The Problem With Always Being Told You're "Talented"

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

elijah-m-henderson-194156-unsplash.jpg

My entire life, I’ve been told how amazing I am at everything I do.

It started pervasively with competitive swimming, which I tried for the first time at the age of 15. On day one, the coach of the club I joined told my Mum I was the “most talented swimmer he’d even seen and that if I never made it to the Olympics, he’d eat his hat”.

Well, he abandoned the club a few months later and I guess, has been enjoying the taste of his hat ever since.

Since then, I was told repeatedly how “gifted” I was at cross-country running, cycling, Business & Economics (my Teacher nearly cried when I declined to take it on for A2 level), Psychology, languages, make-up, triathlon (again, told I was “destined for the Olympics”), Art and Design.

But, how is this possible?

How can anyone be so “talented” in so many different areas? It seems more likely that people were just being nice and supportive.

Really, it makes me wonder whether or not we are doing more harm than good by providing everyone we know and like with positive and encouraging comments.

Simon Sinek would argue that this is a common dilemma for us millennials or “y generation” these days. That we were raised to believe we were capable of achieving anything and everything. That we were “special” and deserving of everything the world has to offer.

In my case, despite all of my inherent “talents”, I haven’t achieved anything at all worthy of being called a “success”.

No, in fact, I’ve ended up moving abroad twice and changed career paths faster than a hot knife through butter. All of which, has left me feeling depressed, confused and seriously doubting myself and my abilities.

Most recently, I’ve received ridiculously kind comments about my writing like “you must quit your day job to become a writer” and “you’re exceptionally gifted and should share your talent with the world” yet, instead of feeling inspired and encouraged, I've have been left feeling seriously paralysed by fear and disbelief.

I literally have writers block, despite my many ideas, because I struggle to believe what I’ve been told and worry about letting people down.

Psychologists like to call it “Imposter Syndrome”. But, in my opinion, you need to actually have “real” talent and success before that really applies.

Fear of failure and insecurity is the story of my life, unfortunately.


If you liked this, you might also be interested in my other articles:

Overcoming the Fear to Post about my Depression Online

On Feeling Like An Outsider

7 Things I've Learnt as a Non-Muslim Fasting During Ramadan


Steemit
Twitter
Facebook
Medium
Instagram

Sort:  

Hello gouldingv! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Thank you for the very helpful information! :)

Es bueno ver como día a día crece nuestra comunidad, Saludos desde Venezuela.

Estoy de acuerdo! :)

Thank you for your upvote! Of course, I'll do the same! Take care!

Welcome to Steem, @gouldingv!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2973 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemSincerity on Busy and a few bug fixes.

Agreed, that it takes hard work to succeed and some more than others.

You're spot on Joey!

So relatable! Calling someone "talented" is just a plain insult to all the years of practice they've done. I remember how I used to get mad at people when they said I have a "God's gift" for making art. It still annoys me to this day but I guess they do it as a compliment and good intention so it's not that big of a deal.

Great blog @gouldingv!

Thanks so much for reading and commenting! I agree 100% about the "God's gift" statement... because, I've known people who were considered "naturally talented" but never achieved anything. It wasn't enough to be successful. It takes super hard work and determination!!!

I feel you my friend, 100%. I've changed so many interests and careers in my life before finally realizing it was all because I was always so talented and supported beyond reason.

It's on us now to fix those mistakes with our kids. I'm quite demanding, and it takes a bit effort from them in order for me to say bravo. Always telling the older one that she needs to keep learning and keep trying, and never give up. I'd rather have them not like me much now, but appreciate me later, than loving me now and feeling the consequences when they grow up, just like I have.

Just a small tip, my experience: The fear of failure keeps you trapped. It doesn't feel good when you let it go, that's true. I let it go some time ago, then I failed hard. I'm bankrupt currently, but there's nothing like the feeling of pushing yourself as hard as you can from the bottom, knowing there is only one way now: up

Good read. Get yourself free, I'm sure you'll bounce off to the stars ;)

Thank you such much for your open and honest comment. I completely agree with you about fixing the mistakes with our children, and it sounds like you're doing it well. I remember when I moved to America as a kid and participated in sport day type events, it was crazy that EVERYONE got a "medal" and was told how "AMAZING" they were... That kind of mentality rubbed off on me I guess (and my parents). I mean, sure we want to encourage our kids but protecting them from failure, and making them feel that everything they do is "the best", we're just setting them up for pain and disappointment later in life.

I really wish someone had told me as a kid "look you're gunna fail HARD and it's gunna hurt like hell, but it's necessary and we all need to go through it" instead of "you can be anything you want to be, you're so naturally talented, you'll be successful at anything you try". Anyway, like you said, I've got to make sure I do right by my friends and break the cycle!

Fear of failure for me however has a tight grip, but I am trying my best each day to weaken it's strength.

I'm sorry to hear about your bankruptcy, but I'm really impressed by your attitude and seeing the light at the end of the tunnel. I think that's exactly how we have to approach difficult times in life. Good luck my friend! :)

One thing I must disagree with, respectfully :) I don't really see light at the end of the tunnel. I believe the tunnel has no end, and searching for the light at the end that does not exist would be rather foolish. I believe we either carry the light within us or not. If we carry the light within us, no tunnel is a problem :)

Just a mildly different perspective, I guess. Keep fighting, and please share experiences. People outside our family are usually not that worried over our feelings, so we can get some wake-up slap in the face :) Realy useful stuff. :)

I really appreciate respectful disagreements! Thank you :) We'd never learn, grow or become better people if everyone just agreed with us 100% of the time!

And your opinion has certainly made me think!

I'll keep sharing, and I hope you do too! :)

bienvenida amiga, Exito

Gracias! <3

Welcome to Steemit @gouldingv
It's good to see your post. I wish your success. If no one does not benefit others, one does not succeed.Remember this friend to succeed.
For your kind information keep safe your master password.
For cryptocurrency news follow @jyotirmay & Keep in touch
Comment & Upvote must important in Steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66293.76
ETH 3282.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70