Is steemit the new home of photography ? Hopefully !steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

"To travel, to experience and learn; that is to live" Tenzing Norgay

Ama Dablam.jpg

Some wise words from the forgotten man of Everest. Photography is my passion; and it seems there is no shortage of passionate people here on Steemit. Passion is what makes a community work and I hope to meet a lot of you!

My portfolio of photography has been produced after undertaking twenty years of adventure travel photography across more than thirty countries. It is my hope that by sharing this I can inspire a few see the world for themselves, perhaps just to pick up their camera and go for a walk, or simply to be more understanding of the amazing world in which we live. As a traveller and adventurer I have been fascinated by the ability of photography to bring the unknown into the known and shed light on the more remote and fragile parts of the natural world. The emotive nature of photography has been critical in overcoming societal apathy and facilitated most of the major conservation efforts over the past century. Equally as important is its ability to highlight divergent cultures and philosophies and help foster tolerance in an otherwise intolerant world.

Ursus arctos horribilis.jpg

My work has been published by high quality publication houses including National Geographic and Lonely Planet and enjoys over 80,000 followers across social media platforms with tens of millions of photo views, and in excess of two million photo likes. Steemit seems like a revolutionary approach to content sharing platform in that it gives back to the creators, rather than simply leaching of them for commercial gain as seems the case with most of the other well-known social networks out there. I have linked a few pictures to this post so you can get a feel for my work; if you would like to see more you can head over to robertdowniephotography.com

Love to hear everyone’s tips as to how to succeed on Steemit !

IMG_0531sq.jpg

Rob Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

Fabulous photos Rob, hope you were at a safe distance with a long lens for the bear shot! Look forward to seeing more of your photos. I'm new here too!

Ha; for sure. It was a 400mm! Thanks for taking the time to have a look !

Hi Rob! Welcome to Steem! We're glad to have you here!

I am a Steem curator and have started a new series "The Daily 5" where I pick five new Steemians to share with my followers that they should know about. I have selected you as one of my five for today. Your post has been featured in my post you can find here: The Daily 5.

Unlike some of the bots and follow 4 follow spammers you will find in the Introduction tag, my work is 100% human and without any required response from you. While I invite you to come check out the post and interact in the comments, nothing further is required but that you enjoy your time here on Steem!

Have a great day! Looking forward to seeing more of you on the platform!!

Thanks. I will check it out!

Hello @intrepidphotos
We have given you our still tinnie-winnie upvote!
You have been determined by a human @intrepidphotos to be possessing of special gem. Do join the #untalented family!

Abolishing the conditioning attached to IQ tests e.g smart, dull, bum, average and you suddenly give every human a chance to shine!

So e.g if Bill Gates did Microsoft and i can do Macro-hard, arent we both genius? Oh, we both are! Showcase your talents regardless of its nature freely with us in #untalented. Relegate all reservations as flaws are allowed and we sift even the so-called nonsense to find sense therein.

#untalented is an ongoing historical curriculum with initiatives/contests, where each participant wins something. No losers! It is also a core branch of #steemgigs, so please join the SteemGigs community on discord already containing around 700 gifted steemian family members. See this URL for more info

https://steemit.com/steemit/@surpassinggoogle/steemit-s-untalented-is-in-beta-participate-freely-because-every-participant-in-this-contest-will-win-something-no-losers

and also this URL for the discord community

https://discord.gg/CGuPyyT

If you want to vote a witness, you can vote steemgigs too. Simply go to

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

and type steemgigs into the first search box. Stay awesome!

Just incase you find any level or form of gifts, talents, attempts at out-of-the-boxness, or any steemian low in confidence about their abilities, worth, etc; please don't let it slip emptily by.

Kindly call on me! Simply reply to any such post and add @steem-untalented or #untalented to your reply and i will be there to upvote, acknowledge, strengthen and encourage them.

In what universe is Tenzing Norgay forgotten by any but the most superficial observers?

That trivial complaint aside, I love what you are adding to steemit. You have some of the best photographs, and your presentations make them 'pop'.

I wish you well on your steemit journey. I will help you all I can. But not all you deserve.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Thanks !! Very kind of you and I appreciate your support. As for Tenzing I still think if you ask the average person on the street who climbed Everest they will mention Edmund Hillary and not Tenzing. That said if you ask the average person on the street where Nepal was they could not find it on a map; so I am not sure that says a lot.

welcome to steemit

Thanks for a third time ;-)

Congratulations @intrepidphotos! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow! So lovely

Thanks for having a look at my post ! Just getting started so appreciate the support.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #colourfulphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Friday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 00:38:08
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hello Rob!!! Nice to meet you. I think that your photography is outstanding, I'm following you for more ;) Your artwork and success is impressive. I love photography, my father is also a photographer and I have a deep regard for the art of photography. I agree on what you've written about how Steemit differs from other social platforms. As an artist myself I am very thankful for the opportunities Steemit has given me. I've found your post through the post of @mikepm74, who wrote about you in his Daily Five for December post. My experience on Steemit is that I should have read FAQ earlier, should have read more posts on what advantageous strategies to take here on Steemit, and I should join Discord, PAL earlier :) please ask if you need any help! Besides, I strongly recommend following Mike, he was the first person to welcome me here, has always been helpful to me and publishes many useful, proactive and simply wonderful posts ;) Good luck and all the best, Klaudia :)

Thanks Klaudia. Appreciate you taking the time to have a look and comment. I am reading as much as I can with respect to strategies. Any tips or links to read appreciated. Rob

Hai rob, u have amazing photos summit, i like mountain.

Thanks. Nothing like seeing the mountains though the clouds as your flying. As long as you don't hit them ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78