Sort:  

Thanks Mike. Appreciate you including me in the daily 5 ! All still new to me to just working out what is the best path forward on the platform. Rob

So I can offer a couple of suggestions for you!

First of all, getting out of your own blog and commenting on other people's posts is a great start! Unfortunately, no matter how good your content is, it won't get seen by a lot of people to start off with unless they are actively looking for you. By going to the trending page and checking out some of the influencers there, you can get an idea for who engages in their blog and responds to people who comment to them, and who doesn't. Engage with the people who are active in their comments. The more they see your name, the more likely they are to check out your blog.

People consistently make the mistake of link dropping in comments. "Come check out my post" sort of stuff. That is seen as begging for attention and is most often ignored. One thing about being a photographer with a rich portfolio, is that you could probably drop a photo in someone's comments that pertains to what is being discussed, and that would make people interested in checking out your blog. Just a thought there.

If you are open to using chat functionality, the Discord servers listed above are great open places to get to know some of your fellow Steemians in a more immediate fashion. There is also MSP/PAL which is up to (I think) 7000 members on their Discord server, you can find them by searching for @minnowsupport, or check out the posts from @aggroed who leads that merry band of Steemians.

Speaking as a Curie Curator who gets to nominate posts for a bg upvote from time to time, you are probably in a very unique position to share some stories and original photography that no one else can come up with. The problem for curators is that it can't be images that have either been published, or are too old. So what we are going to look for is something that is newly shared. It can be something that is on your personal website as well, but if it is, if it is older than a week old on your website, my particular curation guild can't give you a big upvote. If that doesn't make sense, please ask for clarification, as it feels like I defined what I am trying to say poorly. haha.

Mostly, be true to yourself, do what you love, but don't be afraid to go out and explore the community and share your thoughts in people's comments. I imagine the #photography tag would love to have you curating some of the posts in that area and letting people know your thoughts on their works from view with a professional eye!

I hope this helps some! Definitely ask questions. I am happy to help as much as I can!

Wow thanks for such a detailed response. All great suggestions. I understand what you mean about how fresh the posts are. Rob

Thank you! for the warm welcome and for introducing me to others.

You are absolutely welcome myriam! Welcome to the platform! Make yourself at home, and let us know if there is anything we can help with!

I accidentally got too excited and followed way too many people, so now I have to actively seek out your posts @mikepm74... which leads me down the path of introducing me to a whole heap of new people I want to follow.... I'm stuck in a cycle of awesomeness!

Thanks again for all your hard work over the past few days... I'm going to have to figure out how to best spent my time on Steemit, I spend so much time having great fun with the people I've already met that I've been neglecting the newbies...

Thanks Aussie... I am afraid you will not be excited by the news I shared in my latest post... The Daily Five is going to have to be revamped due to lack of time. I still fully intend to curate the introduceyourself tag, just not sure I will be able to write the digest in this current format moving forward.

I did see that... and my heart broke into many pieces as you could probably tell from the denial-heavy rambling, clutching at straws offers to help.... but help I will in any way I can.

Thanks Mike for another handy review! I checked out Rob's @intrepidphotos right away and was stunned! Following him already for more. I'll make sure to welcome new friends you presented here! :)

This post has received a 7.74 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @mikepm74. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63841.10
ETH 3299.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92