Canadian living in Taiwan named Ham

Hello!

My name is Ham. I am 26 years old and living in Taiwan at the moment. I am a University and College Dropout who attempted to study international business and marketing and finance. I was under the impression that school was the only place for me to go after I graduated high school (honours) and that education was only attainable in a classroom. I have nothing against the current education system but for me personally it just didn't work out. If only I had invested half a years tuition in bitcoin at the time I would be a billionaire. I really do not regret any choices I have made in life as I am always happy with my life and all the privileges I have. If I hadn't made the desicions that I had then I wouldn't have been exactly where I am today, and there is no other place I would rather be. I always try to spread positive energy to those around me and live a joyful life!

I am currently part-time teaching grades 1 & 3 in Taiwan and I absolutely love it! I full-time in a company I started here two years ago, focusing on Smart City products. We are working on making products that can have a positive effect on the environment in major cities around the world. These products all connect to WIFI and send SMART DATA back to the governing bodies of the city to help optimize departments. For example, We are making a Smart Garbage bin that is solar powered and can send a message to the government once it is full! How cool? This shit excites the hell out of me. 

We have already also made a smart city app called Mapgea. It utilizes OpenData and creates a cool map of things you would never find on google maps. We even let our users report dirty public washrooms, full trash bins etc. I love working on projects that have some sort of social good. I believe that future companies should focus on adding real value to our world instead of sucking every last penny out of someone. The app we have launched in Toronto and Taipei are free to users and display no ads or grab any personal information. So very positive vibes :)

I fucking love Taiwan. It is one of the most friendliest cities in the world filled awesome people. The Taiwanese are very nice and care a lot about their country. The have built an awesome capital called Taipei. The main reason I think it is beautiful is that there is no lack of greenery in the city. There are literally trees on and in-between every major road, they have a city park called Daan Park that is very similar to New Yorks Central Park. I would love to answer any questions you have about Tech, Teaching, Living in Taiwan or anything else you have in mind. I also am trying to get a cool network of people on here I can connect with :) . If you follow me I will follow you too! 

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Hi Ham! Really interested about the whole Smart-City-Stuff! A few years ago I even did a presentation concerning that topic! I followed you to get some nice updates :) greets from Austria!

Great post I gave you a follow!

Thanks Treyk6 :) Followed back!

Welcome Ham. I'm an American living in Thailand. Following you now. I post about my travels mostly in Asia. Good luck.

Thanks Macky :) Following back!

Nice pictures, Taipei is great. Can't wait to get back soon! Foolowed you to stay up on it.

Thanks Sam! Following right back :)

Will do bitgeek! Follow me too if you can please :)

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you'll enjoy your time here.
That's a big park in the middle of the city, that's so awesome! living in a city really makes me miss nature. Sounds like Taipei is doing good things to prevent that :-)

Thank you :) Taipei is the bomb!

Canadian as well, but not living in Taiwan :).

Welcome! And gorgeous picture.

Hope you love it here as much as I do.

Xx, Kay

Thank you Kay! So far so good! :)

:). It's really the best. Enjoy!

Nice to meet you, followed. Hope you enjoy your time on Steemit.

Thank you twirble! Following you back :)

Welcome to Steem @ham.karami I have sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit @ham.karami :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67629.79
ETH 3231.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65