This Agrarian Life... My Introduction To SteemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemit Folks. This is my very first post and I'm pleased to have this opportunity to introduce myself to you!

My name is Herrick Kimball (the little boy pushing me in the wagon pictured above is my grandson. I call him Futureman). I am a deliberate agrarian, which is to say I intentionally live a simplified, hands-on, largely-self-reliant lifestyle here in the rural countryside of the Finger Lakes Region of upstate New York, USA.

One of my great passions is gardening. I have been an avid vegetable gardener since I was a teenager. Gardening is not a chore for me. It is a way of life. It is a creative, productive, ever-intriguing craft that I derive great satisfaction from.

I have been rooted to the community where I live for 43 years. I worked on local farms when I was a teen. Then I worked here as a carpenter for 20+ years before taking a job in the NY State Prison System for 13 years. I managed to break free from the dreadful prison job in 2013 when my lifelong dream of having a successful homestead-based mail order business was finally realized. The business is called "Planet Whizbang."

While I am new to Steemit, I am not new to blogging on the internet. I wrote a blog titled "The Deliberate Agrarian" for 12 years. That blog currently has over four million views. Then, last month (May, 2017) I decided to take a break from blogging and launched a YouTube vlog titled, "This Agrarian Life."

This Agrarian Life is a series of short (around 3 to 5 minutes) episodes that focus on some aspect of my agrarian lifestyle. Much (but not all) of the vlog is about what I'm doing or discovering in my garden. In short, I share what's happening here on my little spot of God's green earth.

The sample episodes that follow serve to give you an idea of what "This Agrarian Life" is all about. I will begin posting each new Episode here at Steemit starting with Episode #80 when it is released tomorrow. If you have an interest in the simple pleasures of the agrarian lifestyle, I welcome you to follow "This Agrarian Life."

Thank you for reading this introduction!





Sort:  

Sometimes I think I'd like that lifestyle. Welcome to the community!

Thank you. I appreciate the welcome.

Welcome to Steemit @farmbeet :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Thank you. I need as many tips as I can get. :-)

Welcome to the Steemit community! I can see you're loving your life and doing what you love to do. I'm following and subscribing on Youtube as well. Since we're on our road to become completely self-sufficient, I'd say I can learn a lot from your posts! Enjoy your time here.

Thank you. Completely self sufficient is a big goal. My advice: take it a day at a time and enjoy the journey. :-)

We sure are enjoying it! Just seeing the kids plant their own seeds, nurse them and watch them grow until harvest is such a joy! They also enjoy their food much more when they grew it themselves. My youngest won't even eat tomatoes from the shop! And he only just turned three.

Following. Farming is life. Life is farming. Welcome to Steemit! The adventure is just beginning and the rabbit hole is very deep.

Thank you. I really don't understand Steemit very well, but am hoping it will become clearer in time.

Following- your knowledge on this looks great, will check out your videos :) best of luck to you!

Awesome! My Dad lives in upstate New York too, makes me nostalgic, happy posting and welcome to the community!

Thanks. Many people don't realize there is much more to NY beyond the city. :-)

Welcome to Steemit @farmbeet! Nice to meet you. Remember me when you are rich!

PS. Follow @ENAZWAHSDARB for entrepreneurial value content, my blog!

Okay. But I already am rich. Just not in the monetary sense of the word. :-)
I make my living as an entrepreneur, in a small-scale, down-to-earth way. I will check out your blog, for sure.

Welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60385.18
ETH 2658.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47