think about how childhood dreams generally turn out, I would say that I am pretty damn close to my original goal. Sometime during high school though, I took up a very serious interest in photography.

I absolutely love to take photos. I had my guidance counselor and photography instructor create secondary photography classes so I could get credit for continuing to spend time in the dark room. During my senior year, I went to our local career and technology center to get my certificate in the "Photography and Digital Imaging" program. I am probably my own worst critic, as most of us are, but I would say that I am pretty good at it in all honesty. I get really excited when I get the shot I wanted, and I can certainly see how far I've come over the years just by dabbling.

Photography is truly what I thought I would be doing with the rest of my life. Fate had different plans though. I'm not sure exactly how it switched. I began volunteering with the rescue after finishing high school to keep me busy. My eyesight began to become an issue as I have a genetic issue called "Best Disease" which is similar to AMD. I got a part-time job at a pet store. I realized I couldn't do photography full time and one thing led to another and I was back to being hooked on animals.

I still have a love of photography. I find odd jobs here and there that I can do to get my fill. My camera comes with me on adventures. Then, of course, there are all the animals that need photos taken to help them find forever homes. I think that may be my favorite part of life, combining my two loves.

I finally am at a point where I feel very content with my life and my choices. I am engaged to a wonderful man. We have a house and projects to make it our home. We have a furry family. I couldn't ask for much more. I stress easily so I try to focus on the positives and take things day by day. That doesn't mean I don't end up wandering around aimlessly from time to time. More than I would like to admit actually. So I would love if you all would join me as I attempt to make sense of the thoughts and ideas inside my head and put them into something I can share with all of you.

It is very nice to meet all of you. Until next time!

<3 KiKi

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit

Welcome to family :)

Welcome to family :)

Welcome baby. Here is the perfect place for you to showcase all you have got

Great intorduction and welcome to Steemit. Keep on the good work of doing cat rescue. For you to succeed at Steemit, it is very important to produce quality content here.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@positivesteem/newbie-nuggets-how-i-create-killer-content-for-my-posts

Hey! Welcome to Steemit. Glad you’re on board. Hope you have a good time.

Hi @kikix3 I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community !! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @mekong

Followed you back. Thank you!

Great intro! Welcome to steemit! Have fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67279.52
ETH 3104.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78